Thread: Trevs and Tailor a-plenty

Trevs and Tailor a-plenty

Gidday all!
    After not being able to wet a line for what seems like ages I finally managed to head out and what a great afternoon it was. Took a coupla mates down as well and we had a session that we'll not forget in a long time.
    I got to our spot about 20 mins ahead of the other two, did a bit of prospecting with a swim bait but no takers... until I reached the other side of the groyne. First cast into the drink and BANG! a solid hookup on a little 2000 Tierra on a IM& Dropshot Tournament Pro. Managed to get a nice little trev up the rocks unhook and cast out again. 2nd cast and the rod nearly gets reefed outta my hands. I'm wondering if my 10lb mainline and 12lb leader are gonna hold. zzzzzz zzzzzzz zzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzz something down there is shaking it's head saying "hahaha Jimbo, you brought a knife to a gunfight!" locked up the drag as tight as I dare but this torpedo is still stripping line like mad. Eventually PING! and the line snapped above the leader and knot- musta found a rock to rub me off on.
    "Bugger this" I thinks to myself, "time for the heavy artillery!"
    My Tierra 4000 got smashed while I was fishing a few weeks ago, hooked onto a solid kingie and the pin holding the handle onto the reel came loose and I ended up with a kingie peeling line of a reel and the handle in the other hand! My good housemate lent me his Okuma Epix with 20lb braid, and after being smoked by a few kingies I decided to go with 60lb Black Magic leader.
    So....
    Tied on a 30gram silver slug and just as I'm about to cast out Rob and Toolbox (that's what we call him, dunno why though) arrive. By the time Rob's rigged up and come over the the rock I'm on I've managed to land 4 trevs! Toolbox ties on a 50gm raider and hooks a PB greenback on his second cast! While he's unhooking his greenback, I nail the one in the photo! Rob's got a wind knot on his first cast, cut it out and trying to rig up with shaking hands and lots of cursing and swearing... We're laughing at him- toolbox nails an even BIGGER greenback (4.5 - 5kg EASY) Rob swears some more, finishes rigging up and gets a second wind knot in two casts.
    We piss ourselves some more while catching more trevs. He's thinking about getting new friends at this point. To add insult to injury we're getting him to photograph our fish while he's trying to re-rig. Rob's sorted out and re-rigged, hopped over and cast out ... third wind knot in 3 casts. Toolbox and I are crying with laughter, we rename Rob "The Knot Whisperer" Rob's renamed us "Can'ts"or something that sounds similar over the wind and waves..
    All the while we're getting into some decent tailor, trevs, baby queenies and even a dart that took aliking to a small slug. I threw out slugs, swimbaits and even a popper- EVERYTHING was fair game. At one stage of the game I threw out a swimbait and before I could even close the bail arm line was being reefed off my reel.... If the water had been clearer I reckon they would have been jumping outta the water to nail the laures before they landed!
    The knot-whisperer has rerigged, toolbox and I are taking bets whether Rob's working up to a Michelle with his wind knots... Rob's not talking to us now and has his earphones in. Rob's tied on a 80gram Raider with some of my 60lb leader and is looking like he means business. Out he casts and toolbox and I groan- no wind knot! Oh well, a hat trick is still something to be proud of, we reckon.
    half way through Rob's retrieve he's on and it a decent fish! After a decent fight the Saltist wins over and we get some colour, no way! That's too big to be a tailor!! Holy cow! Rob's first Kingie and it a beaut fish. Manage to get it up the rocks and Rob's stoked. His first Kingie and it's a pearler! Hi 5's all round and even toolbox's labrador is barking it's head off congratulating Rob.
    For the next 2 hours we had a session like never before. 3 mates, lotsa fish and heaps of laughs.
    Does n't get much better than that!

Jimbo

Re: Trevs and Tailor a-plenty

Love that adrenaline rush good fun Ian.

That's one of the funniest reports I've read for a long time!

But it's all so true though, isn't it. Every man for himself when the fish are on.

Jimbo

That had me laughing, cheering and crying at the same time. Classic report and sounds like absolute gold. Great time, but better with mates - especially with some p1ss taking at the expense of one (except when it is you).

I think we all know the feeling of trying to quickly retie a quality knot with the hands shaking as your mates are into the hottest session of their lives and you don't want to miss one second of it.

thats gold jim, rippa story cant stop laughing, congrats on the good fish. the water looks pretty dirty alright.

well done

brett

Cheers all, went down this morning for another hot sesh! As I pulled into the carpark the "Knot Whisperer" pulled up next to me and we headed off for a ripper little sesh. I think he was trying to get a sneaky sesh in without me but as we were both thinking the same way we coincidentally pulled into the carpark at almost the same time. Rob's been down to the local shopping centre and stocked up $100 worth of slugs- he's heading off to fish Quobba Station in W.A. on Boxing Day. Lucky farker!!
    We both got into some nice greenbacks, mine went 68cm and Rob's came in at 65cm. Inbetween rain squalls we managed to get into some trevs, baby queenies, I got a juvenile amberjack (about 50cm) on a 4" swimbait and 3 kingies- largest went a shade under 65cm D'OH!
    Managed to scream home, get changed and now I'm just about to start work.
    Hospitality sucks, we work when everyone else is having fun...
    Tight lines all.
    P.S. If anyone's down the Tweed for holidays, come into the Ivory Tavern and ask for Ian, nice to meet some of the ausfish fraternity...

Keep em coming Ian. You might have a few more friends tomorrow!

Yeh that water is pretty dirty huh? I was up at the point the other day and it was certainly a sight seeing the field of dirty water funnelling out from the mouth. Sounds like fun!
    Last edited by goat boy; 11-12-2010 at 08:50 PM. Reason: edit
    Vegetarian - Ancient tribal slang for the village idiot that can't hunt, fish or ride.

Yeah, but it was n't at my usual spot............
    ha ha ha ha, sorry boys!

ok well your on the south wall......alot of dirty water...ballina??

You should be a detective wayno.