Thread: East of Moreton

East of Moreton

Went for a run with Matty(FTR) this morning. Expectations were not overly high on the waning moon but could'nt resist a midweek fish with the forecast. Fished the 29's,32's and 35's with benito strips and pillies. Not sure what those little brown birds are called but they cetainly make it difficult to get a bait down. We had to resort to throwing diced pilly in one direction as a decoy and your line in the other to get down past them.

Cheers Wal

Re: East of Moreton

There's a feed there any ways boys. Yeah those pesky birds r no good me and muzz had the same trouble yesterday. We caught and released about half a dozen, birds that is. Wayno

Its Mutton bird season

Retired Honda Master Tech

yeah they love soft plastics as well

Quote Originally Posted by jarhead View Post
    Went for a run with Matty(FTR) this morning. Expectations were not overly high on the waning moon but could'nt resist a midweek fish with the forecast. Fished the 29's,32's and 35's with benito strips and pillies. Not sure what those little brown birds are called but they cetainly make it difficult to get a bait down. We had to resort to throwing diced pilly in one direction as a decoy and your line in the other to get down past them.

Cheers Wal
    We were there today at Deep Tempest and those little birds certaintly made things difficult. I think they were Mutton Birds. A real nuisance they were,
    Duck

I had a girl on board who thought the birds were cute as they paddled around the boat, occasionally dipping thier heads under water.

Thought of stuffing one or two myself, they would make some kid a nice fluffy toy.

Make sure you remove the petrol fin of the fingermark/ moses perch

The fisheries caught up with me last trip for not doing it, $250 fine

They gave us a warning

Quote Originally Posted by hakuna View Post
    Make sure you remove the petrol fin of the fingermark/ moses perch

The fisheries caught up with me last trip for not doing it, $250 fine

They gave us a warning

Cheers mate, Matty was onto it. I reckon the size of the fine is a bit harsh, it would be easy to miss one in a healthy box of fish.

Wal

They are cute til they eat so much berley that you want to start throwing sinkers at them (I would never really throw sinkers at them but they are trying at times). Also know as shearwaters.[ATTACH]sum[/ATTACH]

yeah I wouldn't throw sinkers at them neither, not with the cost of lead. But scalem got the right idea stuffed they would make a nice waterproof toy. lol Wayno

good on ya Wal for getting a few for the esky. we got pestered by the little kamikaze birds also. Cheers Muz

i had a thought of tethering one to the outboard as a warning to the others but i really dont think that would stop them

Why do you have to cut the fins on them? Witch other fish do you have to do it to ?

Quote Originally Posted by salty holty View Post
    Why do you have to cut the fins on them? Witch other fish do you have to do it to ?
    cause you'd be fubar with a big fat fine.
    jokes aside its the law (suppose to stop the black market??)
    all coral reef fin fish need a fin cut off.
    (i guess we should all know before fishing but)

Size, take and possession limits - tidal waters

The following legal limits are effective from 1 March 2009 (except limits that apply to sharks and rays that are effective from 1 July 2009, and size limits for pikey and yellowfin bream, tailor and tarwhine that come into effect on 1 March 2010).
    Coral reef fin fish bag and size limits*
    Species
    Legal size (cm)
    Take and possession limit
    All cods and groupers
    38 min
    Combined limit of 5 in total of all cod species
    Cod exceptions

Blackspotted rockcod (estuary cod)
    38 min 120 max

Camouflage grouper
    50 min 70 max

Flowery rockcod
    50 min 70 max

Goldspotted rockcod
    38 min 120 max

Greasy rockcod
    38 min 100 max

Maori cod
    45 min

Barramundi cod

No take

Potato cod

No take

Queensland grouper

No take
    All coral trout
    38 min
    Combined limit of 7 in total of all trout species
    Coral trout exceptions

Blue spotted coral trout (Chinese footballer)
    50 min 80 max

All emperors
    25 min
    5 per species
    Emperor exceptions

Red-throat emperor (sweetlip emperor)
    38 min

Long nose emperor
    38 min

Spangled emperor
    45 min
    All fusiliers
    No limit
    No limit
    All parrotfishes
    25 min
    5 per species
    All surgeonfishes
    25 min
    5 per species
    All sweetlips
    excluding redthroat emperor (sweetlip emperor)
    25 min
    5 per species
    All tropical snappers and sea perches
    25 min
    5 per species
    Tropical snappers and sea perch exceptions

Rosy snapper (jobfish) and lavender snapper (jobfish)
    38 min
    Combined limit of 8 in total for both species

Chinaman fish

No take

Crimson seaperch (small mouth nannygai) and saddletail snapper (large mouth nannygai)
    40 min
    Combined limit of 9 in total for both species

Flame snapper
    38 min

Goldband snapper
    38 min

Hussar
    25 min

Green jobfish
    38 min

Paddletail

No take

Red bass

No take
    Red emperor
    55 min

Ruby snapper
    38 min

Smalltooth jobfish
    38 min

Miscellaneous jobfish
    38 min
    5 per species
    All wrasse
    25 min
    5 per species
    Wrasse exceptions

Humphead Maori

No take

Tuskfish (all species)
    30 min
    Combined limit of 6 in total for all tuskfish species

The 2009 coral reef fin fish closures are under review. See Closed seasons - tidal waters for details. In addition to individual bag limits for each coral reef fin fish species listed, they all have a combined bag limit of 20. Please refer to the Recreational fishing rules and regulations for Queensland: A brief guide (PDF, 532 kB) for more information. For a complete list of coral reef species access the Fisheries (Coral Reef Fin Fish) Management Plan 2003 at http://www.legislation.qld.gov.au/.
    print your self a bag and size limits of the net and keep it in the boat.

jp

Quote Originally Posted by Fish_gutz View Post
    good on ya Wal for getting a few for the esky. we got pestered by the little kamikaze birds also. Cheers Muz

was off the cape in swannys boat (ur old one) last week, even bent his ore choppin a few an there jus kept dunkin ha ha