Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: 200hp-250hp opti or 4 banger

Re: 200hp-250hp opti or 4 banger

Mate you allready have the big black Mako so there is no need to rush as I am sure you would appreciate all the best mate.

Im sure the BT50 will tow the new rig no dramas you'll just need a wide load sign lol!!!!!!!
    Cheers Axl

Quote Originally Posted by rosco1974 View Post
    yeah noelm i will be measuring it myself, i qld you can get a permit if over the 2.5mtr at the moment so should be fine..

axl,hope i get it but wont let my boat go cheap to jump into the new boat...

cheers rosco

Rosco,
    You can get a permit in any state mate, the restrictions vary from state to state .

You don't have to take any ones word for the beam width, check on the manufacturers website it will be there .

that may be so, but when you try to register it (in NSW anyway) it WILL be measured, I have been through all that recently, and if it is over width, they will NOT pass it for rego, trust me. Also the restricted permits are changing very soon, whether for the better or worse is anyones guess at the moment.

Id look at the 250 yammy if i was you as i have seen the fuel bill for a 225 opti for a day out wide on the heavy tackle grounds and it was 60ltrs MORE then a 225 4 stroke same conditions fished and same miles run.
    Matty

yeah thanks for the info matty..i measured the beam myself this arvo unless my tape is farked it measured 2.5 m across the widest point so will not need a permit for it anyway and yes i know how to read a tape properly.

Quote Originally Posted by Noelm View Post
    that may be so, but when you try to register it (in NSW anyway) it WILL be measured, I have been through all that recently, and if it is over width, they will NOT pass it for rego, trust me. Also the restricted permits are changing very soon, whether for the better or worse is anyones guess at the moment.

That is true for the trailer in any state all over Australia but the load on it ( the boat in this case ) has nothing to do with trailer rego. The trailer must be under 2.5 mt.

Rosco I was sure these boats are 8'8" mate , unless some of the older ones are 8'2" ??

yeah not sure mate but this 1 deffinatly measured 2.5mtr..i know the new ones are 8foot 8