Thread: Delayed Lakefield/Kalpower Barra October 2010 report

Delayed Lakefield/Kalpower Barra report - October 2010

Hey

Thought I'd throw a couple of photos up a recent trip to Lakefield and Kalpower where we managed to snag a few Barra in late october. In 3 days we managed about 25 barra ranging in size from just legal to a couple of nice ones around 14-16lb size. It was hot during the day but they were biting so it was worth it. Also managed a couple of pigs on Kalpower too. Always a great surprise.

Pazz

Re: Delayed Lakefield/Kalpower Barra October 2010 report

what a great place love the pics mate

awsome place mate did you dog the pigs or shoot em ? you boys up there are spolit haha

Hey Craig

It is an awesome place, pitty about the floggin it cops though. In a few years nothing will be left, there are that many roads and that in the park nowdays.

We got the pigs shooting. Managed to pick up 5 or 6 out of a mob so we were happy with that.

Pazz

Gday Pazz , great spot !! ...We camped at Kalpower crossing on the way to capeyork.. Got a couple hog pics in the NP.

Jesus Scott, they are good shots (picture shots that is). What lagoon were you on in those ones? That's a big boar that buggar. It's very hard to hold back on the park. They seem to know too that you can't shoot them.

The ones on Kalpower have been shot at heaps of times and they don't hang around long.

Pazz

The mob was just across the road and down a bit from one of the rangers house and the boar on his own was across from white lilly lagoon (think) , I had the wind blowing straight at me and drove up within about 80 mtrs , I got a nice rest over the mirror with the Nikon "should have been the weatherby" and click.

The one near the ranger's station I think will be new laura station which is the 6 mile waterhole or the 12 can't remember.

Never been to white lilly lagoon, well probably have when I was a kid, but I mainly go around mt jack etc.

Pazz