Thread: Ok It's Now Cania !!!!

Ok It's Now Cania !!!!

G'day guys
    With only 5 days before we leave & after the reports comming in from the helpful guys on this site to me about the water quality at Boondoomah !! I made the last minute decision to change the plans to give Cania a go instead
    I hope that I've done the right thing
    So not exactly being an expert on these bassy things , I could use any tips that anyone's willing to share !! Do you fish them similar to what you would Yellas?? As in casting ?? Do ya pick them up on the troll ?? & from what I here if they're down deep ya jig them !!
    Absolutely any help is appreciated guys . Thanks in advance
    Cheers AL

Re: Ok It's Now Cania !!!!

Have you got some spinnerbaits? I still like the good old spinnerbaits. If you don't have any go buy a few in different colours, a light one, a dark one, a bright one. I either slow roll 'em or use a hopping type retrieve.

If schooling deep look at using blades, lipless crankbaits or ice jigs. I'm no pro but I catch my share using any of the above.

I have never been to Cania but am hoping to get there in the next month or two. Make sure you let us know how you go.

Good luck!

taa mate ,
    got plenty of spinner baits ,jackalls ,& blades , but I'll have to get some ice jigs by the sound of it !!!
    thanks again
    cheers AL

Al, a couple of good reads for you

http://www.fishingmonthly.com.au/Art...efree-at-Cania

http://www.sweetwaterfishing.com.au/cania.htm

Bass are great but if I was going to Cania I would be spending a fair portion of my time chasing toga. I reckon they are our premium freshwater sportsfish and Cania is arguably the best sartoga impoundment of all.

Blades will catch you plenty of fish. You should have a ball
    Kids need models, more than they need critics."
    "In youth we learn; in age we understand."
    "I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand

thanks Boomi & Trev
    Good links & well worth a read . Now thers more stuff to buy for the tackle box

cheers AL

Quote Originally Posted by tednted View Post
    thanks Boomi & Trev

cheers AL
    No worries Al, toga have very hard/bony mouths, touching up your hooks with a stone(or whatever) will pay dividends,

best of luck

thanks Mike
    Thats where we've booked into !!! cant wait , we're gettin very toey down here
    cheers AL