Should have stayed at home (Awoonga)

Thread: Should have stayed at home (Awoonga)

Should have stayed at home (Awoonga)

With a tough bite on the cards at Mondy I decided to give us the best chance of catching a barra by heading to Awoonga - plus it gave me another chance to have a look at this magnificent location.
    Lee & I arrived in pretty nice conditions - though with all the primo locations taken up along the waterfront - we had to settle for under a big fig tree (turned out to be a blessing) -
    So after a quick look around , we headed down to the main basin for a bit of a fish in a bay that had been fishing well ........ After a few casts with an X Rap , I picked up my new upgraded bradia / lucky craft combo and had my very first cast - then on the second cast I threw the outfit into the water after getting a tip wrap ... with a wallet and phone still in my pocket .... it was impossible to react.
    As you can imagine - the mood of the trip was just shattered. we tried to recover the rod but to no avail.
    next day headed out for a big day on the water ....... though with conditions changing from strong northerlies to southerly finding fish was a bit of a challenge - Attachment 62431 though I did manage a healthy 107 that took a modified black and gold 130 slick rig. Except for another couple of half hearted hits nothing much happened.
    That night night we were belted by a storm that hit from the north - causing a bit of damage to our tarp set up and having to deal with it in torrential rain at 2am.
    The following morning was cold as and so we decided to go have a hunt for some more fire wood ....... while we were out my camp chair got blown into our camp fire and was destroyed -Attachment 62432 Then on returning to camp to unload our wood Lee notices a small brown snake in a small hollow piece that I broke off a fallen tree ....... phew , we pushed it out of the car still in the log hibernating due to the cold (another camper put the log in the bush).
    As for the rest of the trip -Attachment 62429 Lee caught a 89 fishing a slick rig in the back of a wind blown bay ( also on a slick rig - 110) ....... I missed a strike on a decent fish that had a go at a rapala X Walk fished tight to heavy weed. I followed this up not long after with a hookup to a fish that took a small Jackall smash minnow fished down the back of a creek. Initially I said I may have had a big catfish on as it slowly swam towards the boat before coming up boatside with a big headshake & look before diving under the boat and out the other side ..... even with freespool this rather large 120ish fish just pulled open the light trebles (upgraded from standard to ST-56BCs) Attachment 62430....... you simply can't get away with lighter gauge hooks when you have a top and bottom hookset.
    We both missed a couple more fish on plastics - and Lee broke one of his spin rod.
    So all up ...... we had cool to cold conditions , strong winds with some nice patches of warm calm conditions in between - fished what seemed to be ideal locations , with fish sitting off some banks - transitional water - bays with plenty of bait ..... lantana which held fish - but just not good enough to take advantage of those opportunities............. there is so much too learn about Awoonga .
    Probably should have stayed at home ........ but then again

Re: Should have stayed at home (Awoonga)

Good read buddy. Wish me luck!
    (when Im dead) my biggest FEAR is that my wife will sell my fishing gear for what I said I paid for it.........

Ausfish Platinum Member warrior's Avatar

well done in those conditions chris least you were hooking and landing a few to keep you interested and keen

Yeh Al - I guess it does keep you keen when at least you are encountering fish ....... rather that any day

Quote Originally Posted by smoked View Post
    Good read buddy. Wish me luck!

LUCK! - fishing is tough , but the conditions are improving day by day at Mondy

Gday Chris ,,Funny story mate (although to you fella's maybe not so),But you can't catch fish sitting at home,,,Well done..

Cheers Baz

Quote Originally Posted by Barry Ehsman View Post
    Gday Chris ,,Funny story mate (although to you fella's maybe not so),But you can't catch fish sitting at home,,,Well done..

Cheers Baz

Deep down ...... I agree , - had some good moments though

Hi chris well done onthe awoonga trip that is to rods that lake has of yours now isn;t it i done a quick dash to mondy on thursday arvo fished most of friday dashed home no fish only heard of 2 caught there since then so you might of picked the better lake for the few days

shane

Thanks for the trip mate it was great.

Lots of good moments, other campers taking still photos of generators (wtf) and an "OFF TAP" camper, couple that with general common comments about that imported fresh water catfish "basa" you have a pretty good trip.

I think that Monday, today and probablly tomorrow will/would see good fish caught as the come on the chew.

I am glad i took the winter gear as I needed every bit of it.

I hate the cold.

Lee

Good read Chris and well done on you and Lee getting some fish onboard. It certainly came over cold everywhere. Disagree with you title though - I certainly would rather been where you were than at home. Know what it feels like to loose a brand new rod in the drink...heartbroken and annoyed! Hanging out to see what Awoonga looks like now but just can't get away unfortunately. - Richard

Must have been a shocker to lose that rig, and the chair looks dismal!
    There are more fish being caught now the water is warming up. I note some of the crew who had come up for a week or so to Mondy have now moved to Awoonga.
    At the ramp it's glum for some and glee for others, seems every second boat has got a fish over the past few days.
    Nailed my PB within half an hour, will put up a report.
    Good yarn that Nagg, would have been way worse with no fish.
    Awoonga sure is a bigger dam now
    Flatzie

thanks for the read, i'm heading up to awoonga tomorrow for the week.
    conditions look good. Sounds like you did well to catch fish in such tough conditions.

Quote Originally Posted by wilco View Post
    thanks for the read, i'm heading up to awoonga tomorrow for the week.
    conditions look good. Sounds like you did well to catch fish in such tough conditions.

Hi Wilco .... will send you a pm.
    Probably more strange than tough - we certainly had windows to catch fish and just didn't capitalise on them through not hooking or landing the fish ..... but still a couple of good fish put smiles on the dials ...... such a large body of water , so an extra week spent just looking would be advantagious.

Quote Originally Posted by leelee View Post

I think that Monday, today and probablly tomorrow will/would see good fish caught as the come on the chew.

Lee
    I hope so - we're heading back up today - till Sunday

Regards Scotto
    So Many Fish - So little time !

I Proudly support the following companies: Shimano, G.Loomis, The Haines Group, Scientific Anglers, Abel Reels, Lowrance

Quote Originally Posted by flatzie View Post
    Must have been a shocker to lose that rig, and the chair looks dismal!
    There are more fish being caught now the water is warming up. I note some of the crew who had come up for a week or so to Mondy have now moved to Awoonga.
    At the ramp it's glum for some and glee for others, seems every second boat has got a fish over the past few days.
    Nailed my PB within half an hour, will put up a report.
    Good yarn that Nagg, would have been way worse with no fish.
    Awoonga sure is a bigger dam now
    Flatzie
    Hi Flatzie

I really do believe that Awoonga fishes better in adverse or unsettled conditions being closer to the influence of coastal winds...... the fish dont seem to sulk as much
    With a few crews struggling at Mondy atm - the smart move was to head North for a day or 2 - I know that 3 fish were landed yesterday and another fish bricked another guy ....... so they certainly got rewarded.
    besides ...... Awoonga is a interesting place with these higher water levels - both the landed fish were taken in locations that I have never fished before ...... that's always pretty cool