Thread: Can you buy Chartplotters in Hong Kong???

Can you buy Chartplotters in Hong Kong???

Gday

This might sound like a bit of a random question but Im heading to Hong Kong and Singapore after xmas and was wondering if anyone knows weather you can purchase Garmin Chartplotters in Hong Kong???

I have been intending on ordering one from the US but have been holding off just in case they are available in Hong Kong

Shane

Re: Can you buy Chartplotters in Hong Kong???

Quote Originally Posted by svranjic View Post
    Gday

This might sound like a bit of a random question but Im heading to Hong Kong and Singapore after xmas and was wondering if anyone knows weather you can purchase Garmin Chartplotters in Hong Kong???

I have been intending on ordering one from the US but have been holding off just in case they are available in Hong Kong

Shane
    Hi Mate,

No idea on Hong Kong, but I do know there is a bloke in the lucky plaza on Orchard rd in Singapore that does sell Garmin Gear. I have looked a few times but really the pricing works out the same roughly as back here... Hong Kong may be different though.

I have bought some gear in Singapore and in that shop (downstairs around to the right if you come off orchard rd in a store called something sports - you will see a heap of dive gear there) that isn't too badly priced but it certainly isn't mind boggling.

There would be other places that would be cheaper off Orchard rd but I have never tried looking so not sure where they may be...

Quote Originally Posted by svranjic View Post
    Gday

Shane
    I go to HK a lot. I would not be buying something like a chartplotter there, unless I know exactly who I am are dealing with. I think the only authorised Garmin dealer only handles car and portable GPS units. All the marine stuff is handled by 'trading companies'.

Some trading companies can be very good, some very bad, and some can be both at the same time. Traders either resell excess quantities bought by regular dealers, buy liquated stock or seek supply via unauthorised grey market channels.

Watch out for remanufactured lots. A lot of the stuff available from trading companies is actually rejected during manufacture (fails quality control) and instead of being destroyed or broken down into component parts (to build working units) for the production line, they are sidelined and fixed up by third parties and sold very cheap. No warranty (except swap for a limited time) and no support.

OEM branded factory authorised remanufacture is different and it is very rare to find it for stuff like marine electronics but common in TVs etc.

Singapore is much the same as HK but less likely to get 'remanufactured' units.
    Sometimes its better to look like an idiot than to open ones mouth and remove all doubt.

Don't bother looking in Singas for boating electronics.... I lived there for a little bit and go every year for a few weeks/days and have never found any electronics cheaper than here in AUS...

Tackle on teh otherhand is a lot cheaper esp hooks and jigs and lures..... if you want to look at that stuff go to beach RD and there are about 5 stores there..also "HOTSPOT' tackle shop in Kandahar st (just around the corner) and there are 2 good shops in Changi village shops... also great food there....

Quote Originally Posted by 2rods View Post
    Don't bother looking in Singas for boating electronics.... I lived there for a little bit and go every year for a few weeks/days and have never found any electronics cheaper than here in AUS...

Tackle on teh otherhand is a lot cheaper esp hooks and jigs and lures..... if you want to look at that stuff go to beach RD and there are about 5 stores there..also "HOTSPOT' tackle shop in Kandahar st (just around the corner) and there are 2 good shops in Changi village shops... also great food there....
    Wherabouts on Beach rd?? Im up there again in a couple of weeks, I usually stay at the Swissotel opposite raffles and work out of an office in Shaw tower, near there by any chance??

Wouldn't mind stuffing the suitcase

Cheers for the replies!!!

Looks like Ill have to wait till I get back for the chartplotter

But I guess I can fill the suitcase with lures!

One big issue to consider, is that most of the garmin marine range sold in aust come loaded with australian charts.

This could account for quite a few$$$$$ when buying overseas.

Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.

Already got the bluechart card, bought it off ebay for around $30

Dont the OZ chartplotters just come with basemaps???

Quote Originally Posted by Kondo 1 View Post
    Wherabouts on Beach rd?? Im up there again in a couple of weeks, I usually stay at the Swissotel opposite raffles and work out of an office in Shaw tower, near there by any chance??

Wouldn't mind stuffing the suitcase
    They are on beach rd near the boogis st MRT end...go down past that huge brown office block with all the grass around it and they are there... (just jump in a taxi for $5 and ask them)

Oh Boga grips are cheap there too $160 for 30 pounders and $200 for 60pounders.....

If you go to HotSpot in Kandahar st the fellow who ownes it is Whenlong... A nice young fella..ask to see his pictures of the snakeheads he catches...awesome fish..

Went to these tackle stores in Singapore today. Was very cheap! Bought some braid and heaps of jigs. The prices on the reels were pretty good too.

down on beach road???

Yeh the ones on beach rd. I am thinking of going back and getting a Daiwa reel but not sure

do ya like how beach road has no beach........

amazing how much reclaimed land there is there

Also at night on beach road they have quite a few resteraunts that do tha Lovely STEAM BOAT!!!! get some of this down ya neck!

Singapore has changed a hell of a lot since I last visited in 2000, not sure if I like it as much.....

I bought some Asari shell dancer jigs, technic twister jigs and technic fanky jigs.

I'm only just getting into jigging so I'm unsure what jigs and brands are best. Basically I went to the DeepSsa store and spoke to the owner who was very helpful with both products and prices.

I also was considering getting a jigging reel from Joes fishing but wasn't sure what reel to get etc.

Are the jigs I purchased ok?