Thread: Dirty Brissie river

Dirty Brissie river

I hope you all escaped the floods, we only had minor damage which took up only time to fix so all is good . A lot better than my mates Jeremy and Maryanne who lost their bloody house. Just before that wall of water hit me and Jeremy pulled a couple of fish out of some pretty ordinary water. We were surprised to have a couple of squire willing to play in the mud. I went out for a solo sesh this arvo to throw a few lures to get a quick fix and have a look at the river to see if anything had changed. The water quality is still ordinary but I was amazed to see the amount of hardie heads and gar holding in the river. Picked up a nice tailor, some small cod and a few bream so things are looking up. Cheers it can only get better

Re: Dirty Brissie river

Good one Paul, you can't keep a good man down hey.
    It's been a month since I've had my boat out so I gave the outboard a run on the muffs today. My fav dams are still closed so I may give the river or bay a go this weekend.

good stuff on getting onto them despite the conditions, been itching to see when you'd throw up the next report.

eug

well done bro
    figjam :wink:

Hey chief! Been a long time. Glad to hear you are ok. Am thinking about checking out the middle reaches in the next few days so will let you know.

Hey Paul, what were you using hard or soft ? Just curious, with the water colour ..

Hi Mark, yesterday threw a River 2 sea D40 f in HC-17 colour. used 6 bl f/c leader. I was smearing the lure with a bit of S-factor scent. The bream smack those lures with gutso in that dirty water and personally I think they go harder than normal. Normally we have success with a colour called BRBA-31 when the water quality is poor but yesterday started with a new lure out the box and finished the session with the same lure. I got a lot of small bream in the 23 cm range that were released straight away

Mike... you must be climbing the walls champ

Duncan... Look forward to that mate, I couldn't believe the bait in the water I haven't seen schools of hardies like that in years. F/G was saying there's masses of bait around the front wharves as well so I hope you finish the trifecta and there pushed up around your way. I would love to hit the river this weekend on the top and run out of the tides early but I'm away with the wife. I reckon there might be a few surprises for those willing to have a go. Good luck mate

Chief, you a freak of nature to pull what you do out of that river in these conditions, you never cease to amaze me. What was the debris situation like in the river the other day? Was thinking of fishing the mouth of the river on sunday for the run-out tide, was just wondering the chances of me taking out my transducer with debris?

Chief I've been waiting for you to put a report up on the big brown river! And it's a good one as always... I haven't been out since I seen you last, been busy building my deck and lookin after the girls! Hopeing to get out soon cause it's looking very promising....

Jesse..hope Nicole and Little Macy are well. I nearly gave you a call on wednesday to see if you wanted a quick fish. I rethought it as I was only throwing the boat in for a couple of hours and I remembered you've been letting the big bream go at the side of the boat without getting them in the net

Mossy.. I saw a few pieces but overall I was surprised. I fished the southside rock walls. I looked towards the north bank and there was a lot of crap and flotsam drifting the edges so I stayed in the better water. There were a few boats and jet skis going hard travelling up and down. Hey mate did you score the leckie??

Cheif I have had to put the leccy on hold with the new house has been eating up my hard saved coins. I'll get started on the saving again soon enough, I was lucky I didn't get it when I did had a few things around the house die at once but thats the way isn't it. Hope to see you out on the water soon enough! Tight Lines.

Hey Mossy, you have my number give us a call and we'll do a session on the river out of my boat. I think the river will fire up big time soon

Yeh Nicole and Macy are doing well chief... Haha bloody rookie errors hey!! Mate my windows for fishing are tight these days, I'd be keen for a quick fish one day... My mate is coming up from Melbourne again in about a month so hopeing the river is firing by then for a few sessions!

Well Done Paul.

You can always grab a feed out of the river, even if it looks like an Iced Coffee!!

Cheers, Jason.
    FISHING IS NOT A HOBBY...................IT'S AN OBSESSION!!