Thread: jumpingpin advise!

jumpingpin advise!

hi guys, heading to the pin this weekend for fishing club outing. Was wondering if any one had any advice on best bait for the area at the moment and any spots around cruiso island worse a go.
    I have only been there once before and will be in a 12ft tinny so will be well away from the bar. Need help to compete with the older wiser members who have fished this spot for 50 years

thanks, Neil

Re: jumpingpin advise!

Gday mate,
    I fish there a bit and when iam not lurefishing i find one the most versatile and successful baits are whitebait.Anchor up and use them for bream or drift the flats for flatties.I avoid buying frozen packets and get them fresh or thawed from The Gem.

Good luck

Ausfish Platinum Member gr hilly's Avatar

g,day Neil Flathead are still on the chew and soft plastics are cleaning up so take a few pkts along also some worms will help for some tings they are on the sand banks to good luck.
    cheers,Hilly

thanks guys, i have alot of soft plastics and am going to dig some worms with one of the other members. Will def pull in to gem for whitebait

Hey Neil, SP's are the go and white is my prefered colour but if you do use white bait the tackle shop at the Jacobs Well boat ramp sells salted white bait and i have found them very good.

Best of luck

Or follow the old buggers around

thanks lucky, i have a bag of salted whitebait ready to and have a few sp's to throw around to.
    I went out with the old fella's yesterday digging bloodworms and will follow them around to there spots

thanks guys

Also the Most important thing to take is plenty of BUSHMANS. They will eat you alive down there.

when i fish there i try cobby cobby island for some big whiting just before high tide with brand new yabbies off that island. Or Green and Gold banks for flatties. Havent caught a monster flattie there yet but always get a few. Plastics are the go for the ambush predator and you can cover lots of ground with them wading the banks.

thanks guys, ended up with 4 nice whiting and a couple of flatty's for the esky and about 10 stingrays and undersized bream went back to swim another day. All the guys commented on the lack of fish around lastnight as everyones catch was alot lower then expected back some very nice whiting got weighed in. Not even the bushmans stopped the mozzys though lol