Repowered 5.2 KC with twin 60 suzuki's. - Page 4
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Repowered 5.2 KC with twin 60 suzuki's.

Re: Repowered 5.2 KC with twin 60 suzuki's.

I can take a picture of the binnacle control and my console if you like and post it tomorrow, or email it to you, might post it, just in case someone else is interested.

Quote Originally Posted by Noelm View Post
    I can take a picture of the binnacle control and my console if you like and post it tomorrow, or email it to you, might post it, just in case someone else is interested.
    Thanks mate. If the photos are of high resolution, maybe emailing them may be advisable as well. I am not sure if photos are resized when uploaded to the forum.

Quote Originally Posted by Smithy View Post
    So long as you can trim to level and a bit more before you start to get cavitation that is fine.
    hmmm, i can trim up quite a bit up from level according to the trim gauge in average/ rough seas. this makes me think the motors are set too deep.

Quote Originally Posted by Danf View Post
    Mate, would it be possible for you to post a picture of the dash set up. I am interested to see the gauges setup? Can you trim the motors from the controls as well as the original switches on the dash? Thanks
    Here is some pics of the dash, the existing holes were not quite what i wanted so a piece of black acrylic done the job nicely. The way i have the trim setup is, ( not saying this is for everyone but it works well for me ) There is a switch on the dash, and when it is in the off position you trim the two motors separately using the trim switches on the throttle handle. when the switch is in the on position one trim switch on either handle/motor moves both motors at the same time.

Quote Originally Posted by myusernam View Post
    i would be very unhappy having a cruise at such high rpm.
    22 knots at 4800 rpm (what the other guys are getting) is the go
    Rev-limiter on the yamaha is 6,000 rpm. if you cruise at 4,800 this is 1,200 below.

Rev-limiter of the suzuki is 6,300 rpm. If i cruise at 5,000 this is 1,300 below.

Quote Originally Posted by Dean1 View Post
    Ye my cruise is 23kts 4800rpm. I agree these hulls need to be at least say 21kts+ to work properly the faster the better in most cases. Cruise 16-19kts would be painfull in one of these.

90 etecs are still too heavy around 150kg each which is too heavy in my eyes.

A 90 hp 4 stroke weighing 120kg will rare its head in a few years i reckon the way technology is going but they wont be cheap.

Totally agree Dean, It's good when there is someone who actually know what they are talking about.

More pics, if any one is interested.

Cheers Chris.

I need some advice on the height that the motors are mounted on the pods. I know 2 and 3/4 inches ( 70 mm ) is the proven correct height, i just want to make sure i am measuring it right.

In the first attached pic the motor is trimmed all the way in and the flat bar is continuing horizontally from the bottom of the hull. set up like this it measures 30mm up to the cav plate.

In the second pic with the motor trimmed so the cav plate is also horizontal with the bottom of the hull it now measures 50mm. ( i know there is another thread with a comparable measurement somewhere ? but i cant find it.

Thanks for your help, Chris.

Mate with the motor trimmed level with the bottom of the hull you need 65-70mm from the bottom of the hull to the cav plate. Your motors need to be raised one more hole do you have another hole left?? This is great news as you will get better performance again! Did you try the other props?

That's the right photo to put up. The horizontal one is the correct one to go by and up is the way you should go with the motors. Have to agree with the ones in the know here.

That's great news, i can go up one more hole ( 20 mm ) and as a bonus should pick up a few more revs.

Hey Dean, no i have not had a chance to try the 15's yet. cant wait though.
    Thanks for your help.

Cheers Chris.

hey guys didnt want to start another cat post but took mine for a run today an theese are my figures just wondering what u think, full fuel 1 person, esky an ice, plus fishing gear. an im running 75hp
    3500rmp=21-22knts
    4000rpm=26-27knts
    5100rpm=34-35knts

Quote Originally Posted by dan12345 View Post
    hey guys didnt want to start another cat post but took mine for a run today an theese are my figures just wondering what u think, full fuel 1 person, esky an ice, plus fishing gear. an im running 75hp
    3500rmp=21-22knts
    4000rpm=26-27knts
    5100rpm=34-35knts
    Nice numbers, do you have a pic of her sitting in the water? Curious to see how bum heavy she is. Can you spin them past 5100rpm???

Cheers, Deano.

Quote Originally Posted by Dean1 View Post
    Nice numbers, do you have a pic of her sitting in the water? Curious to see how bum heavy she is. Can you spin them past 5100rpm???

Cheers, Deano.
    sorry mate no pics of her in the water yet, can get 5200 if i trim it right out but otherwise 5100 seems to be the limit

Tried the 15's with the motors at the same height. Not real successful at all. I was loaded up with 4 guys, gear, fuel and ice. It took forever to get up to 26 kts which was all it had, and it only reved to 5600. fuel economy was real average at 1.3 km per liter combined. Sure hope lifting the motors 20mm is going to make a lot of difference.

Cheers Chris.