I G A $14.95 Kg.
Just wanting to find out the best times for getting prawns (tides, location, moon phase)in the south east?
Thanks, Hally
bit early for them, though I reckon with all the rain, the crabs and prawns should be good this season.
I wouldn't go IGA though. Morgans would be better.
With the forecast weather activity on the east coast for this summer I think the prawns will be almost denied a spawning run as normal in the rivers and creeks.
Whilst there will always be some, there will be shortfalls IMO.
The Pine river has flushed 4 times this year and forecast to flush yet again before Christmas. If that happens as predicted, the majority of SEQ rivers will do the same with full capacities in the dams currently.
In normal seasons though, I start prawning in the beginning of December and finish around April, depending on flushes. For me I take little notice of the lunar phases and concentrate in the last 1/2 of the run out in the areas I target.
I got some bananas last month. If you go to the right spots , You'll get some.
I found em up a little creek last week after some rain. One big one even jumped in the boat....
bottom half of the runout tide for me.
Fishing- It's only an addiction if you're trying to quit.
None showing in the Pine yet. I've had a look a few times - yet to get a single prawn. Tend to agree with Sandbankmagnet - it's a bit early. Normally start to pick them up after Christmas.
Cheers Freeeedom
Yeay, while I agree its a bit early yet. We know we wont see large schools of Big bananas yet.
I can tell you catergorically. My mate took the new tinnie out on the Pine about 2 weeks ago and said he was astonished to see the number prawns spraying at high tide as the fish were chasing them at- Deep water bend!. Says he saw 'em again in not so big numbers last weekend too.
Prawns = yummo
I concur, there are some BIG BANANAS amongst the smaller ones.
I went down the pine last week, in the hole behind APM and at crugers, did not catch a single prawn, but did also see a few jumping around. Will have another run at them in a couple of weeks, hopefully will do better then. I got some nice mullet for crab bait though.
Been watching the river trawlers over the last couple of weeks while I've been fishing the bream. They come up river just after dawn, drop their nets once they pass the freeway bridges and trawl around for about half an hour. Then they quit and head back down river - a sure sign that there are no prawns in the Pine yet.
Cheers Freeeedom
got a bucket the saturday before Xmas ( around the 15-17cm mark) and another half bucket on the Sunday.
It p----d down the following week and was all fresh.
Meant to get out today. Got caught up with a couple of blokes drinking and talking. Will try to get ut tomorrow arvo.
What about you mate?.