Tangalooma, beacons chasing pelagics

Thread: Tangalooma, beacons chasing pelagics

Ausfish Platinum Member ddobson's Avatar

Tangalooma, beacons chasing pelagics

Shot out to chase some pelagics on sunday taking off from Bribie. I got up there and at the ramp at 11 so shot out to northern beacon and jigged up some livies and shot over to curtain at turn of low for nothing {scoober boat turned up and made a racket} so shot down to look for any action. Got back down to beacons as my brother was going to meet me there and he was still an hour away so i went over to the tanga wrecks for a quiet downtime and all of a sudden birds, fish busted up only 20 metres from wrecks. All i was hooking up was bonito, trevally and the main school was 40cm dart and 1 spotty followed my slug to the boat and turned. I gound a 2 inch banana prawn plastic was hooking up most as slug was only getting touches and it was fun on 2 pound fireline with 4 pound leader.Met up with brother to go back to curtain for the high turn on dusk and used bonito for bait as i don,t normally bring bait being a plastic lover. Anchored up for hours for nothing but peckers and small aquire. Headed back after dark and found my way as first time from bribie in boat. Anyway the main reason for post is to let you know whats happening out that way as no spotty,s there i could see yet bar that 1 in the smaller fish school. I did see 1 small school of large longtail tuna but to small to follow. PS. has anyone seen any out on the north end as i am up here for a week. Happy new year to all.

Re: Tangalooma, beacons chasing pelagics

hey mate, did an over nighter at curtain an bulwar ledge sun night, was using livies jigged from becons an floating down baits, had a few good runs an faught a turtle for 20mins or so but only landed a 78cm jew an some squire throw backs. Left bulwar ledge 5.30am an poked around to western rocks for a drift, landed 3 big tusk fish in the first 2 drifts befor floating some pillies a metre down from some tied on ice break bottles ha ha! within 20m of line floating out the back both baits were smashed an no hook ups Definatly worth a look with some floating baits mate, we called it a day as the wind started to blow a little, an the esky was full with cod,sweeties,parrot an a hussar. will put a post on later, good luck an hope someone finds the macs soon......

REEL SNAPPER ADDICTION

I went to the four beacons Friday around dawn, lots of mac tuna around, played with them for an hour or so as they smashed the frogmouth pillie schools. Headed home 90 mins later after failing to find any spotty macks.
    Water was fresh out to half way across the bay from the Pine River. Furtherest out I have ever seen un-interupted fresh in the bay.

There are yellow tail kingies at Brennans . Dropped 2 good ones today to a snapped swivel, Wardy got a 12kg specimen yesterday. Reports of Wahoo at Hutchies but we couldnt find them. Also Wahoo hanging around Flat Rock Straddie (found them).

Marty

ddobson ive been told by a reliable sorce that there were good schools of macks and spottys on the eatsern side of bribie oposite the lagoon overflows on the eastern beach in the middle of the week. much cleaner water with the fish holding much closer to the surface. i went over on sunday also left the ramp at 530 in the morning in my 4.75 tinny i did alot of back n forth across the bay and seen only birds working no fish's

Yeah, we drove Bribie Beach the other day and you could see the birds working about 100m out from the shore.
    Cheers and thanks.

"Tackle Whore on a budget..."
    Gonzo II – Brooker 4.5m 40hp Yam & Outlaw Kayak
    Fish Well, Fish Egrell

http://www.ecofishersqld.org.au

3rd lagoon half way up bribie and out to the spitfires is where you want to be........

Quote Originally Posted by legsy11 View Post
    3rd lagoon half way up bribie and out to the spitfires is where you want to be........

Hey mate were you out today?
    did u get anthing?

im looking at an early run tomorrow.

thanks joe

they have been up there now solid for the last 2 weeks mate. have been quite shy and easily spooked with longtail schools amongst them as well.
    good luck.

tommorrow wont be too good but...

Ausfish Platinum Member ddobson's Avatar

legsy11 i shot up to the black marker on south end and didnt even think of going up that far. Do you reckon they will be there for next few days as u said last few weeks birds working with them.

A few mates of mine caught 11 spotties yesterday off shark spit. most just over legal but a few horses in there as well. Got them all on the paravane towing metals (as they're still down deep with all that fresh on top).