Thread: Wooli NSW

Wooli NSW

Hello all Ausfishers,

1)
    I'm heading down to Wooli on the 17th Jan for a week of fishing and sight seeing with my lovely partner Alli and her son. So if your gonna be down around there at that time maybe we can meet and go for a fish etc.

2)
    If anyone has any info on the "Wooli Bar" it would be greatly appreciated.

3)
    I have been kindly given some marks for around the "Minnie Waters" area, but I am looking for some generic marks of Wooli, if anybody would like to help out that also would be appreciated.
    Maturity is not when we start speaking BIG things,it is when we start understanding small things

Re: Wooli NSW

Have a great time!! It's bloody beautiful down there!! Only been there once, sorry can't be much help.
    Cheers Kim.
    Live your life in such a way that when your feet hit the floor in the morning, Satan shudders and says...
    'Oh Shit.....she's awake'

G'day Bruce,

The Wooli Bar is quite navigable in the right conditions and like any bar is best on the run up tide with a favourable prevailing wind - otherwise, like most other east coast bars it is a real b-i-t-c-h, that is why I use the beach launch at Minnie - I know I can always get in and out without the drama or adreniline.

The only catch with the Minni beach launch is the sand gets quite drifty the further north from the southern end of the bay you launch - the other fact to keep in mind if you choose to use Minni, half tide up (depending on tide height) can see a bit of tidal surge come into the bay over the protecting rocks that run parallel to the beach.

Having said that, I'd rather use that than the Wooli bar - I've seen it pretty nasty. Its narrow and the pressure waves run quite a long way up into the seaway. Not a lot of room to move

Hope you have a great holiday and get plenty of fish!
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

P.S. sorry, can't help with Wooli marks, maybe murph?
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

Thanks Rhys,

looking forward to the break, just hope it's not to wet & windy down there.
    Maturity is not when we start speaking BIG things,it is when we start understanding small things

Bruce

It's persisting down with rain at the moment and we are on flood watch/alert

The bars not a problem if you have any nowse. JKust have to watch for the occational wave from the south it's a bitch.

Murf will have plenty of marks for south of Wooli towards Redrock, not a big run in the boat.
    My marks for the area are minimul, but it's not hard to find decent ground, whip out to North Solitary and there is plenty of reef around it, but make sure you are aware of the MARINE PARK BOUNDARIES.

I hope the weather plays it's part when your down here so that I can get the Steji out and maybe meet up.

Minnie Water has reef two k's straight out the Shop window and then four k's out.

Rob T

loaded all my marks on the hand held today for ya Heading to Wooli caravan park behind the Pub in the morning for the week, everything is wet before we start so there shouldn't be any worries haha just hope I can get out of the property in the morning without the bridge being under water

got the 10' punt loaded and serviced the motor today for a fresh water Muddie or three

the ocean is a mess atm but by the time you get here it will be sweet

Rob I will be a couple of camps downstream from the ramp in the park on the water front (hopefully not too waterfront)

Bruce if the bar is anything but gentle at Wooli just go to Minnie water lagoon, been out of there in some massive swells in a 4m/25hp tiller steer no worries

Wooli bar

cheers Murf

Bruce As others have said bar can get nasty but as the vidoe shows its only a short sprint and your pretty right. Better than dealing with the SPB when you get caught in the wrong spot let me tell ya.
    Have caught some very good snapper and believe it or not big pearlies from the Home ground reef straight out the front of the bar in about 20-10m of water. Other than that I dont have a lot of marks but there is a fair chunk of reef off Wilsons(I think thats what it is called) headland up near Minnie Waters that is easy to find. Good luck it is a top spot down there.
    Cheers Jason

just got a phone call and the Wooli Road is blocked by flood waters in two places high tide is just after lunch so they are expecting it to peak then

a minor inconvenience to us but I feel for all the other flood affected families out there

cheers Murf

Coffs Harbour BOM, said it should start to clear by Wednesday. Hope their right, not going to be a happy if we can't get in there.
    I feel for all those families that have had to go through all this rain and flooding.

Thanks for the info, lets hope we can catch up. Watched the vid, there's no way my Alli and her son would go out through that, not sure I even would.

yes Bruce that vid is a bit extreme and not worth the fish when its like that especially when you have Minnie water to launch at (4WD needed though)

apparently I can get around Grafton where the Pacific HWY is blocked and go in through Tucabia from Ulmarra ???? will see what it brings after lunch

and yes Seabreeze and Weatherzone are looking good for the weekend don't look at Mon arvo though

cheers Murf

I hope you guys do ok and the weather gods are kind. I wish you a safe passage and hope you get some nice quality fish.

There's been too much rain, lots of floods and plenty of heartache, we too have had our share.

Happy fishing guys. Peter

Cancelled our trip to Wooli, due to road conditions in and out of the wooli area. Not happy about it, but there a many people who have lost a lot more, their will be other holidays.
    Murf & Rob, who in wooli already, hope you catch some fish and the weather is kind to you.

Gee dont cancel your trip. I grew up heading out there and my olds currently live there. The rd closures are always minor and they go down much quicker then they go up - thinks its open again today already. Not a cloud in the sky today and 15 knot wind (there are boats at sea that launched from minnie) - fish to be caught