Thread: Fun morning at Peel

Fun morning at Peel

Kyle & I hit Peel at first light yesterday on a day full of surprises. The first surprise was the Wello Point boat ramp. Only four trailers (including us) parked there on a Saturday morning during school hols and on a day with a good forecast!

Got to Peel dropped our plastics at a favourite mark and got surprise number two - bait and fish everywhere! Kyle gets smashed and he has a huge fight before the line goes slack. He pulls in the remaining half of what would have been a legal snapper! Bloody sharks...they got our fish and lures two more times.

After a regular flow of undersize snaps come aboard we decided to head to Bird Island on the high tide for some breamin. There is a heap of surface action around the rocks but the water is less than 50cm deep! I throw a small hardbody and immediately hook up to a small bream. Kyle decides to try a surface lure and after 20 or so boils and strikes, he hooks up to his first long tom.

As the tide dropped we targetted duskies on the sand banks. I managed two and lost one on bream lures. Kyle stuck with his surface lure and managed surprise number three - a 50cm dusky on a surface lure in less than 10cm of water!

All up we managed 20+ small snaps, three duskies, one bream, a grinner and a long tom - all on lures/plastics and all released.. Great fun on a Saturday morning!

Biggest surprise was when we got back to the Wello Point ramp at 11.30am - still very few trailers there and no delays at the ramp.

A top day!

Regs

Pete & Kyle

Re: Fun morning at Peel

I can answer that mystery. Everyone was at palmy.

Onya Pete, sounds like you & Kyle had a cracker, how was Mondy this year, we didn't get there unfortunately but tried Awoonga a week or so later and got nothin but a very wet a#%e, not much reward for a loooooooong drive from the Coast!!!

Hey Carnster, re Palmy Reef, are the Mackerel on???? Gets bloody busy out there, Cheers.
    My PB's - Have Photos of most of them.

Flathead - 98cm - Bait - Tweed River
    Spottie Mackerel - 105cm - Bait - Palmy Reef
    Australian Bass - 48cm - Spinnerbait - Spot X
    Yellowbelly - 48cm - Yellowbelly - Jackall - Sommerset
    Bream - 38cm - MF40 - Nerang River
    Whiting - 40cm - Bait - Nerang River
    Jack - 40cm (Pitiful I Know) - Live Bait - Coomera River
    Barra - 104cm - Storm Pro Paddle Tail - Mondy

Good one Peter & Kyle! Nice of the weather gods to finally allow for a calm day yesterday. Been seeing some reports from fishos who headed out yesterday and yours seem the most rewarding so far

glenn

Macks are on big time.

Good stuff Pete. The other guys are right, mackies are on the chew.

Did the long tom get aerial?? I've had a few swipe poppers while fishing for Trevs around Dunwich but never hooked up.

I have seen bait fish all round the island to dunich and one arvo we chased mack tuna for an hour with follows and no hook ups on the west side. The new furuno sounder makes the schools look good and even some bait balls showing up as we passed them. I have only ever been sharked once on plastics n my boat and it was a mate so 3 in one session is not good when u are throwing em back. Good surprises there to in the shallows. Cheers and a happy chrissy DD...

Nice work mate.

Sounds like you guys had plenty of fun.

Lee