Thread: rear seat box

rear seat box

Hi does anyone know where I could get a rear seat box for my boat like the one above. They are approx 1500 long x 300 wide x 450 high, sizes are only approximates going off memory, cheers Steve.

Re: rear seat box

what about the 126 l esky here you used to be able to get cushions for them too
    http://www.tropicaliceboxes.com/tropical/sizes.php
    a bit from left field but worth a thought
    IF IT CAN'T EAT A WHOLE PILLY I DON'T WANT IT

I made one for my boat. Not exactly the same as that but it is the principle that we may be talking about .

I just made box out of thick plywood from Bunnings and treated the edges and outer surfaces with epoxy wood sealer just as I would if I were replacing the plywood floor of the boat. The sides of the box were glued and screwed with stainless steel screws and I reinforced the inside corners with pieces of 2X1 wood, glued into place. Mine was a shorter box than the one shown but for a long box, some internal reinforcing along the length may be sensible.

Just like the floor, I covered the sides in boat carpet. Very easy to do and looks pretty good. That is the secret to making the thing look like a bought one in my view.

I used vinyl and a firm foam rubber from Clark Rubber for the seat and just stapled it on but an upholsterer could do something fancy for the seat if you wanted such.

Steve, ask the guys at Marine Tune at Burleigh Heads. When I bought my boat another guy ordered an extra seat for his Brooker.

try morris marine, they make a nice one.

thanks mate where abouts are they,

no need I found them, cheers Steve.

You would be better off using an esky IMO and getting a cushion made up for it. At least you can still store bits and pieces in an esky but ice wont last very long in an uninsulated box. Any marine/auto trimmer will be able to make up a removable vinyl cushion for the top of it.
    Marto

try AMM boats they will make you one.

Mate Brooker make them and put them in there boats it may be worth giving them a ring. Im not to sure where you are but the Brooker factory is near Sydney.
    Cheers Axl

thanks mate I am in Brissy, cheers Steve.

ps the one in the photo is from a Horizon boat, are they in Brissy?

any aluminium fabrication place will make one for you, easy as pie.