Xmas Prawns? - Page 2

Thread: Xmas Prawns?

Re: Xmas Prawns?

Straight from a friend who owns trawlers in Hervey Bay, IQF'd on the boat in 5kg boxes, $60 a box for large kings, always tasty, just defrost in the fridge with heaps of rock salt.... Also get some very nice bugs and squid off him!

Bring on the xmas feasting! Prawns, Bugs, Crays, Red Emperor and hopefully a muddy or two, gotta love an QLD xmas lunch!! Does it get any better?

Ausfish Platinum Member gr hilly's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by bondy99 View Post
    G'day gr hilly,

Mate, you will have to sink a few pots and get some nice muddies.

Send me a pm with your details and I'll come around and have a drink or two with ya.

Merry Christmas and all the best for 2011.
    Cheers, Peter
    Peter im still looking for that keg my girls are trying to con me into closing the shop for 4 days after Christmas BUT THE TRADE HAS BEEN DISMAL,i might miss out on the best day of the year i wont know if im closed,
    have a good one Cheers,Glynn

Trawlers at the Spit. Straight from the deep blue ocean the night before. Cooked on the way in. Can't get any better.

As for farmed prawns I am yet to have a good one.

Bought 10kgs today off the trawlers at Cabbage Tree Creek. Very lucky to find any for sale that were not preordered. Most of these guys have also bought prawns from the gulf frozen and are selling them here off their boats because the weather and the catch rates have been shit lately.

The boat I had them oreordered to buy is not arriving until the morning and I needed them today for the xmas party at work.

Just got my 5kg box of large green head off kings - snap frozen on trawler this week. Lots of prawn based meals being prepared at our place over the next couple of weeks.

Ausfish Platinum Member gr hilly's Avatar

i just got home from getting my seafood for tomorrow and i had to line up 40 mtrs to get in the shop never before has this happened and they are open tomorrow xmas day too from 6am to miday.

Cheers,Hilly