Thread: Quintrex Ally Trailers !!!! Urgent !

Re: Quintrex Ally Trailers !!!! Urgent !

Quote Originally Posted by the lump View Post
    wont the Gal bolts and washers eventually corrode the aluminium due to being dissimilar metals?
    As far as I understand zink is not all that far from aluminium on the scale and zinc is less noble than aluminium so it should take the brunt.

Aparantly stanless would cause more corrosion on the aluminium.

This is why we should be using corrosion sealers under all stanless fasteners in our boats.

you cloud probaly use aluminium bolts and nuts if you could buy them, but they would be as big as your head to get the same strength.

Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.

when the topic got bought up quiet some time ago when someone asked what ally trailers were like, i replied saying that everyone i have had come into the shop had bucket loads of cracks in them and i was not a fan! very very common problem!

Just a follow up to the story ,
    my dealer (JV Marine Braeside) at this stage have been excellent (touch wood) They've asked me to get the boat down to them & offered a loan trailer so the boat is not out action whilst they sort it out with Quintrex !! Cant complain about that , so credit where its due
    When I rang & told them & sent the pics ,they hadn't heard of this problem ! So now they're inspecting all Ally trailers when they come in & so far they've found another one with a similar problem. So it will be interesting to see how this plays out on Quintrex's part !!!

I was gettin the boat ready last week to tow it to melb back to JV & found a little more to contend with !! Got no idea how i missed this

[img][img][/img][/img]

To me it looks like the trailer has too much flex in it & the boat is pulling back against the winch post , thus causing it to crack ??

[img][img][/img][/img]
    They are putting another trailer under it today to get me back boating whilst they try to sort it out with Quintrex .
    So I'll pick it up Friday morn on the way down to phillip Island for a touch of saltwater fishin , or should I say boating
    cheers AL

Quote Originally Posted by tednted View Post
    Just a follow up to the story ,
    my dealer (JV Marine Braeside) at this stage have been excellent (touch wood) They've asked me to get the boat down to them & offered a loan trailer so the boat is not out action whilst they sort it out with Quintrex !! Cant complain about that , so credit where its due
    When I rang & told them & sent the pics ,they hadn't heard of this problem ! So now they're inspecting all Ally trailers when they come in & so far they've found another one with a similar problem. So it will be interesting to see how this plays out on Quintrex's part !!!

I was gettin the boat ready last week to tow it to melb back to JV & found a little more to contend with !! Got no idea how i missed this

[img][img][/img][/img]

To me it looks like the trailer has too much flex in it & the boat is pulling back against the winch post , thus causing it to crack ??

[img][img][/img][/img]
    They are putting another trailer under it today to get me back boating whilst they try to sort it out with Quintrex .
    So I'll pick it up Friday morn on the way down to phillip Island for a touch of saltwater fishin , or should I say boating
    cheers AL
    the way that support/gusset is welded on has caused it to crack there, very poor way to add strength it has made it weaker and I suggest anyone who has that style go and check it before its too late

watching any ally trailer threads as I am interested in building one, trying to find good points to build into the design so thanks for the thread

cheers Murf

Quote Originally Posted by dfox View Post
    Mate thats because there's two types of I beam alloys one is solid alloy the other hollow, no guess which one flexes , a few pics to compare, at first glance one could be mistaken for thinking there both solid alloy ... foxy
    Foxy in that pick of the very poorly drilled hole can you see the two layers? would never have thought they were rolled like that does that mean its also a diff grade (lesser) than the solid I beam? cheers for the heads up on that too

cheers Murf

Are they made in house by Quintrex or are they rebadged Dunbiers like the rest of theirs seem to be?

Holy crap Ted.....I hope you got good roof racks.....with that winch post you gona need em .

Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.

Looks like you got a Friday arvo trailer . That post is not even ally its bloody steel.

Quote Originally Posted by wrxhoon View Post
    Looks like you got a Friday arvo trailer . That post is not even ally its bloody steel.
    Thats right mate , the post & drawbar are made of gal steel
    cheers AL

Everyone has an opinion, I wonder how much they are worth ?

That's pretty dramatic tednted, are you winching the boat all the way or floating it on & just winching the last little bit?
    Why I ask is if you're floating on with just a little winching you could be causing huge strain on the post when you pull up the ramp and the back of the boat settles on the trailer.
    Alternatively if you're winching all the way does the boat slide freely on the trailer, will it slide off by itself at the ramp?

Either way it's a shocker of a crack, sure it happened at the weld but if everything's right that shouldn't happen.

Pretty hard to get a crack in the post like that from being pulled back.

Definitely a weak point in that post, and most likely caused by the weld at the back where the brace supports the post.

Mick.
    Check out my boat for sale in the classifieds

• 469 Stacer open Seahorse/Nomad
    • 50hp 4 stroke tiller Mercury
    • Heaps of extras, in top condition
      [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]