Thread: middle reaches brissie river Sat

middle reaches brissie river Sat

Went for a fish on Saturday night for the first time in months. There were plague proportions of baby catfish everywhere. Have never seen so many. even caught them in the cast net. My mate got onto three bullies with one jumping out of the water on three occassions. water quality was pretty good although there is still alot of mud around. caught a few baby salmon in the nets as well. I think there will be some promising sessions just around the corner although I wonder when the jewies and salmon will return?

Re: middle reaches brissie river Sat

Not suprising about the Catfish. Was out walking the dog on the weekend and was amazed by the 40-60cm catfish schooling in about 30cm of water in Manly Boat harbour. Would have been fun on a light fly
    Captain of "Pukka"
    469 Stacer Seahorse
    50hp Tohatsu Tiller

Fisherman, PADI Diver, Spearfisherman.

Wynnum North, Queensland.

Some great signs there Duncan

Talking to a few locals they were saying that the river never recovered 74 floods so hopefully the river wont be impacted to much!

Quote Originally Posted by RAT-KING View Post
    Some great signs there Duncan

Talking to a few locals they were saying that the river never recovered 74 floods so hopefully the river wont be impacted to much!
    Yes hopefully it will recover asap so we can all get stuck into it again. Not to sure about the not recovering after the 74' floods, in recent years the river had not looked better.

Rat king.. I think they might be having a lend?? I spent the 70s as a kid fishing the river. I would have been 10 in 72 and I can remember the dredging up stream, the factories pumping crap direct into the water. The abbatoirs and Bothwicks drains running ofal straight into the waterway. The water was constantly brown and stank 80s weren't much better..... Mid 90s they decided to get their act together and clean it up. 2008 till the 2011 floods is the best I've ever seen. She's on the way back now. I can do nothing but admire this stretch of water, I reckon its unbelievable from where its came to now

Quote Originally Posted by chief View Post
    Rat king.. I think they might be having a lend?? I spent the 70s as a kid fishing the river. I would have been 10 in 72 and I can remember the dredging up stream, the factories pumping crap direct into the water. The abbatoirs and Bothwicks drains running ofal straight into the waterway. The water was constantly brown and stank 80s weren't much better..... Mid 90s they decided to get their act together and clean it up. 2008 till the 2011 floods is the best I've ever seen. She's on the way back now. I can do nothing but admire this stretch of water, I reckon its unbelievable from where its came to now

Hey Chief

yeah i wouldn't know ive only been fishing in the river for the last 7 years im just going on what some of the old local river rats were saying, but i agree it is an amazing stretch of water!

Simon

Quote Originally Posted by .:::stotty:::. View Post
    Yes hopefully it will recover asap so we can all get stuck into it again. Not to sure about the not recovering after the 74' floods, in recent years the river had not looked better.

Yeah maybe he was exaggerating it may have taken a little while to recover, we all remember what happened to the Richmond a few years ago after their floods, that didnt take too long to recover, although it did have some assistance