-
Ausfish Addict
wet a$$ but worth it
put some pot out in the sothern bay yesterday will my youngfella...left them soak for about 1/2 hr and did a check and got 5 keeper sandies out of them...left them out overnite...went out this morning around 6 for a fish as the youngfella was keen as for a fish got out to the back of coochie and it looked bloody terrible..i give him the option of pullin the pots and going home or a quick fish then get the pots and go...he opted for the fish first so off to the pelican banks for some whiting...we pulled up and the sky really opened up and it pissed down ....we fished for a couple of hrs for 25 average diver whiting 23cm or over but threw heaps back around the 20cm mark..we pulled the pin an went and pulled the pots we got 25 keepers...even though we got soaked we had a good day out with a great feed..
cheers rosco
Last edited by rosco1974; 05-12-2010 at 02:30 PM.
Reason: pic
-
Free Membership
Re: wet a$$ but worth it
Nice one Rosco!!
Have done the same on the Maroochy today, got 2 nice muddies no fish and soaking wet!!! But had fun and have got a feed for our troubles.
-
Nice one Rosco, I'm thinkin of heading out tomorrow for much of the same.
You've given me insperation
-
Ausfish Addict
Good going there Rosco. With rain all round do you mark floats with the GPS?
What pots do you use, I only have the muddie style pots and interested to know which pots work best. Obviously yours work, got a pic?
-
Ausfish Addict
will post some pics tommorrow...i use crab n gear top lift pots as well as another type i have just started using...the new pots catch alot better than the crab n gear pots... they are $50- $65 a pot......
nah i dont mark on a gps as the spot i crabbed is a small area and easy to see your next pot...some only 15mtrs apart..good area that i havnt crabbed for 5 or so yrs but still holds good crabs
cheers rosco
here is a pic of the pots i use.the blue 1 is the best pot and the other pic is a crab n gear pot...these are the only pics i could get to upload
-
Rosco,
Top effort on the crabs. I was interested to hear how precise you are with the spots. Although I do OK, maybe I'd do better if I reused marks that have produced rather than just dropping in the general vicinity and hoping.
Thanks for sharing your insight (as always),
-
Mate thanks for your help!!
Nice feed there my friend enjoy!!!
The youngfella would have been chuffed getting wet is all part off the fun I reckon as long as it isnt blowing to hard.
Ropes are ready to go ill let you know as it all unfolds.
Cheers Axl
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Nice to hear you got a feed despite the weather mate.
Enjoy
-
Ausfish Addict
dave ,
i have some spots around green that i set to my gps marks..i have 1 string of pots i do at green that nearly always produce crabs when i set pots there.most of the time i have set markings mostly beacons and land marks i run my pots to...on the weekend it was a place i use to crab bout 6 or 7 yrs ago out of a 12ft tinny..was good to get a feed from there.
axl,
you know where i got them so u better get a feed for your missus,good luck,was alot of whiting on the pelican banks.the youngfella got 20 out of the 25
scott,
send me a pm and will let u know where i got them mate
cheers rosco
-
Ausfish New Member
When are we goin out rosco? Me an lochie are keen to help ya catch an eat a few!
-
Ausfish Addict
hey koogs,did lochie get any muddies,if i get some on the weekend will drop a few over for you and lochie to eat