-
Brissie squire nursery
Just been for a flick down the river. I wanted to get into a few squire for a bit of fun and try out a new snapper stick I won in the Brisbane river Classic. Well I found squire by the Truck loads at 30 -34 cm. If I squeezed a few tails I might have kidded myself a few were 35 cm . IT was fun tho on the lighter gear. managed 2 legals 36-37 but the little blokes were chomping their heads off. Funny tho watching the wake behind my boat, it still looks like there is a lot of fresh in the water. Wind was blowing easterly and straight into the river and made things fairly uncomfortable but I'm still glad I went. Cheers
-
Re: Brissie squire nursery
The squire have been scarce down the mouth Chief, good to see they havn`t totally deserted the place. Cheers Andrew
-
Had a few sessions like that Chief and what great fun on the bream gear....
What did the damage as far as plastics and heads went mate?
Mick.
-
Sounds like you had a top squire session today Chief.
You still catching them on those turtleback worms
Ive often thought about we should run a friendly comp using only 2 kilo line to see who can land the biggest fish.'
Cheers Brent
-
-
Nice one Chief. I met you at Comslie ramp launching the Noble, you came up and said Gday. I went out the mouth that day and brought home 10 Tailor. I did sound around for a while looking to see where the elusive snapper and threadies might hang out with no outcome. Are the squire throughout or only in 1 area? I dont want secret spots just some insight.
Marty
-
Hi Marty. They were spread along the wharves. You will find concentrated areas, Even better fish will hold together in an small area. When I find them I just keep working there until a ship wants to move in . Gee mate the Noble is one hell of a boat, You should be very proud of her.
-
I am mate, long time coming, pride and joy!Thanks Chief.
Marty
-
Marty... When chasing squire I don't always depend on the sounder. Trial and error are great tools . Once you find an area that holds fish it's always worth a shot and a possible place to call on. Funny enough you can have a corker of a day and the sounder reveals a completely different story.My theory is the fish hold close to the wharves and raid passing bait schools then return to safety. Thats why I tend to look for bait and not fish. There are a lot of these places through out the river. There is one place at the terminals that always holds fish and the only difference I can find is a 400 mm small rise in the bottom. I used to target squire like mad in the river but this year I've been side tracked on the small HBs. At least 2010 provided me with a PB river snapp you have to love the river
-
Nice day there chief. Have you targeted the squire at night on lures? I can only seem to get just under jew in the river at the moment, not that i'm complaining ,good sport on light tackle. Ben
-
-
Nice catch their chief, I would pack my tacklebox with turtlebacks if I could it's been a stand out plastic for me. I tend to find that most of the squire i have got seem to be around when the baitfish are going crazy along the wharves, its just a matter for me too give it time to get down abit then slowly bring it back with a few twitches here and there, those t-backs have a fantastic action through the water. Well Done chief I'd be up for the 2 kilo comp, 6 pack to the winner?
Tight lines. Mossy
-
Not quite the 80 but still good fight eh. They seem to be pulling a lot harder than last year or i am just using lighter gear but they have been pulling the plastics pretty hard for the first hit of late. Must be time for the hotter weather when the bigger ones seem to grace my boat but each year is always different. Good feed there for daylight hours. Cheers DD...
-
Cheers Dobson and Mossy, how do you find the new colours ??I brought some banana but haven;t tried them yet.
-
They are tops chief, got me that grunter bream.