Thread: Pine river bull shark

Pine river bull shark

hi

Went for a fish on Friday Morning as i had the day off and had netted some poddy mullet about 100mm long, anyways thought i saw an arch or too on the sounder near the wreck at the motorway bridge. i honestly thougth there were no fish there except for catfish. Anywyas threw out a livie and got a catfish about 5 mins later so i threw a slightly larger one and about 30 mins later i decided that i would continue down the river to the honibrook bridge. reeling the livie in i hooked up and reeled in a bull shark ( at least im assuming thats what it is) on 12lb mono and 20lb leader. cught in the corner of the mouth which was lucky. Measured around 70cm so i took it home to eat it. bit of beer batter and it was awesome!!!!

nothing else for the rest of the day and also saturday

not sure where i can go for a fish in the pine cause its not for a lack of patience (at least so i think lol) but if you have some ideas some clues wpould be handy.

btw sorry for the noob questions but would there be whiting in the open area between dohles rocks and the hornibrook hwy?

finally the pics enjoy cause i did !!!!!!!!!!!

Re: Pine river bull shark

Gday mate

Nice one.

Its been quite a few years since fishing there, but have picked up some nice summers on the banks beside the mangroves just upriver from Dohles (western side)

nice little catch mate,in the pic it looks a bit like a juvenile thresher shark with that tail

Hi Mate,
    I wouldnt' know of what to get there now, mates have had caught a few some zilch or nothing to talk about. But at the entrance seems to be the target area. I was wondering how did you go with the sand banks heard that there is a few bigger banks and new ones any advice here . Could have changed near the hwy bridges and depths, a few crabs here I believe

Laz

Thanks guys for the comments

dreger - lol no wonder why i cant get a bite. i did get a bite whilst on the sand banks but i think it was another shark as it cut the leader clean. not really sure how to fish the sand banks? do i cast into the trough bit or on top of the sand bank? and i was of the understanding (from the fishing shows) that i should be looking for weed patches but i havent seen any......is that correct? (sorry this must be really stupid questions)

Hi Rynosaurus,
    There are no stupid questions when it comes to fishing! You need to ask as many "questions" as possible and hopefully, someone with experience will part with some of the knowledge that they have gathered.
    I cannot help you on this topic but good luck and nice Noah (would agree with Warrior too, looks like a thrasher to me).

Threshers tails are alot longer than that plus they have a pointy nose, I reckon its a whaler of some sort, hard to tell in pic tho.
    Last edited by Rainbowrunner; 01-02-2011 at 02:11 PM. Reason: spelling
    The Rainbowrunner
    Peter Hansler
    phansler@hotmail.com
    Click here for my webpage
    Click here for my videos

Give a man a fish, he'll eat it and fall asleep.

Teach a man to fish and he'll endanger an entire species

looks like a bull shark to me, Top stuff and greaty eating size,

how did it fight??

Cheers Lee

G'Day Ryan.
    Nice bit of seafood . How did you find the water , eg flotsam etc ?
    Shawn

unfortunately,no good weedy banks upriver in the pine. but there is good structure which is just as good if you are targeting the right fish.
    up around the back of the mill is the place for tarpon and jack[ fish very heavy leader 40lb- 60lb penn 10x is my choice].
    bream through the whole system.
    jew around the deep holes and bridges [ be lucky to get a legal one in there these days]
    whiting like the banks opposite dohles and up from dohles on the western side around the island. but again downstream much better.
    i have found crabs start around dohles and out to the bay but from the horni bridge channel out is much better.
    bald hills creek can perform when you no your way around also with grunter and mud crab on the menu.
    and flathead-- i have caught them on nearly everybank in that system to just past the bruce highway bridge but would say that midstream on the right tide is my favourite with a pb of 93 cm coming from there.
    also other randoms have poked up with plenty of vermon in there, but as always, the more your in the water the more you catch.
    hope i helped with some ideas

the real shame for me is my old hunting ground hastings is now a green/labour zone

Nice Bully. They put up a good grunt on light gear. No way a thresher would survive in that fresh, or any other shark for that matter.

Cuzza

Hi,

Put in at Dohles Rocks boat ramp and on opposite side of channel against the weed banks but in the channel is a good spot for flathead drift. I have done well there with canoe and jigs.

Trev

Quote Originally Posted by cuzzamundi View Post
    Nice Bully. They put up a good grunt on light gear. No way a thresher would survive in that fresh, or any other shark for that matter.

Cuzza
    I personally witnessed a 14ft tiger shark foul netted in a trawlers net in the hunter river 37KM upstream in seaham so it is possible i guess
    AnGry

Quote Originally Posted by theangryangler View Post
    I personally witnessed a 14ft tiger shark foul netted in a trawlers net in the hunter river 37KM upstream in seaham so it is possible i guess
    AnGry
    Interesting. Any pics?

no as i was very young but it was in the local rag at the time i will try to find a copy of it.
    AnGRy