Thread: Brissie river lure session 5/2/11

Brissie river lure session 5/2/11

Hi , we went for a river session this morning. Started at gentlemans hours and flicked a mixture of R2S d40fs, squirrel and atomics for a few fish. Garrett, myself and Jeremy found enough fish to keep us busy although not a full on session . Jeremy lost a good cod as it hung him up in the wall, we scored a fair few small bream,and a mixed bag overall. You know in all the time I've fished the river I've never caught a catfish on a HB. I've certainly scored them at Mondie in the fresh stuff but today we all got one each and jez's fish came from deep in a snag and came out of the tree branches like a rocket we were stunned to find a big cattie. Both garrett and myself scored nice lizards so it was a fun morning.

Re: Brissie river lure session 5/2/11

Top session lads.

Nice Tailor for this time of year!!

Top pics, well done.

Cheers mate just thought I'd add a roughly 5 of the bream in the river had saddleback deformities. Seemed a high percentage. You can see it in the fish Jez is holding.

Quote Originally Posted by chief View Post
    Cheers mate just thought I'd add a roughly 5 of the bream in the river had saddleback deformities. Seemed a high percentage. You can see it in the fish Jez is holding.
    Have caught a few Bream like that over the years. I reckon it comes from being caught in nets as juveniles.

Nice mixed bag there Chief. We got a similar sort of mixed bag as well this morning. Highlight for me was my first jewie on a hard body - undersize though.

Simon

Good work Simon, what section of the brissie were you fishing?? You weren't in a black bluefin ??

Mangrovejacks..That was my first thought as well but after reading a little research it seems it is a valid syndrome. Who knows mate?? I'm keeping an open mind until further results are released. You scored some nice fish this morning Cheers

There was a story on it in the courier mail last year

http://www.couriermail.com.au/news/q...-1225925521435

Jono

Thanks for that Jonno SS Cheers

The black bluefin isn't me. I have a white tiller steer polycraft.

Simon

great variety session mate!! top effort by all. there was some big tailor busting up in boggy creek yesterday with a school in the high 50s tearing up the bait balls.
    work to live , not live to work

The river is in recovery mode, Cheers for that Wesfish I think we'll be in for some top fishing. Still concerned about taking any fish for food though. I think it may be best total catch and release for a while. Thanks

Well done chief it seems that the river is picking up again. And those squirrel lures should be illegal :-) . Glad that the river is bouncing back well done, top session.

Nice work to you mossy on your effort. A nice trev. They go hard on the bream gear. Nice little area where you were fishing, turns up a few nice lizards.. The only trouble with the squirrels is finding the colour you want in stock. The river is bouncing back pretty quickly

What's the water clarity like atm Chief?

Stotty... Its not to bad around the walls I'd say around 3 ft around the top of the tide. It still has a bit to get back to how it's been. i Believe the water clarity would be a lot better in the bottom column of water around the wharves with the better water pushing in and the discoloured crap towards the surface.