Thread: 4.2m tinnie

4.2m tinnie

gday folks, first post. I am in the market for a 4.2m tinnie, my requirements are flat floor (no thwarts) pedestal seats, wide side decks. I have been doing a lot of research and seem to have narrowed it down to three boats which fit this criterea. brooker 410 safari, stessco sf425(welds?) & bluefin 4.20 scoundrel the later is the only one ive seen in the flesh. Am waiting for dealer to bring in stessco nxt week? and said he could bring a customers safari in for me to have a look at. all are coupled with 30hp 2st. I pretty much do 100% of my launching off the beach (can get pretty boggy) and figure 4.2m is really my limit in regards to a solo launch, which is often. Im only 500m from the beach and are wondering if a full roller trailer will aid with launch & retrieve as apposed to skids?(rollers apparently not good for long hauls with bottoms under 4mm) blue fin dealer in south oz not getting another scoundrel in for maybe 10weeks so will wait to check out before making a decision. I havent ruled out the second hand market and im not boatless (no massive rush) so i will keep my eyes peeled in the classifieds. if any one has any of the above mentioned boats or know of others which fit the bill I would really appreciate some feedback on ride,stability at rest wet/dry ride etc. cheers!

Re: 4.2m tinnie

I've got a Brooker 450 seaman open tinny and so far pretty impressed with it
    Ride is ok and stability at rest is pretty good but like all open tinnies it can get wet when it's a bit rough and windy but most times it's alright
    The 410's look like a good boat as well and what sold me on the Brooker was all the extra's on the hull were standard, Rails,side decks, rear step,casting deck etc
    I'm running a 50hp Tohatsu TLDI and pretty happy with that too
    I don't know where you are in SA but give Keith at Freshwater Marine at Goolwa a call he deals in Brookers and He's good to deal with and returns calls, answers emails etc
    Something that was severely lacking with other dealers around Adelaide I found

cheers purnong, I really appreciate the feedback. I also live on the midcoast and a friend put me on to keith, he was the dealer I was speaking about in regards to bringing in a clients boat to take a look at. It sounded like he wasnt going to get a safari in until he had an order for one which is fair enough, you couldnt expect a small dealer to have every model on display.I just dont think I could hand over my hard earned without seeing the boat I was buying before me as you know how build quality can differ. I looked at three 410 fisherman side by side at another dealership down the bay (which you obviously also went to in regards to your comment, I felt I was putting them out just by being there!) and the boats were obviously built by different tradies. I do like the depth of the safari deeper than bluefin, but has promenant cut out on transom, kieth tells me the factory can add a motor well at no extra charge (worried about taking waves over the stern on enitial beach launch) If I end up leaning towards the brooker I will definately go with kieth he also gave me a competitive price straight off the bat. thanks again for your feedback cheers!

YEh Squid
    What ever boat you end up getting see if you can get a 3mm bottom,really stiffens them up and the underside of your hull will remain strait and not look like a roller coaster ride in a couple of years time..LOL..
    Willo

Willo's right Squid, we both treat our boats hard and a thicker hull is good for off shore if that's what you intend using it for .My 3.9 Stacer has a 1.6 bottom I have extra ribs on the sides which works, but the bottom sure looks like it's rode the rapids a few tmes.

If you want new try Marine Tune on the Gold Coast, they sell Stecco custom orders to all over Oz cause they have a small profit margin.

I have a Honda 20hp on mine . Get a 4stroke , you'll never regret it.

cheers Jimmy

I have a 2006 4.1 safari very happy with it
    http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/vbp...do=view&g=1018
    92 MU, 91 MU ute, 90 MU,96 MU Wizard, 2014 MUX, 2019 DMAX
    Australia's loudest MU
    MY SITE MY YouTube SPL 152.3dB
    If beef is in beef mince, What is in pet mince?

I have a 4.5m Safari..40hp 2 stroke..very happy with it

thanks Willo & Capt, I will be sure to go 3mm bottom for a minimum!
    cheers Pig75 & Pinhead good to here you are happy with your brookers they are a deeper boat, I suppose there is no one out there with a scoundrel or stessco that can give me the low down? Thanks again for your feedback guys its much appreciated

Stessco warranty is not worth the paper it is written on, take a look at Sea Jay boats website, very good quality but in the high end of the price range, but you do get what you pay for

Have a look at the sea jay all rounder has every thing you want, 4.55m & up has 3mm bottom std & the 4.2m -4.4m can be optioned up to 3mm (or even 4mm) if you like. I have a 4.55 territory and it gives a great ride for its size. http://www.seajayboats.com.au/models...oat/allrounder

id have to say check out Clarks new 4.27 persuit, they just did one for a mate with a full floor and it has 3mm bottom too. Pacific Marine centre at loganholme have them now and there a really strong looking rig. Worth a look if ur looking for a strong boat.

Matty

cheers djfish71 & colo thanks for link also, I did previously look at the sea jay allrounder allthough I couldnt find a photo of the deck layout on there website, but unfortunately the only dealer in the state is a 9hr drive away in port lincoln! its the same senario matty with the clark alloy boats, there is just no dealer in SA. maybe we really are a backwater? its a shame about the stessco Ive seen mixed reports on the forums, but they look like a solid rig.I will still have a look when it comes in to see for myself. at least thats one dealer we have here! thanks again for the feedback guys its all food for thought

I Just purchased a Horizon 425 all rounder, 3mm bottom, flat floor and front casting platform, Looks the goods and great finish on the boat, paired to a 30hp Yammy, pick her up this week. cant wait.

Cheers Lee

Quote Originally Posted by lethal098 View Post
    I Just purchased a Horizon 425 all rounder, 3mm bottom, flat floor and front casting platform, Looks the goods and great finish on the boat, paired to a 30hp Yammy, pick her up this week. cant wait.

Cheers Lee
    Thanks for the feedback Lee, seen a 435 northerner the other day it was a cracker boat hope she brings you many fish. It will be a long week!

Hey Squid,

Rather than limit yourself to boats that are available locally - why not jump on a cheap flight to Gold Coast or Brisbane to have a look at the offerings?

Small price to pay for the flights vs the cost of the boat.

If you like what you see, and have the $$$ - rent a car and tow the boat home to SA.

You may get a boat more to your liking. Also with $$$ in your pocket, you can bargain hard with the dealers.

I'm happy with my 4.85 Sea-Jay Territory. It has flat floor, Raised casting deck, Pedestal seats, Wide side decks etc. I am running a Yammy 60 Hp 4Stroke on the back which is a whisker under the max Kg transom rating.

I would like to see a higher transom and use an extra long leg outboard as she can occasionally take a little slop over the transom cutout when some numbskull ploughs past too closely, creating a decent wake.

This only occurs when two blokes are sitting at the rear of the boat.

But at the end of the day, only a cupful or two of water is the most I've had in the bilge.

Cheers, Sea-Dog