Thread: Illegal paoching scum caught

Re: Illegal paoching scum caught

I'm a tad confused.
    Old matey got strung up because he mentioned some names in the initial post.
    Well I have done a bit of research (that means I googled shark fin soup) and the ethnic group that use shark fins to be made into soup is Chinese so the chances are Therapy was close to targeting a generic name I reckon.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shark_fin_soup
    The chances of the poachers been named Patti O'Shannesy or Bobby Sue Ray or Engelbert Humperdinck or Nana Mouskouri would be pretty slim.

We all know which ethnic group is responsible for the taking of shark fin so why not say it??

Besides the way I too detest waste. Fishing this magnificent animals for a couple of fins sickens me.

Why don't they take the whole shark as it all can be eaten??
    Money. Pure and simple.
    You can pack a lot of fins into the area a whole shark carcase would take up.
    So why should we, as a nation, put up with it??
    We shouldn't.
    Make examples of this lot and let the world know we mean business.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

A few year ago I came apon a guy, who's business was shark fins. He bought them from commercial fishermen and dried them before exporting them. I had a look at his setup and there were heaps of drying fins there. He wasn't of asian origin - Italian from memory, but that is not relevant. He was being affected by the GBRMP closure, so was thinking of moving his operation to one of the pacific island where shark fins were more plentiful.

We are all brainwashed today, I have come to the conclusion that if one individual of a race considers a remark non racist then the remark cannot be racist, no individual can be held morally responsible for the lack of basic rational/emotional competence (low EQ) exhibited by any other individual.

My Family history means i have some rag-head in me harks back to the camel herders of our outback I understand....me in my offshore arafat and aviator sunnies on and many can be forgiven if they check twice for waste line bulges .

I think we need to get a grip, understand that the racism call is all about political power first and foremost and not to mention the very often first port of call for those low in character.

Sticks and stones will break my.......where has the good character voices of the people gone this last 20 years??????

The chances of the poachers been named Patti O'Shannesy or Bobby Sue Ray or Engelbert Humperdinck or Nana Mouskouri would be pretty slim.

What a crack up Finga.

What about Chicken Noodle soup,all those Chickens without noodles ! This thread got a tad serious for a fishing forum,had to inject some humour on a Saturday arvo after mowing the lawn.

PS
    I also think it is wrong, that anyone cuts off a Sharks fin and discards the rest.Especially whilst illegally fishing in somebody else's waters.

Giffo

Therapy, dont hold back mate....... see this is the difference in Africa, poachers caught killing bull elephants for their tusks, or rhinos for their horns get shot....australia= slap on the wrist and told to go home...australia has to wake up.

A bit of lighter interlude. Meet this bloke who was of asian decent. Nice guy called Alvin, but had the nickname Bong. Years later we were at a gathering and someone found out that this guy was named Alvin but was nicknamed Bong by others. Well they went off on a rant about stereotyping and racistism and called us all sorts of names. All the time Bong is trying not to laugh. When the rant ended, Bong annouced he got the nickname because he was a conehead in his younger days and love smoking grass. We all nearly died of laughter - couldn't believe so many eggs can fit on one face.

Quote Originally Posted by Big Deez View Post
    As for what is and isn't racist, perhaps white Australians shouldn't be making the call. The original post mentioned some generic and funny (to some) Asian names. Now if a Chinese person found that offensive, then its racist. This also shows how little the originator of this post knows about the problem - not many chinese fishers in northern Australia, most likely Indonesian.
    I wonder what they call us for allowing them to rape our seas illegally and when caught we give them a complimentary plane ride home??

Sad thing is if we call someone from another ethnic group something (anything) it's a racist comment.
    If they call us something we apparently deserve it and sticks and stones will break my bones but names will never hurt us.

God I hate political correctness.
    It's ruining this great nation.

I remember a thread in the boating section ages ago about winches.
    Now a friend of ours (frogbat) called the people with dark skin from the island where she and my cook (they're good mates) came from as a kanak.
    Well a member called her racist and jumped up and down.
    I showed the cook and her reaction was total laughter.
    She called the poster a touchy feely know it all w@nker.
    Apparently the kanaks had to have a bit of a ding dong battle with the whites to be able to be collectively called kanaks and that was their wishes.
    The poster accused frogbat of been racist where it was actually him who was the racist.
    W@nker.

Bloody entertaining post. Just what is needed on a rainy Sunday in Brisbane. Bloody sky is as black as a n
    Sh*t better not finish that senrence on this thread.
    Hey Finga,
    Hope Leslie Dam is fishing well , just picked up a brand new boating package and am heading your way.
    Cheeers All,
    Shawn,

Quote Originally Posted by Freshwater Tragic View Post
    Hey Finga,
    Hope Leslie Dam is fishing well , just picked up a brand new boating package and am heading your way.
    Cheeers All,
    Shawn,
    Now that's great news.
    WHEN????

Now that the personal attacks and profanities have been deleted, my suggestion is that some may need to refresh themsleves with the rules of this site.
    This is a "G" rated site and personal attacks are not tolerated.