Thread: Installing a centre console

Installing a centre console

Can anyone that has had experience installing one of these, please let me know? I am considering doing the same but would like some guidance from those that have done this?

I have 4.3m Seajay tinnie currently with pull-start tiller steer Evinrude 35h outboard.

Re: Installing a centre console

it will cost twice as much as you planned, make sure you bolt through to structure underfloor even if you need to weld that in.

Also try real hard to get the ratio right, position forward V comfort of ride V room/ease to fish differing styles.......never has anyone actually got it right on the smaller boats so you are free to wing it

yeah a couple of sort of obvious things to look for, as mentioned, how to attach the console, then steering needs to be fitted, will the console be close enough to lean back and pull start the motor, how are you going to run the cables, have you factored in the controls and cables, what about seats? all sorts of stuff needs to be looked at.

Thanks guys. I imagine I will need the following equipment:
    1. Console - with installation costs (welding)
    2. Steering kit
    3. Envinrude adaptor for steering
    4. Throttle controller with adapter to motor
    5. Not sure what ancillary stuff is needed

I have a timber floor with aluminium support struts so I should be able to runn the cable underneath.

Being a 4.3m boat, no where is to far to reach.....

G'day Bilo,

I'm doing the same thing ATM.

I ordered a Centre console from Bias$299 plus freight ($110), just waiting on the barge now.

A mate gave me the cables and helm and wheel, so saved a couple hundred there.

The remote steering kit for my motor cost $230 with freight.( Last one in Oz ).

I got a throttle control with cables off Ebay for $40 including freight.

Needed a small plastic ball link thingy. Screwed by Bootscene to the tune of $45 including freight. (I ll be more carefull where I order from in future, thats for sure.

I ,too, am securing the console to the floor (obviously) but not sure how yet. Prolly thru the wood and bolt it to the cross members. It'll just make the floor harder to get up.

My motor is an older Mariner/Yamaha, so parts can be a problem sometimes, but its in such fantastic condition, I just cant justify getting a later model. Hopefully it'll blow up or fall off. Then I WILL get a new 60HP Mercury MMMMMM

Before you splash out.....have a think about how much room you will loose.

a 14 footer realy is pushing the limit of viabilty.......I've got a 16 footer and realy I would not do it on a smaller boat.

tiller steer is realy the most efficient for space in that size in my opinion.

if you want to stand up have you considered a tiller extension and a bow rope.

Probaly the best thing to do is mock it up with a fridge carton cut down to represent your console.

Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.

I agree with Old Boot. In a small boat you want the space. Look at a small side console setup or stick with the tiller steering

Hi.

Also agree with oldboot. Have a custom designed console in my 4.2 Blue Fin and the lack of space for gear on the deck and cluttered floor is an issue. If I had my time again I would go tiller steer.

bb

Or leave the kids at home!!

Quote Originally Posted by Horse View Post
    Look at a small side console setup or stick with the tiller steering
    Is a side console easier / cheaper to install?

A side console would free up some room in the middle of the boat!

I think the others ave offered good advice above. Unless your hull is something special that you want to keep with all the updates to motor etc you still end up with a half baked CC and all the bits will cost you loads in money and time setting it up. Look on the boat for sale sites for something already done properly and witha motor with full forward controls.

On the smaller boats too much weight high and forward can create a very bad handling boat

If you do find one to buy make sure you take it for a test run to see how it rides and what space is really useful along with just how well the conversion was done as many are very average.

There was a bloke doing swing out side console which kept the space and was a pretty simple install. Really depends on your exact boat.

Setting up your existing tiller steer so it trims properly and with a tiller arm extension so you can move your weight about makes them a different boat.

Bilopete,

My boat is so wide, I cant comfortably hold the tiller and the gunwhale at the same time. Its also so deep that when sitting down, I cant see properly over the bow. (5 foot 10 in.)
    ( I bought the boat new and already set up, without being able to test drive it first) Sent to T.I.
    So a CC is really my only option. (except maybe selling it on Thursday Island )

I said before that I got the steering for free, but it turned out the helm was rooted. I also said I got the throttle etc assembly for cheap off Ebay.Also wasnt the correct bits. So I got a steering wheel and steering cablefor free.

It cost me (this week) an extra $400 for cables -a helm- and freight. If thats any help.

Standing up with a tiller extension is a real option......

If ya just want something to hang onto, some form of grab rail or standing frame might be the go.....neither would chew up the space or the money that a centre console would.

besides these plastic consoles are not very strong and in my opinion not tall enough to stand up at.

Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.

A 14 footer is not too small to put a console in, its just a compromise.

I did this a few years back on my boat, and most of the posts above have given you the information you need. For me, I went a side console for a few reasons:
    In a small boat walking around the console means you are shifting your weight closer to the edge of the boat and creating more sway - with a side console you walk up and down the centre of the boat and is more stable.
    A side console can be attached to the gunneles (sp?) and make sit stiffer, with less requirments for having very strong mounting to the sub floor (still has to be a good hold down to the floor, dont get me wrong)
    A side console also allows for an easier route for your cables/electrics rather than having to put them under the floor - simply from the console to the gunnel.

If you are handy with a few tools, dont rule out making it yourself - mines made from epoxy coated ply, sitich and glue seams (google it) so there are no screws to corrode. 5 years on, no problems at all - and it does have round edges and does not look like a timber box. This also meant I could make it exactly to the height I wanted it, not the height of the pre made console.

For me - steering a tiller steer boat with an extension tube is asking for trouble. I ended up on the bottom of my boat before the conversion when doing this, and was lucky not to go out of the boat completly - you dont want that when fishing on your own.

A console, even in a small boat will also make your boat seem more capable - as in you can stand to see the swell/waves better and adjust earlier if need be - but it does cut down on manouvability and fishing space.

Me - definately a side console, and I would not go back to tiller in a boat that size.

Adrian

A cousin has just taken the CC out of his 14-15ft brooker and couldnt believe the extra room he now has. Wanted a bit more weight fwd and got a factory windscreen, pair of comfy pedestal seats, made a dash and turned it into a runabout. Went out with him over winter and froze to death when it was a CC...good tinnie but as a CC there's nowhere to hide and find CC's pretty uncomfortable in general. Everyone has their own preferences tho. The difference in new fishing space tho is huge.