Thread: Consignment sale of your boat Pro's & Con's???

Re: Consignment sale of your boat Pro's & Con's???

Quote Originally Posted by boatboy50 View Post
    Hey Mate,

This is simply untrue. You never sign ownership of your boat over to a dealer on consignment, so if they go belly up the boat is still yours. The creditors (they can be scum) may ask for it, but the second you bring a lawyer into the fold they'll ask you to come and get your boat out of their yard. Trust me, i've been through it.

There are some decent dealers around. Never pay anything cash up front to sell, pay contractors (detailers ect) cash in their hand after the job is done, and ask for everything in writing. On the dealer side i've sold hundreds of boats on consignment without issues, even for/to members here.

I have seen it many times over the years with both car yards and boat yards.

If a boat is sold and money is paid to dealer ( who don't run segregated or trust accounts- few do) and they close the doors????? Not easy to get your money back nor boat so stand in the queue for you X cents in the dollar. Amazing how this happens when shonks are going broke and often they will look like busy yards and then overnight

Its happened many times and you will not get your money, you line up like every one else and you are last in line as well. The banks cover themselves with a morgage then comes the ATO and if there is anything left ........

I would never sell on consingment, I prefer to get less $$$ and either sell private, trade or auction.

Quote Originally Posted by eyeskeenas View Post
    hi everyone,

im in the process of selling my Quintrex freedom sport and i was approched by a number of boat yards wanting to put it in their yards on consignment. promising the world and all the usual sales pitches. in the end after a few no shows, I took one boat yard up on their offer and so far im a little dissatified on thier efforts. I wont name them because im not going to play that game. but sometimes i wonder how they stay in business.

So what i was wondering has anyone had any success with a boat yard and the hole consignment thing? should i hold out or bring it home and do it myself?

Thanks in advance

Cheers eyeskeenas

Get it out of there as fast as you can.

Once you have regained possession register a lien on it back dated to the date you put it in there. You will have to do this through Queensland Transport but I think the process is through the office of Fair Trading.

PM me for the reasons you have to do this.

White Pointer

WP,

Please enlighten us all.

The poster has not got his boat tied up in a bankruptcy issue, he can get the boat back at any time.

Why would he possibly need to put a lien on it?

The boat is simply on consignment at a dealership which is doing business as usual, same as they have for many years i'm sure. Maybe i'm missing something?

So if the dealer says the boat owner owes him money can the boat owner take the boat???? What happens if the dealer registers a lien for money supposodly owed?

I've not seen a consignment agreement that protects a seller fully that is in any way cheaply enforcable.

Registration is not clear proof of ownership and doesn't take into account encumberances. Hence REVS.

I know people who have lien on equipment they owned outright to prevent anyone else claiming interest ( without them being notified) and holding posession of equipment at sites and people who own house outright doing simlar to ensure there us no transactions in the transfer of title without their consent even by doing it as 2nd morgagee at land titles. Should nearly be a condition of insurance to stop some high value equipment frauds out there.

It is not that people haven't broken law by taking your property it is about proving that , making recovery easier and leagally enforable and damages possible.

Unfortunately finance companies will accept money from anyone.

Removing from the yard - I think you must be in physical control and posession of article for it to have lien applied - I'm very rusty on this these days.

Building a boat as soon as money expended , receipt issued with details , keel is laid and can be identified with welded number in keel - put a lein on it. I don't know if you need to update it as progress on the build happens.

WP I hope will tell us.

Quote Originally Posted by eyeskeenas View Post
    hi everyone,

im in the process of selling my Quintrex freedom sport and i was approched by a number of boat yards wanting to put it in their yards on consignment. promising the world and all the usual sales pitches. in the end after a few no shows, I took one boat yard up on their offer and so far im a little dissatified on thier efforts. I wont name them because im not going to play that game. but sometimes i wonder how they stay in business.

So what i was wondering has anyone had any success with a boat yard and the hole consignment thing? should i hold out or bring it home and do it myself?

Thanks in advance

Cheers eyeskeenas
    i done this with my first fibreglass boat the sales yard was useless they were asking double the market value i ended up canceling it and taking my boat home to sell

just to let everyone know who contributed to this thread, I went and picked my boat up on saturday morning, didnt have any issues apart from the lanyard missing that i didnt realise until at the ramp. nothing a trusty zip tie couldnt fix. but it definatly aged sitting out in the weather.
    was pretty annoyed at one point, the bloke that had it, even said they used it to upsell their new boats! not in those words but im not an idiot. i can read between the lines. why buy a used quinny when you can get this brand new boat for just a little extra.
    so i have listed it on ebay with a realistic reserve, I will keep you all posted to see if i can do a better job than that other bunch of boxheads.

I just went though the whole boat selling experience. Basically I didn't have a huge amount of time to leave work and take tyre kickers for joy rides so I rang a dealer who had an ad requesting my boat brand. Basically they offered about 80% of what I thought was a fair price (although I wouldn't have to do anything - they would even pick up from my house). The guy was pretty straight forward, said "we will give you this much and reckon we can whack 4 grand on it and still sell it, it will give you cash in hand and no need to deal with buyers".

Anyhoo I thought I'd give an internet site a go for a month or so at what I thought was a fair price. $30 bucks and 24hrs later it was sold for 3k more than the yard offered me.

Whats the lesson? thousands of serious buyers are constantly looking at sites like boatpoint and boatsonline, its worth having a go yourself, just be realistic about the price and demand a bank cheque or direct deposit.

Would not touch a consignment deal again, after having been burnt once. Either trade the thing in, or sell it yourself, and just make the prospective lookers come at a time that fits in with you. And, carry on living your life; by that I mean that, if someone says they'll be there at 10 o'clock for a look, give them half an hour's grace. If they're not there, do what you have to do; it's funny when those people ring up at 12 o'clock when you're at the shops and ask where you are, and you just say you assumed they weren't coming, and that's when the whinging starts. I've wasted too many hours waiting for those who can't be bothered turning up at the pre-arranged time; they aren't serious buyers anyway, as a serious buyer will ring you if he runs into any time dramas, which can and do happen. Anyway, after getting off the suject a little bit, tell any boat yard that approaches you to put your boat on consignment (and they'll all say it'll be gone in a week, no worries maaaaate), that they only way that they'll make any money on your boat is to buy it off you outright and on-sell it.

NICK.
    I fish; therefore I am...

Politicians are just like kangaroos; they're lovely to have around, but they need a good CULL every now and then just to keep the population in check...

Quote Originally Posted by CHEE-FEE View Post
    if someone says they'll be there at 10 o'clock for a look, give them half an hour's grace. If they're not there, do what you have to do; it's funny when those people ring up at 12 o'clock when you're at the shops and ask where you are, and you just say you assumed they weren't coming, and that's when the whinging starts. I've wasted too many hours waiting for those who can't be bothered turning up at the pre-arranged time; they aren't serious buyers anyway, as a serious buyer will ring you if he runs into any time dramas, which can and do happen. .
    how true you speak! same goes when selling smaller items and someone rings up and says
    "its exactly what I want, Ill definitely have it, can you hang on to it til Ill get there (tomorrow?)"

then they arrive and say

"oh its too long/short/dark/expensive" or worse "when they get there its "I'll offer you....."

Sold 1 boat which I traded. With benefit of hindsight, could have got more if I wanted to go through the hassle of selling it myself.
    Another boat I consigned. Local dealer was keen to get it. Quoted up front what he would charge. It was in very good order. Said he would sell it in 2 weeks. Took 3 because he had a week off during period. I accepted an offer which was on the low side, but wanted out so accepted it. I felt the market at the time was also quiet. Did not have worries over money or inspections. He did all of this.
    Would I sell again on consignment? maybe, but depends on circumstances. I did not have time to muck around both times I sold, but if I did it again, I would make the time and try it myself.
    Both transactions cost me $$, but again suited me at the time.
    Most dealers only advertise through the well known web sites anyway (e.g. Boatpoint, Trading Post). Dont know if I would go Ebay. Too many bargain hunters looking for a cheap deal.
    Good luck with it.
    Try it yourself, would be my view after my experiences.