Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567

Thread: sustainable fishing ideas for the future

Re: sustainable fishing ideas for the future

Quote Originally Posted by Lovey80 View Post
    Noelm, mate I totally agree with you. If the pro netter had to pay a fee to the restocking group that is significant enough then I would totally support it. I just don't want to see a situation like in NSW where Rec Fishing Licences have been used to stock Mulloway and the local Rec Anglers are very happy about the results up until the beach netter sits 400m up beach from the mouth of the RFH and takes tonnes of Mulloway that was largely funded by RFL fees and intended for Rec Anglers to catch.

I'll give you an example that I would love to see enacted when and should QLD go down the RFL path.

The Maroochy, Noosa rivers and all beaches between the Mooloolah and the tip of Fraser have all the netters bought out and made a RFH (crabbers aside). If that were to happen not only would I support Saltwater stocking I would volunteer my time to assist in the program. With current netting especially north of Noosa there is no way I would support such a move.

Lovey, the Mulloway stocking in NSW waters has been a massive success for Rec fishos!!
    I fish the Richmond and Clarance mostly and i can tell you in the 20 years ive fished this region ive never seen so many Jew in the systems as i have the past few years! There actually at a point where in a few Bream comps the jew were that thick they were getting annoying and stopping us catching bream...

So ill happily pay my license fee and tell them to feel free to stock more fish!
    Stocking isnt the only thing the money is used for lots of diffrent projects get done state wide. Its all on there website if anyone wants more info.

EDIT: I throw slot limits in for an idea!
    Anything under anything over goes back!!
    Flathead 40-60cm
    Bream 30-40cm
    Jew 60-90cm
    etc etc

Quote Originally Posted by Platitudinus View Post
    Having read all 6 pages of ideas thus far It is very clear that it is the growing number of humans that is the problem having more and more demands on the fish stock (beit holding, growing, declining or whatever) and other world resources.

So we need to control the human population growth to make THAT sustainable vis a vis the worlds food resources.

Perhaps a new thread could discuss birth control, nuking govt headquarters, ministries and quasi govt depts (police, firies, ambos etc) and also we should reduce our hospitals and care systems and force euthanasia. What age should we start at 70,60,45? That should reduce the population for a while and if we recreational fishos take up hunting as well we may succeed in reducing the human population to sustainable numbers (at least for a while till the population explodes again).
    Bring back Mad Max - all is forgiven LOL.
    Merry Xmas.
    Plato
    Okay..all you kiwis..pack ya bags..OUT!!!!
    next the South Africans..back from whence you came.
    Poms..you mob too...cominh over here and playing cricket like that...you can all go back.
    OH..and take the irish with ya..they drink that horrible black gunk.

That should do for a start...

BUT..take note all you Victorians and cockroaches..you may be next.

Quote Originally Posted by Archer View Post
    Lovey, the Mulloway stocking in NSW waters has been a massive success for Rec fishos!!
    I fish the Richmond and Clarance mostly and i can tell you in the 20 years ive fished this region ive never seen so many Jew in the systems as i have the past few years! There actually at a point where in a few Bream comps the jew were that thick they were getting annoying and stopping us catching bream...

So ill happily pay my license fee and tell them to feel free to stock more fish!
    Stocking isnt the only thing the money is used for lots of diffrent projects get done state wide. Its all on there website if anyone wants more info.

EDIT: I throw slot limits in for an idea!
    Anything under anything over goes back!!
    Flathead 40-60cm
    Bream 30-40cm
    Jew 60-90cm
    etc etc
    Mate feel free to read the massive fishing licence thread started this year I think by Scott Mitchel. Long read but If you do you'll see that i have read what the licence fees have been wasted on. You may be shocked yourself.
    Sure there are some fantastic benefits of it and Saltwater stocking of Jew is one of them. I would happily pay a fishing licence if it was managed by a completely A-political body such as Eco fishers. What I don't want to see is the situation seen in NSW this year of beach netters sitting just outside of a RFH and nailing ton upon ton of Jew
    Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

There was so much mis-management in NSW with licence fees is was an absolute joke.

I remeber reading an article about South West Rocks where $200,000 out of the recreational licence Trust had been used for ....RESEARCH...???....Into the commercial netting of slimie mackeral and the pressures it had on these baitfish.

Yes...Research...what a crock of bull twang.....
    Why should rec fisho's pay for such a thing and who in gods name even knows what research was done and what was actually spent..!!!!

The buy outs of pro licences in Botany bay etc were only for a set period and they then go straight back in or find other loop holes.

Lucky_Phill got me thinking about the whole issue of licences in QLD.
    I was originally for it but as he pointed out Boat registartion is at all time high in QLD and where does this money go....???.....Do we see any of it....No we dont.
    The licence thing can work but as Lovey suggested in needs to be managed properly by a body such as ecofishers and I would be all for it if managed properly.

Nagg......This is very political IMO.
    Labour has sided with the Greens and are pushing their 'agenda' and as already pointed out 'The Greens'want fishing completely banned and there will be no stopping their push.
    I hope and Pray the liberal party of NSW and QLD do what the Victorians did and Say we dont want to doany deals with the greens and we want no preference deals done it all.

This will see this group of idiotic extremists lose some power.

Quote Originally Posted by Lovey80 View Post
    Mate feel free to read the massive fishing licence thread started this year I think by Scott Mitchel. Long read but If you do you'll see that i have read what the licence fees have been wasted on. You may be shocked yourself.
    Sure there are some fantastic benefits of it and Saltwater stocking of Jew is one of them. I would happily pay a fishing licence if it was managed by a completely A-political body such as Eco fishers. What I don't want to see is the situation seen in NSW this year of beach netters sitting just outside of a RFH and nailing ton upon ton of Jew
    While i agree there has been wastage with the NSW RL we are not faced with a impoundment licence plus the possibilty of a snapper one as well and on top of that your boat whatsit or what ever it is called. I know this isnt the thread for this debate and it has been done to death but give me the NSW system over what you guys are facing any day. We have RFH's and we have restocking, we can fish fresh or salt and it is all for one price. i would rather have a RFH with netters outside them than not have them and still have the netters as is the current situation in Qld. Do i want to pay it ? not really but it is better value than what other states cop and what you guys are about to. Do i think many of the ideas here are better than what any state Gov has come up with ?? sure do but hey when we dont really have the say on how things are run i will take what i have and not complain when i look at what you guys are going to cop.

Quote Originally Posted by deepfried View Post
    While i agree there has been wastage with the NSW RL we are not faced with a impoundment licence plus the possibilty of a snapper one as well and on top of that your boat whatsit or what ever it is called. I know this isnt the thread for this debate and it has been done to death but give me the NSW system over what you guys are facing any day. We have RFH's and we have restocking, we can fish fresh or salt and it is all for one price. i would rather have a RFH with netters outside them than not have them and still have the netters as is the current situation in Qld. Do i want to pay it ? not really but it is better value than what other states cop and what you guys are about to. Do i think many of the ideas here are better than what any state Gov has come up with ?? sure do but hey when we dont really have the say on how things are run i will take what i have and not complain when i look at what you guys are going to cop.

Mate in hindsight that's probably a fair call. And all it really takes is to make large inshore areas RFHs. Sure it would cost a load of cash or a loan from somewhere to kick it off but I am sure that QLDers would be happy with a licence fee if managed properly and not one red cent went to consolidated revenue or activities that the Govt should be funding anyway.

It could be done easily with the right leadership to give rec anglers their own destiny

been through all of this over here on west coast
    bag limits now 2 demersals and 2 pelagics.
    2 month complete closure on demersals every year
    50cm size limit on pink snapper and our dhufish
    all this talk went on about our rights to our bag limits , till most smart fisho's realised it was about protecting our resource for the future , so we could go on and fish well for years to come.
    it's coming , just a matter of when.

Quote Originally Posted by Pistol_P View Post
    There was so much mis-management in NSW with licence fees is was an absolute joke.

I remeber reading an article about South West Rocks where $200,000 out of the recreational licence Trust had been used for ....RESEARCH...???....Into the commercial netting of slimie mackeral and the pressures it had on these baitfish.

Yes...Research...what a crock of bull twang.....
    Why should rec fisho's pay for such a thing and who in gods name even knows what research was done and what was actually spent..!!!!

The buy outs of pro licences in Botany bay etc were only for a set period and they then go straight back in or find other loop holes.

Pete ...... I dont know if your example of mismanagement is true or not - but if it is, it would have had to go through the committees to get approval - Here is the link to the various committees that run and administer the NSW Recreational fishing licence Trust -

http://www.dpi.nsw.gov.au/fisheries/...nce-fee/trusts

All of the meetings have minutes available ...... so you can read about what is proposed , what is approved , where the trust funds are spent , what research is approved (some good shit there) etc etc blah blah blah
    WHAT DO WE HAVE HERE IN QLD ...... Nothing !!! - what programs do we have here in Qld ? , what research is being done in Qld ? ....... what is the future for Qld rec fishing ????? .

Btw - Botany Bay still remains closed to Commercial fishing

The NSW model may not be 100% perfect - but it is transparent & it is reasonably well run - and it is non political !!!!!!

Lets try another couple of angles.
    1. In NZ there are plenty of trout and trout fishermen yet you cannot legally buy caught trout from any source. Suppose we just made it illegal to buy 'retail' any of our so called 'in danger' proposed licence species - snapper, pearlies, and trag and lets add to that some more 'inshore tasties' such as red emporer, kingies, flathead etc.
    2. Ban all commercial fishing for fish (not prawns - yet) from within 50km of land (Islands included).
    This would FORCE the commercial boats to seek the deep water species offshore as it has in many other countries.
    The average fish eating member of the public has no idea what fish they are eating anyway - e.g. sewage farmed catfish from Thailand - Basso etc, so if they eat some filletted ooglies - so what. At least we can continue to catch and eat our inshore species from our own reasonable efforts.
    You get the gist?
    Plato

Plati I don't think measures like that are needed just yet. A good start would be to push all netting within 1nm of land/ sheltered semi sheltered water ways. I know one thing is crap is that our resource is goin to feeding nations like Japan that have an appetite far greater than their on land allows. Stop exporting all the good food and there would be no need to import the crap.

Chris,

I had a flashback last night...

The article was written by Laurie & Julie Macanally at South West Rocks and they were horrified as to what was happening.It was titled 'Bait Wars' where the pro's were allowed to net tonnes and tonnes of slimey mackeral....(you can imagine the impact it had on the food chain) and questions were asked as to WHY this was happening and WHY rec trust money had been used into researching the impact.

Back in QLD.....I agree with you we need a focused plan in QLD thats for sure.
    One thing I really believe is that all RIVER netting needs to stop.These are the real nurseries and Green Groups should be focusing energy onto them rather than just picking a patch out at sea and locking everyone out.

I think Fishermen on the whole are a responsible bunch and we have embraced bag limits etc etc......and probably will again if the need arises.

Quote Originally Posted by Pistol_P View Post
    Chris,

I had a flashback last night...

The article was written by Laurie & Julie Macanally at South West Rocks and they were horrified as to what was happening.It was titled 'Bait Wars' where the pro's were allowed to net tonnes and tonnes of slimey mackeral....(you can imagine the impact it had on the food chain) and questions were asked as to WHY this was happening and WHY rec trust money had been used into researching the impact.

Hi Pete

I guess you are referring to this study

http://www.dpi.nsw.gov.au/__data/ass.../MERCMAC-3.pdf

much bigger and greater impact on recreational fishing than one might think - This was an on going (3 year) multi region study which also includes research into the biology etc of the Slimies.
    Considering that slimey mackeral are probably the most important baitfish for NSW offshore fisherman ....... no wonder the committee agreed to partially fund it .

If you look at other minutes from 2002 - there is more info

teach your kids about the importance of letting the little ones go and only taking enough for your immediate needs..... help them to realise that fishing is about the whole experience and appreciating natural beauty and the environment, not just what's in the esky at the end of the day..... educate them to the sorts of things that go on in the world like shark finning, whaling, purse seining and drift netting so that they inherit core values of conservation to take forward to future generations.....