Hey there Pete
Will be interesting to see how the prawn season differs with the massive run of fresh. You would think that some part of the cycle would be affected.
Anyone seen any Banana Prawns yet. Give it about 4 weeks i reckon, Peter.
"We gave Howard the Arse now we have to fix Rudd"
"Now we have to sort Gillard" F@?k me RUDD again
Abbott and Newman what a great next few years "NOT"
Hey there Pete
Will be interesting to see how the prawn season differs with the massive run of fresh. You would think that some part of the cycle would be affected.
I reckon there will be plenty.
Up in the Gulf Country the prawn trawlers usually rely upon cyclonic events i.e. plenty of rain to flush the banana prawns out from the creeks. The bigger the flush the more prawns.
I cant see it being any different to this region i.e. from Cairns through to Moreton Bay, Lake Macquarie in NSW and down to Wollongong...obviosuly no banana prawns in NSW, just different species.
some banans off the jetty at russell already......even 2 weeks ago.
How many of us remember the 1974 floods? They were bigger than the current floods.
Ask those that witnessed the '74 floods, and they will tell you how thick they were after the event. I say get ready!
prawny, prawny, prawny, you're my sweet yellow curry.
Let the prawn games begin
This is good discussion. I believe the prawns need the fresh water to promote their growth cycle. Should be a good season, Peter.
"We gave Howard the Arse now we have to fix Rudd"
"Now we have to sort Gillard" F@?k me RUDD again
Abbott and Newman what a great next few years "NOT"
I reckon it'll be a stonker season! I thought last year's would've been better than it was, given the decent rains we had, but this year's rains are on a whole different level - there's just no way they wouldn't get a solid flushing! Once the inner bay stops looking like a river out back of Bourke, I reckon they'll start firing.
Cuzza
I was talking to a beam trawler skipper yesterday and he told me that they wont be able to work the brizzy river for a long time now as the risks of hooking up on something washed down by the floods was too great to risk loosing your net or even sink the boat.
so all my little haunts I cast for prawns in the river should be loaded when the time comes......geeeezzzz I can feel those bumpity bumps on the rope allready.
BRING IT ON!!!
pickers
G'day pickers,
Yeah, I agree, screw those trawlers and there will be heaps of prawnies for us to get a decent catch for a change. I too can feel the flicker as they flick to the sock
Let the hunt begin
Bar up,
I reckon you would get a bumper crop where you are once they escape from that lagoon.
Cheers, Peter
So Bondy any in the logan yet??? or only logs?
Got a new net waitin for the prawns to start
Pero,
Hmmm, I see you got some tigers in the tank , at the place where it was predicted.
the angryangler,
like Pero stated, heaps of logs, nice if you want to make a log cabin on stilts
hey guys, i have just bought a tinny, and am keen to start prawning... but i dont know how any pointers or advice ? where can i go (i live at ormeau)