Fish Burley Recipes

Thread: Fish Burley Recipes

Fish Burley Recipes

Hi Fellers,
    Im just a new comer to the site and i wondered if anyone had any burley (chumming ) recipes.
    I fish in nth qld mainly in about 10 mtrs depth on reef and bommies chasing mainly trout, grassies, cod etc.
    Thanking you

Re: Fish Burley Recipes

mate when i do a burley mix it is normally a
    1: whole block of pillies put thru a mincer or blender along with anything else u like
    2: 250ml of tuna oil
    3: 4 loaves of bread
    4: 2L of water

mix well in a large bucket and put into blocks and freeze (cut the top off 2L coke bottles as they will fit in your burley bucket on your boat)
    put them in the freezer and take them out with u in an esky.

hope this helps

Thanks Mate sounds good will do

I get all my fish frames (many are mackerel) skins etc and simmer them in an open keg til most of the water is gone. It takes a few hours but everything breaks down into a slurry. Then bag it and freeze it.

Quote Originally Posted by byron_moses View Post
    mate when i do a burley mix it is normally a
    1: whole block of pillies put thru a mincer or blender along with anything else u like
    2: 250ml of tuna oil
    3: 4 loaves of bread
    4: 2L of water

mix well in a large bucket and put into blocks and freeze (cut the top off 2L coke bottles as they will fit in your burley bucket on your boat)
    put them in the freezer and take them out with u in an esky.

hope this helps

I'm with byron except diver whiting whole ($5.99 kg local sea food outlet) through a hand mincer and I use the pellets from bait shop instead of bread (although might change).

Yes freeze and send to what ever depth you wish (bottom or higher) to let the trail flow.

It is worth the effort.

any old bait, crab and prawn shells, fish frames, chook pellets or bread, tuna oil and aniseed, for aniseed I use licorice, but you can get tuna oil with added aniseed as well. If your running short of old bait you can get tins of the el-cheapo homebrand catfood and use this instead, cheaper that going and buying a block of pillies.

I keep empty margarine containers and freeze it up in that, fits perfectly in the berley bucket and has a lid so no spillages in the freezer or esky.

Thanks Boys, Plenty of ideas there