Thread: Borumba Dam info please

Borumba Dam info please

G'day Ausfisher's
    Heading up to the dam on 30th for a week to try & catch my first Toga,,Any info at all on catching them the Bass & a feed of Redclaw would be very much appreciated.. Not sure how all this rain will effect things..

Cheers Baz

Re: Borumba Dam info please

We were up there about a month ago and got 20 redclaw over a few hours, any where around the structure and you will get them, i use tinned catfood and rockmelon.

Toga, well this time of year is hard for them as it is there breeding season, as they are mouth breeders they tend to slow down on the feed. You will still pick up the occasional one. We got a nice one on a Jackall Vibe up the yabba arm.
    Best of luck and persistence will pay off.

cheers Lee

Quote Originally Posted by lethal098 View Post
    We were up there about a month ago and got 20 redclaw over a few hours, any where around the structure and you will get them, i use tinned catfood and rockmelon.

Toga, well this time of year is hard for them as it is there breeding season, as they are mouth breeders they tend to slow down on the feed. You will still pick up the occasional one. We got a nice one on a Jackall Vibe up the yabba arm.
    Best of luck and persistence will pay off.

cheers Lee
    Thanks for that Lee i never thought about the mouth breeding bit

Chers Baz

Hello Baz, plenty of water kicking around in there at the moment, havent, been up in a week or two but here's my advise , for what it is worth. We get most of our toga on fly,under the bottle brush trees , way up in the headwater, later on in the day. If your spinning for them, purple spinnerbaits or gold sub-surface during the middle of the day, Zara puppy or anything that walks like a cicada later on, for the surface bite. Some of my mates use the anthrax lures but ive never had much luck. If you can use a fly rod there are a few photos in the fly section of a suface thing we use which is a winner. Plenty of good info on the site here mate.. good luck, they are truely a magic fish.

I was there for 5 days 2 weeks ago. Plenty of bass on blades & plastics but the inflow may slow them a little for a few weeks. Around the start of the timber was the pick of the spots. Spent 2 arvos chasing toga but no takers, like stated earlier they're normally tough at this time of year, after Xmas is much better.

Baz

I know bugger all about toga. But I was at Borumba in February and caught my first and only two.

First one was very early morning on a 65mm bubble popper (30cm+) in the back of a small bay.

Second one (53cm) was in the middle of the day caught on a small 2" clear brown Kokoda grub on a 1/32 jighead. I was throwing it tight against structure and just letting it 'waft' down. Also got another hit doing this.

Drunkenduncan mentioned the bottle brush. We were in a nice small bay that had a bottle brush off one edge and as we got closer (using the leccy) a large toga rolled and swirled straight under the tree. I then threw about 100 casts at and around that tree with no result

Completely different time of year and conditions so this is probably useless info for you.... but oh well

barry the toga tend to go deep or up the back of small shady bays in the middle of the day if you get lillie pads do not be afraid to chuck a spinner up the back of them and let it sink in the gaps between the pads i got a 50cm toga in the middle of the day in sept doing this small purple spinners best early morn or late arvo

shane

Thanks for the replies fellas will take all this info onboard,& Shane i have already got some of them purple spinnerbaits (hope they work) but if they don't, still beats working.

Cheers baz

Barry send me a reminder pm after the 24th mate will be heading there next thursday for 3 days chasing toga and just trying to learn the dam a little.

yeh Baz ... as most have said - Try a surface walking lure in some of the quieter backwaters ........ just awesome

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    yeh Baz ... as most have said - Try a surface walking lure in some of the quieter backwaters ........ just awesome

Thanks Chris,, cant wait to try that (this time next week)

Baz

Quote Originally Posted by Barry Ehsman View Post
    Thanks Chris,, cant wait to try that (this time next week)

Baz

This time last year I did quite well on stick baits like lucky craft sammys (60-88mm) - others were using popers in that 60cm range.

Who knows Baz .... I might even end up there next weekend

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    This time last year I did quite well on stick baits like lucky craft sammys (60-88mm) - others were using popers in that 60cm range.

Who knows Baz .... I might even end up there next weekend

Thanks again Chris & if you do turn up look out for a mandarin or (Orange) Ford Territory, look forward to it or any other Ausfisher turning up.

Baz

You may find that there are now GATES across the boatramp and they aren't opened until 6am then shut at 6pm !! A friend went out on the weekend and saw it for himself, I am gooing out tomorrow so will confirm for myself what the ***k is going on !!

Quote Originally Posted by Bud-dy View Post
    You may find that there are now GATES across the boatramp and they aren't opened until 6am then shut at 6pm !! A friend went out on the weekend and saw it for himself, I am gooing out tomorrow so will confirm for myself what the ***k is going on !!
    That's a bummer if it is true ......... some of the best surface fishing at Borumba happens before sunrise & after sunset