-
Ausfish New Member
noosa last week fish i.d please
hey guys long time reader but new subscriber. Thought it was about time to try some posting.
Had a couple of shore based sessions flicking sp's around Munna and the Woods last week with a few nice flattys landed and a good chance to test out my chrissy present (brag mat).
Also caught this odd looking fish. Felt like a snag at first so hoping it was just a piece of drift wood i start pulling the line in with my hands to my surprise it lifted started to swim then dropped and wouldnt budge again so not wanting to snap the 4lb leader i was using I waded grabbed the leader and lifted it out with my hands the fish was completly buried in the sand at this point. Grabbed a quick photo with the phone and struggled to get the jig out as he bloody scoffed it quite surprised it didnt chomp through the leader.
Bloody ugly looking fish with huge mouth and small eyes just above the brown spot. how big do they get? Makes me think how many snags on sand bars arent really snags
-
Re: noosa last week fish i.d please
It's a stargazer... Apparently incredible on the chew.
-
Re: noosa last week fish i.d please
Well done on the mat - top prezzie mate!
Yup - sure is a Stargazer, aptly named due to the fish always looking up. Have picked up a couple over the years when drifting for Flathead.
Nice fish bye the way!