Wahoo and Dollies

Thread: Wahoo and Dollies

Wahoo and Dollies

Well went out for a short session on Sunday, as the weather looked like it would play the game. Got out early was in the water at 5:30am.Got to Hutchies at around 6:30 and started looking for the bait. Did not find much bait so starter trolling around some halco lures.
    Within the first 30min had one strike but lost it near the boat. After 3 hours of trolling landed 2 Wahoo and a good dory also got a good size king.

Will be out there soon looking for the big fish.
    Life is short fish hard!!!
    21,6 Sea Fox WA Pro ....

Re: Wahoo and Dollies

nice catch boys

well donr fellas where abouts in qld were you fishing?

Well done guys.

Sam.

Quote Originally Posted by byron_moses View Post
    well donr fellas where abouts in qld were you fishing?
    Hutchies. It is a little known reef area about 2.5 nautical miles north of the light house on Moreton Island, just north/east of Brisbane. You can see it on Google.............. but don't tell anyone about it or the place might be fished out.

Ausfish Gold Member

Hey Megabite what speed do you troll for those guys. I'm going to give it a go for the first time this summer. Good to see there here already too.

Nice work men

Where u guys in the orange/red Cruisecraft?

hi there mega bite
    how are ya

Thanks All,
    Almako - we were doing between 10-14km with HB halco lures,just look for the bait on the sounder then troll around that area.

GregP - no we were on a black and white Haines,did you get stuck into them aswell? What boat were u on?

Johnv - u need to get up this end some time to join us for a overnight trip,

21,6 Sea Fox WA Pro ....

Hi Mate, I wish I can catch some of those nice fish!!!!!! Good fish and nice pic's.
    Can I come with you on the next trip?????

Quote Originally Posted by Angla View Post
    Hutchies. It is a little known reef area about 2.5 nautical miles north of the light house on Moreton Island, just north/east of Brisbane. You can see it on Google.............. but don't tell anyone about it or the place might be fished out.

I thought it was like the Queen Street Mall on a good day . Gotta give it a go this year maybe????

Quote Originally Posted by MEG-A-BITE View Post
    GregP - no we were on a black and white Haines,did you get stuck into them aswell? What boat were u on?
    Was in the blue Fisher (Kajiki) with white hard top. Was mainly out there to fine tune a couple of new set ups on the boat for solo work this summer season but managed to get 6, kept 2 for a feed. Nice dollie you guys got - was that in the N/E corner u got him?

Got my last one late in the arvo (he took 2 lures at one time-greedy pig) just as Myles rocked in. He had the whole place to himself and I think it may have fired late arvo. Not much size in them but good fun.

Hi GregP
    Yep we got the dollie in that corner,hope the Wahoo start getting bigger,Myles said he got in there just a bit late said he did not get any.Johnny YT you can come with me any time you like just let me know,

21,6 Sea Fox WA Pro ....

Quote Originally Posted by timddo View Post
    I thought it was like the Queen Street Mall on a good day . Gotta give it a go this year maybe????
    It is you just have to dodge all the browsers!!
    21,6 Sea Fox WA Pro ....

Ausfish Platinum Member Midnight's Avatar

Good pics Wayne. Are you going to manage to get out this weekend over the New Moon?

Gday Greg, Sorry if I cramped your style there on Sunday arvo, I was just aiming for my starting marks there where all the good bait was. I thought I saw you stop there at one stage and wondered if you were hooked up.
    I will say Gday next time.

We only managed a couple of small Kingies. It was a very nice arvo and it is nice to share the Shoal with only one other boat or have it all to yourself.

I counted 32 boats at Hutchies at 0730 one glamour day last summer. I got the sh!ts with the traffic and went to the shelf haha

Myles