Prado v6 detuned for hilux?

Thread: Prado v6 detuned for hilux?

Question Prado v6 detuned for hilux?

hey dudes ,just bought an '04 hilux with the 3.4l v6.

A mate of mine reckons that toyota detune these motors for the hilux because of the poorer than Prado handling.

What do you guys reckon?

And if it's true, how do they detune it? chip?engine mapping?other?

how do i un-detune it?

I hope no one has asked these questions already, i did a forum search and found no threads about it.

Thanks,
    adam.

Re: Prado v6 detuned for hilux?

The hilux got a lower shorter induction plenum to fit the motor under the bonnet - slightly more torque and a fair bit less power. If you body lift the 'lux you can swap plenums. Everything else is zaccary the same.
    TRD do a bolt on supercharger and 7th injector kit for the 5vzfe if you really want to go quick.

After all a prado is just a hilux station waggon with an independent rear and less ground clearance .

Try that one out on the next prado owner you meet.

Its the details, those little details, that make the difference.

Quote Originally Posted by GBC View Post
    The hilux got a lower shorter induction plenum to fit the motor under the bonnet - .
    I thought plenum was the stuff I hacked up in the morning and spat in the dunny bowl.
    But maybe I'm wrong.
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good