Thread: Elliott Heads or Woodgate

Elliott Heads or Woodgate

GDAY ALL

I'm in a spot of bother about where to go over the easter/Labour day break. I have managed to get a site at either Woodgate or Elliot heads from easter weekend through to the labour day w/e and not too sure which river system fishes and crabs better at this time of year and if the fresh from the recent floods has settled down yet. Any info very much Appreciated as i really do need to impress the kids these holidays as Xmas was a wash out in noosa with the river so fresh. My 4 yr old daughter has asked me to promise her that we will catch some flatties, muddies and jacks on our next holiday. No pressure hey!!

Re: Elliott Heads or Woodgate

My experience with both spots as far as fishing is concerned is poor.

Elliott Heads is a great place but the sandflies are something to deal with as they are very very friendly.

Woodgate is much better as you can pump Yabbies in Theodolite creek and there is usually plenty of soldier crabs so the kids have a ball just catching bait. The kids can also have a ball at Theodolite creek on the beach side catching on the making tide whiting and flathead all undersize but they don't have to wait long for a bite.

I took a boat to Theodolite creek many many yrs ago but the fishing was poor but off the beach if the weather was calm a few mackerel can be caught. I don't know about boat fishing in the Elliott river.

I fished the Elliot river last week, and it has cleaned up considerably over the last few weeks since our drowning over Christmas.We crabbed the Elliot 2 weeks ago with 12 pots left in overnight, with Mac Tuna for bait, and got 2 Bucks ( we were certain our pots had been lifted, as they had moved considerably, considering they were out of the flow ) On Australia Day on the run in tide, the clarity was like a weak cup of tea.We managed some Flatties on plastics,Whitting on Yabbies and Grunter and Bream on plastics.Nothing to brag about, but the kids were happy.I drove over the Burrum this arvo on way back from Sunny Coast, it looked as dirty as it usually does.I hope to fish the mouth of the Burrum this weekend,Will let you know how it goes.

Giffo

Was out on the Elliot 3 times over the weekend. As giffo said, the fresh is pretty much gone. Lots of crabs, mostly jennies. We suspect abit of sharefarming went on with our pots as well, giffo. Also got some good flatties on plastics.

Made for a nice couple of days on the water considering the strong wind warnings in the area over the weekend.

Went to woodgate is ion the hols- heaps of crabs in Theodolite Creek and is also a good spots for jacks. There is a reef out the front (more than one actiually) and is also worth a fish this time of the year especially for macs

I have stayed at both and I think Woodgate is easily the better. We got good muddies and bream/flathead in the river and there is an artificial reef only a k offshore.

I was land-based at Elliot but worked hard to find spots. Bugger all fish though.

burrum heads fishing comp is on over the easter w/end so if you want a peace full spot to fish and relax keep away that week end

Thanks guys

Just booked into the Woodgate Caravan park for 7 days starting 23/4/2011.
    Can't wait to get there. Have always gone to places like Rainbow beach, noosa so a new place will be great. Gotta love owning a caravan and a tinny on the roof.

woodgate= 5 mins drive to Walkers Pt ramp, 10 mins in a tinny to Gregory river= jacks, flattys and muddies for kiddys. Just watch for sandbars, and study google earth.

wont be many crowds up there, crowds will be in burrum river main section.
    Fishing- It's only an addiction if you're trying to quit.

Gooday T78
    Have you looked at Miara on Kolan? Good C/Park, river is coming good after the Big Flood.
    A few Sflys, but there everywhere. Last couple weeks been crabbing well around mouth, good flatties on squigys. Going at Day break Wed, let you know how it is for future ref. Bloody road is a mess ,tar, but potholes after the floods.
    Cheers brush