Nice work Dave.
I have been looking for a few positive reports for Maroon and you have just given me the incentive to come down.
Lee
Just thought id put up a quick report, been fishing the dam quite a lot over the last few months with only 1 or 2 fish a sesh. Took the girlfriend out thursday afternoon and to my surprise got bricked 3rd cast. Usually just use fly out there but decided to go with spin as it was quite windy. Ended up landing 4 with two going to the girlfriend (her 2nd and 3rd ever bass). Got a 37 to the fork which is not bad for maroon. Was using spinnerbaits but found they kept hitting the blade not the skirt as all the fish were hooked around there mouth but on the outside and got an insane amount of hits without hookups. Really regretting i didnt take a wider selection of lures. Got a fair few hits on surface fly in the last half an hour but couldnt get a hook up. Been having a fair few people come in the shop and give reports about how they couldnt get much out there going to go out there again tomorrow and see if it wasnt just a lucky day as its been months since i had a good sesh out there.
Also hit up moogerah on tuesday arvo with no luck but im not too familiar with the dam so could just be me and my lack of skills lol.
Will post up how i do tomorrow.
Chers, Dave
Nice work Dave.
I have been looking for a few positive reports for Maroon and you have just given me the incentive to come down.
Lee
Ended up getting back there on sunday, not as great as i had expected but still pretty good. Ended up getting 7 over 6 hours and there was a lot of boat traffic. Also headed to Moogerah again yesterday and managed to get quite a few little bass and an alright yellowbelly
Nice work mate, maroon is a great little dam i'll have to get back down there one of these days.
Cheers Kyle.
The whirlwind is in the thorn tree, and its hard for thee to kick against the pricks.
When you say "boat traffic" do you mean Ski Boats?
Last time i was there i was fishing a shallow weed bed and had ski boats cruising past within a few metres . Unfortunately it's such a small dam but it's a ripper when they are hitting on the surface.
My most productive lure down there is a shallow jerkbait to the weed beds - they key in on the lure on splashdown and smash it when twitched after a pause.....almost as exciting as surface hits.
Mick.
Yea ski boats everywhere, would have been around 8 on the water which is more then i have seen in a long time there especially considering its a small dam. Usually moogerah is the one full of ski boats