Thread: Fluoro won't run on generator

Re: Fluoro won't run on generator

Quote Originally Posted by finga View Post
    If there's a capacitor in the fluoro then it'll be playing silly buggers with the voltage regulating capacitor in the generator I reckon.
    The el-cheapo generators just use a capacitor (can't remember what size but replaced heaps) to regulate their output voltage instead of a decent voltage regulator setup that are evident in more expensive geney's.
    I am not sure how the generators work, but I wouldn't mine betting it has something to do with power factor of the fluro ballast that is causing it to play up.

What is something else that would supply a large inductive load finga? I dont think a drill would quite be the same.

I've got a GMC cheapo generator that I bought off e-bay for $10...runs well and fires up a double fluro no probs...while powering the tele and set top box aswell....have to watch the footy up the beach after all...

Quote Originally Posted by finga View Post
    If there's a capacitor in the fluoro then it'll be playing silly buggers with the voltage regulating capacitor in the generator I reckon.
    The el-cheapo generators just use a capacitor (can't remember what size but replaced heaps) to regulate their output voltage instead of a decent voltage regulator setup that are evident in more expensive geney's.
    Thanks Finga - and the cheapest simplest solution is ???

Don't keep me in suspense

Go to bed when it's dark??

What type of fluoro is it or can you get a picture of the inside?
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Has the light got a normal plug in starter dodad in it?

If so and there is something like this inside it (it should have one wire going to the same spot as the blue wire from the flex and another wire going to the same spot as the brown wire from the flex) then take it out.
    They're usually about 50 odd mm long and about 30mm diameter roughly speaking (and I'm too lazy to go out to the shed and measure one)
    The most important thing to make sure it's a capacitor is that it has a number and then a funny u with a F afterwards written on it normally. Just like the second line from the top in the picture.

How did it end up??

Finga. mate what with the floods and cleanup and me travelling to Cairns the last few weeks I haven't looked at it since - I will be this afternoon though and I'll get back to you. Mate I'm an old sparky as well so I'll look to see how many microfarad the capacitor is.

SUCCESS, seems alzeimers hasn't completely set in after all and my electrical apprenticeship wasn't a waste of time. The capacitor is in fact a 4 microfarad and upon disconnection guess what plug the light in to the genny and away she goes.

Next time your driving up the beach at DI after dark and see a four foot fluoro suspended under the divorce tarp, I mean the 24x24 foot tarp, give a toot cause it will probably be me.

Thanks everyone for your help and advice, appreciate it.

Woohoo...
    And he said "let there be light" and there was.

It might be worth a shot with your light too Scotty.