Thread: Fraser during School Holidays

Fraser during School Holidays

G'day all,
    Well the kids are getting that little older now & just pulling them out of school for a few weeks up on the island is quickly not becoming an option due to them being in High School.

So I am wondering what is the island like as far as numbers of people during the xmas school holidays? I am thinking the last 2 weeks in January or the April school hols.

Is it like peak hour at that time at places like Champaine Pools & Lake Mckenzie etc or is still doable so you get that remote feeling.
    We have been going during the last week of Nov - 1st week of Dec and it was unreal in that there didn't seem to be too many people around, especially Indian Head to the cape.

Gold Coast
    WWW.GCFISHING.COM

Re: Fraser during School Holidays

For what its worth (being from the West I can't say I'm an expert) but we were there end of Jan 2005 and I can't say it was a 'remote' feeling cramming into whatever camp site was left. Still worthwhile for our first visit, but we'll pick a different time for our next venture to Fraser.

Forgot to mention that we will be staying in a house
    Gold Coast
    WWW.GCFISHING.COM

I have done school hols with the kids in a house up there mate. It was certainly busy. Spent some time waiting for blokes on trails to get unbogged and assisting with that. Fun seeing so many people with no clue though...sort of adds to the holiday. MacKenzie's Lake was wall to wall half naked backpackers so its not all bad.

Boat: Seafarer Vagabond
    Live: Great South East....love Moreton Bay fishing

Went there around Easter time a few years back and wouldn't do it again anywhere near school holidays. Lake McKenzie felt about as remote and less attractive than the middle of Anne Street in the Valley at 5pm.

I have had a particular dislike for backpacker groups and those that rent them vehicles ever since.

I prefer to take advantage of long weekends and pull the kids for a day or so either side. We were up there at Kingfisher on the Sept school holidays just gone and the eastern beach on the saturday was like Edward St at 8am. Inland tracks weren't that bad, but certainly heaps busier than when we went over the Anzac long weekend. I agree about the backpackers in the troopies. Steer well clear of them. Make sure you get yourself off the track first, because they just won't do it properly. It's painful to watch and then they expect you to drive through half a car width.

G'day mate. I'm at Fraser right now camped on the beach just south of Eurong. It's busy over here at the popular spots but the beach isn't too bad. There's no one camped within cooee of us. We went to Mackenzie yesterday for a swim late in the afternoon after the tour buses had left and pretty much had the place to ourselves. Eli creek this morning was crazy busy. Gonna head up to indian head tomorrow for a look. We have had great weather this week and hope it stays until Saturday. Mate, I'm actually a teacher so school holidays are it for me!!
    Cheers, Ben.

If you want the "remote feeling" keep on driving north until you run out of people or campers, North of waddy is good.
    Humility is not a weather condition.

I have been doing Fraser with the family in September school holidays for the past 10 years and also had a plenty of trips in between with mates outside of school hols. The crowds certainly can be a problem in the more popular spots but this inspired us to find our own spots to enjoy.

We head for Wyuna creek with the kids rather than Eli as even just parking at Eli is ridiculous on school hols. Wyuna is small but the water is clean, fresh and shallow and great for a dip, plus there is usually a good gutter close by.

Try lake Birrabeen as an alternative to Mackenzie, the track in can be a biatch (cost me a sidestep last year) and this limits the bus and troopy traffic but it is just as scenic as Mackenzie without the crowds.

Also once you get past Indian Head the crowds drop off significantly and a trip to the cape will always give you that remote feeling.

Moon point is almost always quiet and I have had days over there without seeing another car, just need to time your travel on the tracks to avoid the traffic that heads to and from the barge landing point. I think it arrives at 9am and 4pm so if you get their before 9 and leave after 4 you won't even see other vehicles on the tracks either.

Unfortunately Wathumba is starting to get really popular and it is scary to see how many people swim in this little estuary, I think it won't be long before we see a shark bite story come from this area.

If you feel really energetic try the walking track from the back of Orchid to Platypus bay. It is a big day with lots of water required but well worth the effort and you're almost guaranteed to be alone except maybe for a few longer range boaties.

Get yourself a copy of dirty weekends fraser island edition and you might be surprised just how many hidden delights there are on this island that you have driven past before.

The biggest problem I have found is general beach driving with lots of people who are probably experiencing their first trip off the bitumen and kids (and parents) that have no idea that you can't hear cars over the sound of the surf. This makes my general travel slow as I slow down everytime I see a kid on the beach, but not everybody is so understanding and you end up with angry drivers frustrated at the crowds speeding past family groups which is a recipe for disaster. Relax people your on holidays......

Good luck and have fun just remember the police are alot more active on school holidays performing regular breathalisers and speed checks up and down the entire island and through the tracks.

Kev

Thanks Kev.
    Luckily we were able to work it out to get on the island for 2weeks in the last week of November 2011, so we'll miss the crowds this year.

The kids are getting a bit older & are starting highschool so it starts to get a bit harder planning holidays.

I have a copy of the dirtyweekends Fraser edition. They are great books to have to plan trips with.
    Gold Coast
    WWW.GCFISHING.COM

I don’t like crowds.
    So for past couple of years I have rented a house a Tin Can for the week before Easter. This year its 2 weeks before so it will be REAL quite.

The houses are cheap about $300 - $400 PW. Camping ground is even cheaper!

I usually get a house close to the marina so I can leave the boat in the water @$20/day and walk to it each time I want to go out.

We then do day trips to the creeks, west side of the island etc and home for a warm shower at night. Keeps the whole family happy.

It’s our way of doing a relatively cheap week in the Sandy Straits.

What other people think about me is not my business: Michael J Fox.