What do you fear when Boating ? - Page 4
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: What do you fear when Boating ?

Re: What do you fear when Boating ?

Have to agree with Ian,

Was coming back from 75klm out of 1770 when we started smelling that burning insullation smell. Thought we were a bit too far out to be getting somethying from the land. We stopped the boat and isolated the batteries. This was right on twilight and I had turned the nav lights on only 10 mins ago.

Didn't take long for us to find the port LED nav light had burnt out and the fuse (10amp) was still intact . There was no reason for this to happen it just did.

You get a new lease on life when this situation is occurring i.e WTF is burning !

Retired Honda Master Tech

Bananas
    Bring Out Another Thousand tragic

A full glassout coz the platey boys get revenge and pass me like im standing still hey Greg! !

I'm probably happily naive but I really don't fear anything. i worry about lots of things and with good reason sometimes but to actually fear something is another matter. I've been gut churningly scared a few times and have done a few things that I would now consider reckless.

To actually fear something is another matter entirely. I think if I ever come to fear anything with boating and fishing then it will be time to give the game away. I don't operate the best when under too much pressure so if I feared anything it would probably be fear itself.

when i had my signature with the blackmax, i used to fear it not starting until i worked out the blackmax knack and then i could get it going whenever i wanted to. now we've got the whittley cruiser i only fear a flat refrigerator battery or the ice all melting in the beer esky.

my main fear on a boat is fire though, last trip wifey sparked up the little butane can (asian noodle cooker style) stove on top of the metho stove with the choke flap open. next thing we had a fire going in the steel casing of the metho stove and she was running around flapping her arms in a panic. i took a little heat for the team and grabbed the butane stove, scoring a few singed arm hairs in the process, to chuck it out on the duckboard, unclipped and lifted the metho stove top and then chucked a wet towel on the metho tank to kill the flames. heart rates were raised and i had to have another beer.

Some idiot running up the arse end of the boat when towing to the ramp!

Jimmy

running out of beer

I fear hitting a submerged log or something and sinking in the Cairns inlet and going swimming with the Crocks ,Didn't have them in Brissie.

Geoff

That speed bump on the smooth driveway.....Thank Christ it is only the cat....

banning fishing on the reef...period

From Moby Dick....

Starbuck, the young first mate of the Pequod, is a thoughtful and intellectual Quaker from Nantucket.
    Uncommonly conscientious for a seaman, and endued with a deep natural reverence, the wild watery loneliness of his life did therefore strongly incline him to superstition; but to that sort of superstition, which in some organization seems rather to spring, somehow, from intelligence than from ignorance... [H]is far-away domestic memories of his young Cape wife and child, tend[ed] to bend him ... from the original ruggedness of his nature, and open him still further to those latent influences which, in some honest-hearted men, restrain the gush of dare-devil daring, so often evinced by others in the more perilous vicissitudes of the fishery. "I will have no man in my boat," said Starbuck, "who is not afraid of a whale." By this, he seemed to mean, not only that the most reliable and useful courage was that which arises from the fair estimation of the encountered peril, but that an utterly fearless man is a far more dangerous comrade than a coward.
    — Moby-Dick, Ch. 26

The wife when i get back home
    i want a bigger boat

Call Sign "In-Vince-able" VHF 72

the perfect storm. ................. really scared of really bad weather.BigE

Hey Andy, saw the results of one of your older club members hit by lightening over at the Sand Hills one Easter 30 odd years ago. Strike went down the Mast/Chainplates and blasted through the hull.On the way through it exploded all the stored food items in a locker on that side.What a mess. The crew were on shore at the time so no one was injured.Safely escorted home next morning with a patched up leak.But you are right, it is a worry. Hanging a piece of spare anchor chain over the side from the mast step might help. My biggest worry is unlit vessels at anchor or they may be travelling through congested water ways at speed with poor visibility.Have Fun Haji-Baba

Getting the anchor stuck on structure, with the new elec winch.