Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Thread: sustainable fishing ideas for the future

Re: sustainable fishing ideas for the future

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    have you joined Ecofishers???
    I have looked at there site but an skeptic about it as there is no update since may this year even though it is only $10 to join i dont want to go barking up the wrong tree are there any members on here and do they do what they claim???? If it was that great would we not all be members by now???

Many Ausfish members are Ecofishers members, but we need more, a lot more. If you want the pollies to sit and take notice of us, it's numbers that count.
    Maturity is not when we start speaking BIG things,it is when we start understanding small things

Quote Originally Posted by marty666 View Post
    I have looked at there site but an skeptic about it as there is no update since may this year even though it is only $10 to join i dont want to go barking up the wrong tree are there any members on here and do they do what they claim???? If it was that great would we not all be members by now???
    There ya go marty..you could join up and volunteer to look after the website..post up all the relevant news etc.

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    There ya go marty..you could join up and volunteer to look after the website..post up all the relevant news etc.
    it still does not answer my question about them tho call me a skeptic but are they a lobby group or just a collective group trying to persuade the pollies, If it is only a collective group then what is the difference between them ring my local member or them. The web site does not really say apart from a not for profit organisation. 2nd i would like to hear from members to find out what they do, as it is all very well to say they are trying to protect the rights of rec fishos but do they really try or just a group of guys that meet for a beer every now and then and think of who they might write a letter to.

If they are a lobby group and they need number why is there not advertising on here a fishing forum why are there no fundraisers or days of sort where people like myself can go have a chat with them to see what they are about and potentiality join??? any feed back from members???

Quote Originally Posted by Spot82 View Post
    You're kidding right? So you expect my 80 year old grand parents to go out and catch their own fish if they want a feed? The air must smell real good up on that high horse

I have a lot of friends that don't enjoy fishing but like a feed of fish once in a while, so usually if i have friends around for dinner they get a feed of fish, works out well for me and saves me going to buy a peice of meat from the butcher.

I never take more than my bag limit and the freezer is generally all but empty by the time I get out again.

Don't worry there will be thousands of bream, whiting, flatties and snapper left because I would much prefer to eat a Red or a trout. If it's not something I will eat it gets let go, simple as that and generally the fish i keep are well over size limits and anything close is let go as well.
    I have a 20 footer and fish off shore prob 12 times a year. I can assure you that my freezer usually has a good supply for us and friends/shared around. Always within the law on take and posession.

I also am amazed at the thinking of these so called planners for the future. If you are going to seek to chastise those who fish inside the law and share that joy with friends and family, then you are batting from plain selfishness. I keep on saying over and over, that to share quality fish with family and friends who dont have the ability or resources to catch fish for themselves, is one of the great joys of fishing.
    Otherwise we leave them to go and buy crap imports at Coles or woolies. This whole chastising attitude that keeps popping up on threads all the time on here is both boring and annoying.

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    Not really ..... I did the same thing 25 years ago - It was all about how many fish you could catch -
    Giving fish away to nan / pop whatever is all nice and certainly gives you a warm fuzzy feeling - I dont really have a problem with that!
    When someone drives around a caravan park looking to give away fish or rings around to do the same ......... well , yes you've caught too much fish ! - and dont kid yourself , people do it.

So What random acts of kindness are now banned as well? Giving a feed of fish to people who you dont even know?? Is that a hellish or heavenly motive ?

You should try it one day nagg it might give you some joy. Or dont other people deserve the joy of eating a lovely feed of fish caught within the law?

Selfish ? Or should fishing be preserved for the future? For whose kids? Only yours??? You leave me wondering.

Quote Originally Posted by odes20 View Post
    So What random acts of kindness are now banned as well? Giving a feed of fish to people who you dont even know?? Is that a hellish or heavenly motive ?

You should try it one day nagg it might give you some joy. Or dont other people deserve the joy of eating a lovely feed of fish caught within the law?

Selfish ? Or should fishing be preserved for the future? For whose kids? Only yours??? You leave me wondering.

I dont understand where you are coming from just because you are not breaking any laws does not mean what you are doing is so called right either. You might call it acts of kindness but all those fish that are just being given away are not in the water breading it is as simple as that. On your logic of giving a feed to those who dont have the time or means to do so we should all bag out and drag the catch with in the law home and give away to our neighbors hair dressers brother, jees i dont see many fish left after every one in Brisbane who has a boat and loves to fish does this. Now i am never going to say hey it should be catch and release only but common sense should prevail and if you have caught a couple decent pan size fish that are legal and will feed you and your family that night then hey go for it but to bag and and feed you and your family on frozen fish for weeks what a waste of breeding fish.

ok Marty .try this one..a bloke catches some fish..all legally..he keeps some and gives some to his neighbour..let's say 4 fish to the neighbours..you bewdy..everyone is happy.

The neighbour eats fish regualrly..so ig he is not given any he goes and buys the fish..who knows what bycatch was killed in catching those fish. Far more sustainable for the kind bloke to givew him some.

Common sense also says to me that catch and release it a waste also..not all fish survive and a lot I have seen in pics have little chance of survial..therefore might as feed someone.

Did you know that a heart specialist will tell you to eat fish 4 times a week?

What is the problem if no one has broken any law. It is not your place to castigate others for what they do legally..if you don't like the current regulations then lobby your local MP.

If you are so adamant about fish being in the water and breeding..my suggestion is that you give up fishing completely. Then you can carry on about it.

You are proposing that anyone who ever catches a good haul within the law is an evil doer?
    So what do you think about all the fish that people are eating this Christmas? Are they all bad too?
    You need to refine your overall philosophy on this issue mate, or do as Pinhead suggested. personally stop fishing to be true to your convictions

Quote Originally Posted by coola View Post
    Yes I'm quoting myself we will never sort this attack on us from the pollies & rad greens when we continue to fight amongst ourselves. making suggestions like; ban pro fishers, barbless hooks,bag limits etc etc, is playing into hands of the pollies & rad greens. I bet they are sitting back saying "look at these clowns our work is done for us!!".
    THE ONLY TWO THINGS WE NEED TO OVERCOME ARE APATHY AND DISUNITY.

COOLA
    SOME OF YOU PEOPLE ARE JUST PLAIN BORING.( BUILD A BRIDGE!!!).

COOLA

Quote Originally Posted by coola View Post
    SOME OF YOU PEOPLE ARE JUST PLAIN BORING.( BUILD A BRIDGE!!!).

COOLA
    Deary me

Coola I agree that unity is needed - no question. But unity happens in life when people mutually agree to gather around a common value and respect each others positions and work it foward.
    Your naivity is that every time someone creates a thread on here to seek solutions out come the lads who want to chastise those who choose to bring home more fish than them, within the law.

Those who are hammering away at those who bring home a bag full didnt atrtack the creator of this thread for saying we will be able to bag out on trout and reds in the Brisbane River??
    Another naivity is that the greenies will succeed in closing all fishing .
    Thats a stupid fear. Catching and eating fish is a world wide part of mankinds life since year dot. Sustainable fishing practises and conservation is as far as they will get. Any Gov who tries to push it further will fail.

I dont even mind if we get restricted further. Even though I catch plenty of fish, I still rarely catch my bag limit, and I have plenty to eat and share.

Odes ..... I have done it ( then it became expected!) - just an old digger that lived in the same block of units
    I don't have a problem with anyone keeping a feed or anyone giving the odd fish away However my opinion changes when fishoes use the "legal bag limit" as their catchcry ...... they catch their bag , keep what they want and give away the rest! ......
    My fishing practices are from personal choice - just deep down I know that if we keep going down this path , fishing will become even more regulated but not before fish stocks become depleated .

Selfish ? Or should fishing be preserved for the future? For whose kids? Only yours??? You leave me wondering
    - I still cant work this comment out

PS .... btw - have a happy Christmas

The best sustainable fishing is the fact that 90% of fisherman only catch 10% of the fish I definitely catch more fish now than when I was 10 - 15 years younger, must be more fish around these days!!!

If I could manage to bag out on Snapper off the Gold Coast 4 from 4 times this year, and let the majority of those fish go, then how can there be a shortage of fish? Maybe I just got lucky? So in catching 20 snapper for the year I probably had a much better year than the majority of people who fished for snapper this year!!! There is no way that rec fishos have an impact anything like the "scientific" studies propose!!!

The best way to create a better fishery is to create more habitat, The massive Artificial Reef at Hervey Bay is a classic example of this, this has benefited the whole inner bay area! Not a lot of fish are caught there, but go for a dive and see how much life is down there, it is rediculous!! The amount of coral trout and species which aren't often caught there is amazing!!! Greenies should pull their heads in and allow clean car bodies and other scrap metal and suitable objects to be made into reefs, it is the best surface to allow coral growth, etc. The few millilitres of pollutants which would be found on a stripped car body is not going to have bugger all negative effect on water quality when it is diluted in a few billion litres of water!!! But this requires the government to spend some money!!! Will never happen.

In addition there should be no commercial netting of estuarys and areas like the sandy straights. Recently heard a story of some Americans paying over $2000 to come to Hervey Bay to catch some big Golden Trevally on the flats of Fraser (catch and release) only for the guide to find the fish then have netters come and net the said fish right in front of them!! The netters would have got bugger all for em and don't put a great deal of dollars back into the economy, yet you have a guide running a business putting thousands into the local economy and the fish being released. Much the same as the scenario with many of the beaches from Fraser Island south too!

With the current Snapper debarcle that is happening I believe the best way to manage the fishery would be bigger size limits eg. 40cm, and also have a maximum of one or two fish over say 75 or 80cm in your bag of 5, big snapper aren't good eating anyway!

No one should be criticised for fishing within the law and catching what they are allowed, as long as they don't then waste that fish! That is fair in my books, no one who fishes is successful every trip, thats why they call it fishing not catching!!

Anthony

Nagg, that's right your fishing practices are a PERSONAL choice! Others have the same CHOICE to make. It's their choice to make without a religious like berating from you. If current laws are not sustainable then so be it argue that point with your local member, fisheries, sunfish or what ever. Oh that's right there would have to be evidence to change the law and that doesn't help you. Your choice is one on moral grounds not sustainability ones so it will not likely happen.
    Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

You are proposing that anyone who ever catches a good haul within the law is an evil doer?
    So what do you think about all the fish that people are eating this Christmas? Are they all bad too?
    You need to refine your overall philosophy on this issue mate, or do as Pinhead suggested. personally stop fishing to be true to your convictions

I think you have really missed the point of this thread, maybe go back to the beginning and re read it or look at the title at the top. Ideas for the future all i hear is you having a opinion on others opinions but not on the matter at hand, everyone is entitled to an opinion but what would your suggestion be to help the future of rec fishing or do you believe that this is a taboo area that if we cover our eyes and say there is not a problem or will be a problem then there is no problem