Thread: Seaprobe Kings

Seaprobe Kings

Another great day out with the seaprobe boys yesterday ,the weather was great with 5knots all day and some good cloud cover to save us from the sun . First of we headed of to the bait grounds to pick up some slimies and yakas and after half an hour we have heaps in the tank to go and tackle some kingies .
    Now out to the 50s we go in the comfort of gavs new boat a blackwatch 36 it is a beautifully decked out boat with all the facilitys you would expect on a boat of this nature ,. Now this time of year the bigger kingies move in so expectation was fairly high ,i usually fish with my 4500saltiga and an egrell s10h but today the deckie was saying it might be a bit light on and i said no problem lets give it a go well maybe i should have listened because first bait down i am on big time and this bloke was not going to stop till he rubbed my 80lb leader of on the bottom which is what happened .

So after learning that lesson we started fishing 4 rods at a time with livies and had a jig going over one side well to say we got smashed would be an understatment ,we landed 3 of the 4 fish which was great but at over 10kg they do run a bit rampant and try and tangle everyone up but a skilled deckie soted it out . I resorted to using my mates dogfight and boy did that put some hurt on them at one stage i felt like i was going to get dragged over the side but i am only a small bloke at 70kg ,most of the fish where over a meter and some up to 16kg . Also something that may interest some is that while i was using my mates doggie he was fishing with a TUFF TACKLE DIABLO 10000 and i must say he and myself where impressed by its ability but i guess the test of time will see how it goes ,but i think for the price unless you are hardcore jigging and doing it everyday i think these things might be the go for the average rec fisher but we will see i guess .

We had one nice king smashed by a shark as you will see in the pics it certainly made short work of it ,after bagging out on kingies we had to spend some time cleaning up and iceing the fish down so they would be all good to eat ,. Robbie bleeds them as they come on board then into the esky which ended up full then he gut and gills them and puts them on ice which is important unless you want mush . After the big cleanup [it looked like a murder scene ] we went after some snapper and mixed reefies which we got but nothing to rave about . We had another great day with GAV from SEAPROBE CHARTERS and it was great to meet some of the other regs that get onboard at different times ,thanks for a great dat out and watch out make sure your tackled up because these kings will bust you up if your not prepared ..thanks for reading MATT.

SEAPROBE CHARTERS
    GOLD COAST ph:0400312330
    A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......

Re: Seaprobe Kings

G'day Bluefin59,

Looks like Gav been working hard again for you guys, well done.

Good to see Huey (Still not sure on spelling his name m but you know who I'm referering to).

Another building crew RDO.

Nice going.

Cheers, Peter

Thanks pete ,gav always goes the yards to find the fish and knows when and where we are going to chase for the day ,we are itching to chase some blacks ,they cant be far away the water is all good and there is some substantial schools of bait starting to move in BRING IT ON. Ewan is always there he likes to be the star player for the day and is mad keen ,i am going down for a test ride on one of his hobbies tomorrow so it looks like i will get the yak addiction next oh well thats fishing i guess ...matt

Well done, again, Matt.

I'm hoping to go again as soon as possible, maybe next week. I rang Gav tonight (he told me to check out your post), and he reckons the big ones should still be around till the end of the month.

Brent.

bluefin59,

Yeah Matt, Gav always tries hard, no doubts there.

I still have to get Gav to bring my lure he was repairing, I caught 2 marlin on that lure, correction. on a similar lure but the colours are identical.

Would like to get another marlin if I can but cant afford to book the whole boat.

I need a few fellow fishos to fill the gap

Great to see a report on another class charter operater. If I ever want a charter on the Goldie, I know who I will be calling.

Yeah brent thats it ,i may see you out there i am sort of taking it easy at the moment i have just come of a big job doing big hours so i might kick back a bit till the new year because i think some good fishing is on the way . Bondy you will know when the blacks are here gav cant wait to get a few with the new boat ,his strike rate in summer is excellent and he is always looking for customers to make up a spot mate . Thanks for the input greg there is a difference between the operators down the coast ,me and my mate euwan having been chartering with a few different companies over 15 yr of R.D.Os and gav beats them all hands down for what we are looking for in a charter anyway ...matt

This post made my mouth water! Hopefully heading out on the weekend when my housemate is back from surfing Mentawai (reckons there were some big waves).
    Nice cap to the guy in the olive/khaki shirt ;-)