Emu Park Boat Ramp Needed - Page 3
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Emu Park Boat Ramp Needed

Re: Emu Park Boat Ramp Needed

Quote Originally Posted by jtpython View Post
    The wife's uncle Tommy
    Ah, so you are connected!

I also remember the old Oceanus.....the guy that owned that lived in Emu Park but can't remember his name.

My old man was good friends with Alfie. I remember sitting in the engine room of the second Fiesta staring at the twin Gardner 6LXB's.

Actually can't remember now if they were 6LX's or 6LXB's but I do remember the Oceanus has a single 8L3B.

Billie Edminstone was her father he owned it with Tom originaly before they had a falling out then Bilie bought the Saramoa
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

Ausfish Platinum Member ifishcq1's Avatar

I did lots of jobs for Billie and a fair number of rooves around the park
    the only bloke I know that could drink rum till he couldn't walk and then find Douglas with a compass he was flat out seeing and find the fish any time
    any firm time yet Bombie?
    IFISHCQ2

Lol as the stories go Lynchy . He just getting very old now mate . Wish he would have shown me a few things many many years ago . Forgotten way too much now. The old pics of the fish they use to get were amazing
    VHF CHANNEL 21

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

Scott as for last talks with Mayors office, still Mon 20th @ 8.00am will keep updates on site.

The "Oceanus" was owned by Ron McDougall

Hi Team after some negitive feedback from Rocky Council (surprized ...NOT) we are holding a public interest meeting next Thursday 16th @15.00hrs at Fishermans Ramp with whoever from the media we can get to attend .If local please Attend .Cheers ...Scott you should have E-mail
    Last edited by BOMBIE; 10-12-2010 at 06:49 PM. Reason: date left out

cheers will let a few people know

I've been biting my tongue for a week or so now in an effort not upset a few ppl, but I thought why not throw my two bobs worth in because its really got under my skin.

I live in Emu Park and DON'T want a deepwater ramp at Fishermans beach. I believe the coast does need a second deepwater ramp, but it should not be be in the main street of a small township to service boaties from Rocky. Do you see the council putting a boat ramp in the populated part of Victoria parade in Rocky and turing the mall into a carpark for it??? It will ruin the iconic fishermans beach, that you guys seem to be reminiscing about.

It will only really service the needs of useless pricks from Rocky who don't/can't beach launch. There are plenty of local that launch around here with 2wd vehicles (my neighbor launches with a camry). The sand is hard as down here so its not really an issue.

There are 3 beaches to launch off and a new deepwater ramp at cooraman creek. Leave the main street of Emu Park alone!

Quote Originally Posted by choc_e View Post
    I've been biting my tongue for a week or so now in an effort not upset a few ppl, but I thought why not throw my two bobs worth in because its really got under my skin.

I live in Emu Park and DON'T want a deepwater ramp at Fishermans beach. I believe the coast does need a second deepwater ramp, but it should not be be in the main street of a small township to service boaties from Rocky. Do you see the council putting a boat ramp in the populated part of Victoria parade in Rocky and turing the mall into a carpark for it??? It will ruin the iconic fishermans beach, that you guys seem to be reminiscing about.

It will only really service the needs of useless pricks from Rocky who don't/can't beach launch. There are plenty of local that launch around here with 2wd vehicles (my neighbor launches with a camry). The sand is hard as down here so its not really an issue.

There are 3 beaches to launch off and a new deepwater ramp at cooraman creek. Leave the main street of Emu Park alone!
    Thanks for your thoughts with 2200 mostly locals who signed the petition democracy counts ,but if you wish come down and voice you thoughts so councillers can here all sides.I too launch there on occasions , bit of a pain with 5.5mtr at low tide but why are we too NOT entitled to some decent infrastructure in the growth area.

I remember launching the hobie down there once. A boat came in and this dude backs his 2 wheel drive back until the water was lapping over the sills. Loads the boat and out he drives sweet as. I said to the young bloke thats gotta be a work ute couldn't possibly be his own. I can see your point choc-e but with the beach so flat a bloke with a big boat would have to back back until the water was lapping his door handles to be able to float on. But I dont know if it would be any different even with a ramp though at low water.
    THE POOR MAN ALWAYS PAYS TWICE

Your right Mango, I launch both my boats locally with a tractor and I doubt that even with a ramp at Fisherman’s beach there will be enough water at low tide. The only place there will be enough water at low tide will be something like the harbour or a creek.

Well done on getting 2200 signatures on the petition Bombie; I doubt very much that they are locals though. A petition is not a democracy, a democracy lets people vote. The petitions were at the service stations for months, I’ll bet my left one well over 50% of the signatures on that petition come from people that don’t live at Emu Park and the majority signed at the servo on Hartley St by Rocky boaters getting fuel before heading down to Coorooman creek. I don’t really believe that the signatures on your petition give your cause any momentum.
    I am still bemused by some of these comments. Emu Park isn’t a growth area and if it was, wouldn’t the residents be entitled to some of the infrastructure that Rocky residents are accustomed to? Such as kerb and channelling which over 50% of Emu Park doesn’t have, recycling collection and some overtaking lanes between Emu Park and Rockhampton.

Think long and hard about what you are proposing. On a flat day in school holidays, there are hundreds of cars all over Roslyn bay. Imagine that influx of cars and trailers, combined with the cars of families having picnics at Bell park parking all over the street in the centre of Emu Park. It would ruin the parking for festivals and the like and fill up the neighbouring streets. I believe you haven’t considered this and all you seem to care about is being able to launch your boat closer to Pelican or Humpy Islands without getting your car wet.

I don’t intend on showing up to have my say, to be honest I think you are wasting your time. If the concept ever does come close to fruition, I’m sure I will join the many others that will put in structured written objections to the proposal. I won't be putting together an argument based on a petition with 2000 odd signatures of people that don't live in Emu Park and a comparison to a tunnel in Brisbane.

I belive the only posistion fesible is The Haven for any deep water. And would be better suited for area's to park and weathered well
    VHF CHANNEL 21

I belive the only posistion fesible is The Haven for any deep water. And would be better suited for area's to park and weathered well
    I too believed that Haven was a better option cause it is deeper, but when I did see the "plan " drawn up by another local it made good sence .
    As I have previously stated I too put in with my 4wd (why),but do not just go to closer Is, I simply do it because it is a pain in the arse to go to RBH anytime in daylite hours to find a PARK and I have seen as many as 22 vessels waiting to retrieve in that harbor.

At No point is here any mention of parking on E/P main strs. As locals also I only want to improve the place NOT F--K it. I personally dont give two flying f--ks what Rocky gets, only what the coast SHOULD recieve.
    The planned causeway is part of the Parking solution with other areas of the existing park to be restructured.
    I personal have been working/thinking of this for 10 yrs+ & are including E/P as part of CQ growth,(as we get told) dont you think that with any infrastructure it might bring more recigination to the area thus inhancing the probibility of MORE infrastructue comming?. People are intitled to object ,but ,then what happens,? as per usual we get nothing!!.

The petition was put in every servo,bait & tackle shop on the coat and at C/guard in RBH to get a coverage for what most of the local boaties wanted! So we dont have have to put up with only ONE truly ? deepwater Ramp in this region ,, again WHY. As we do have most registered vessels per capita in the state!!, I think that we too are intitled something decent in this region?.
    The petition was recently tabled in parliment by Hoolihan with the t/port minister then asking us to contact the RRC for support, thus leaving us where we are at this time..Unless someone else would like to come up with ANY ideas to put a Ramp on the coast ??

Where is The Haven?