Went out for a quick fish last night for a few hours and managed to pull this in. Anyone else caught them in the nerang river before?
dont think its a sweetlip, maybe a Morwong
Ive seen them called Painted Sweetlip before...when the supermarkets try and flog them off...wht sounds better...Painted Sweetlip or Morwong
Nice fish...good catch
Mrs Benno1
Sunny
It,s a Mother-in-law, tastes like shit.
I would call it a nigger bream (blubber lip bream) but it is related to the painted sweetlip. Not as bad on the chew as people say. I have caught one but fairly rare in the nerang i reckon. Thanks for postin.
grants guide: blubber lip bream/brown morwong/ brown sweetlip. Personally i would say a slatey is better than a blubber lip both are edible but certainly not rated.
sorry mate wrong approach on my behalf, good on ya, not sure 100%, possibly Morwong but either way you look stoked and that is what fishing is all about.
Marty
Where I come from you get them up to 6-7kg,they are not a Slatey,they are a Blubber lip and yes I have tried them as they look like a pretty edible fish but they stink when you cook them and like I said, they taste like shit, especially when theyre are so many better eating fish around unless you like the taste of Silver Drummer, Carp etc.
Hi buddy yes caught them before around the bridges.
Yes, Ive caught them around Paradise Pt. They taste like bream, better than most people say.
Fishing- It's only an addiction if you're trying to quit.