Thread: From sunday, for a week

From sunday, for a week

ill be cruising around the broadwater in a luxury house boat, just me and the mrs. We'll be sitting on the top deck at dusk, sipping champagne thinking of what the poor people are doing..oh and ill try and send some pics when im able.......have fun...

Re: From sunday, for a week

Hope it rains all week

Just joking mate, enjoy your house boat holiday

cheers tim

lol...... will do, even if it does rain theres plenty of indoor sports we can play.

Quote Originally Posted by wayno60 View Post
    lol...... will do, even if it does rain theres plenty of indoor sports we can play.

Nude twister

that for one......takin a pack of cards so that opens up a whole bunch of games...

Sunday 13th,
    Made our way to the marina at 10.00am, Droped the tinnie in the water while the ol girl went and done the paper work, motored down to the houseboat, tied it off and then started loading the food, cloths etc....
    After the usual run down on the do's and dont's we were away by 11.00am.
    Headed up around sanctuary cove and into the north arm of the coomera river to a spot i sussed out the weekend before just near wasp creek.
    First job after mouring was to get the pots in the water as the ol girl loves her muddies..once they were in the it was back to the boat for some lunch and to sort out some rods and reels.
    At the marina i grabed 2 frozen mullet which looked like they had been there since 1997 and a packet of squid which had been thawing since we got underway.
    I lobbed out 2 lines to see what was about, 1 with a slab of mullet and 1 with a squid. Only in the water for 30 min and zingggggggg.......hello this is looking good..ummmm no
    After 10 min on 6lb line a shovel nose shark, not what i was hoping for but good fun anyway. The rest of the night were a few small bream and 2 cat fish and a two stingrays. ok time to call it a night.
    Attachment 65397

Monday 14th,
    Up and off to check the pots and out of four pots, 9 muddies and only one keeper
    Attachment 65398
    By this time the wind and tide were going against each other and we were spinning around like a top so we voted for a move just up around the corner where we had the wind and tide going the same way. Pots in again.
    Here we spotted alot of bait fish swimming up the river so out came the cast net...herring, mullet even a good size drummer was the in the catch. Needless to say live and really fresh bait made a difference. Heaps of bream with only the way over size ones going in the esky. Only one keeper from the pots this time also.
    9.00pm i pulled out the 30lb line with a 60 lb leader, half a mullet on a 8/0 hook and threw it with all my might to the shallow side of the river. I know there some big stingrays in there so i guess i was hoping for i little sport......
    10.45pm the rachet go's tick.......tick tick........zinggggggggggggggggggggggggggg holy shit!!!!all hands on deck!!
    As this thing was pealing line off me faster than victor bray down the quarter the call went out for the torch to see how much line i had left, mmmmmmm ok starting to get down a bit, time to hit the brakes.
    ok slowed him up a little but now the arm restle starts, to cut a long story short after an hour 11.45pm i had him up behind the boat and when he surfaced i nearly shit my self....it was the biggest shovel nose shark ive ever seen.
    600 across the head and at least 2m long and not a gaff in sight.....there was no way i was even going to be able to get him up onto the duck board let alone into the boat.
    Luckily, i guess, he did one of his many rolls and with the line dragging across his shovel finally weakened the line and twang the game was up. This was the pose i had for about 40min of that hour.
    Attachment 65396
    you can just see the rod in this pic
    Attachment 65395

after all that we called it a night.

Tuesday 15th,
    Set course for the north wall of wave break island.
    Mid week not to many yahoos around, found our selves a good spot 100m back from the end of the north wall, nice..... wish the weather was, poured on and off all day....no serious fishing. ate and drank to much but hey thats what holidays are for....

Wednesday 16th,
    Weather was better today,spent most of it on the top deck watching the world go by and continued the activaties from the day before, mid arvo the ol girl thought it might be a good idea to go get some bait so i putted down to the western side of wave break, pumped some yabbies and on the way back spotted a heap of bait fish. Out with the cast net, and a bucket of herring and these other schooling bait fish later, that id never seen b4, we were set for the night.
    When i got back form getting the yabs gwen holds up this nice little GT she got on a tiny bit of mullet you would use if fishing for bream...
    Attachment 65390
    After tea the tide had turned(run out) and the wind droped to a light breeze.
    As the night progressed with whiting and small finger mark every 10 min i noticed a bust up over near the rock wall then another bust up over in the middle of the channel....im thinking big eye trev's or tailor....out with the bigger rods, a herring and out she flys...the first one might have just hit the bottom and we're on....big eye's.....only got three over the next 2 hours but all good fun.
    Attachment 65389

Thursday17th,

Much the same as the day b4 in the morning. In the arvo went for look over the seaway and out the front, bit ruff for a 12foot tinnie so checked out the deep hole at the end of the north wall....ok ill give it a go, there half an hour and a nice black spot tusk fish.
    Attachment 65391
    and when i got back again gwen hooked into another shovel nose and landed it by her self.
    Attachment 65392
    Later that night with hopes up for a big night only one more big eye to the tally.

Friday 18th,
    On the move again up to curragee.
    Parked just inside the sand bar out the front of the canal.
    Got there just on the top of the tide, 2 bream and that was it.
    As it turned later that night and we got a bit of water back in there they were back on the bite, another 4 good bream and a lot put back to fight another day. Also a lots of dead pulling on the lines so im thinking there has to be sandies around here, in go's 1 pot and the next morning two nice sandies.

Saturday 19th,

EELs....WTF is the go with the eels up there, heaps of them, slimy kin things.
    A few more bream, a few more little rays......over it!!

Sunday 20th,
    slept in till 9ish.
    checked pot again, another 2 sandies....low tide so went for a walk up around the little creek to the north of the camp ground . Walked out onto the sand flats on the broad water side and could see some smaller fish feeding on bait, so back to the boat got some gear, had some of those bait fish left over from the night b4 and headed back. Threw out past where they were feeding and wound back into where they were feeding and bingo, tailor. only got 5 choppers and run out of bait.
    After lunch started cleaning the boat, headed back over to the pick up point just near hope harbour, gave the office a ring about 1.30 and ol mate came out and drove us in.
    Reelaxing
    Attachment 65393
    Attachment 65394

and that was our week, how was yours?