Competition Prizes - Page 2
Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: Competition Prizes

Re: Competition Prizes

One of the logistical problems about Gladstone is the distance to good trolling grounds. Although 25+kg horse mack can be caught out the front of facing island, the really good grounds are about 50 mile out and this was going to be a definite hinderance to my plans but how about this???
    If I can get a barge or mother ship to take fuel out to Wistari Reef which is about 40nm out and we use Wistari as an overnight base. I got this idea from the Hervey Bay Ramada Classic held in November. The smaller boats tied off the barge and had showers and beds etc and it saves the big travel out and back. We stay in Rooneys Point during the Hervey Bay comp. Compliments to Doug and all the crew at the Hervey Bay Game Fishing Club. It is one of the best organised events of any description, not just fishing, that I have ever seen. That comp inspired me to have a go at this.

Also guys I would like some advice on how long w should fish over....2 or 3 days?
    Personally I would like 3 but with people working etc it may make it too hard. If its on a long weekend it may interfere with Family plans etc.
    So I would like to see this roll out on a Friday-Sunday tourny with the Calcutta held on the Thursday night before hand. Definitely August though as the water temp is changing and the Big macks are about. Also the smaller blacks and sails are apparently moving through at that time too.

I am hoping to get the Ports involved too as they have powered sites at the Marina with showers etc. If I can get that together it would be great for the punters on the Thursday and Sunday nights.

I am going to go with what the masses suggest to me for the first year and make sure that everyone has a great time. Its all about the fishing in this one...

One more bit of advice I would like to get is the entry fee...
    What do you reckon is a fair thing?
    Remembering that all the funds go to Marine Rescue and ECOfish QLD who are instrumental in saving our lifestyles.
    There will not be any funds used for anything other than prizes and the above 2.
    If I cant get it donated then it wont happen basically.
    I can only imagine how much is spent on organisational stuff at the bigger comps and that sorta negates the reason for having it in my opinion.

All ideas are welcome girls and boys.
    Please help...
    I CAME INTO THIS WORLD KICKING, SCREAMING AND COVERED IN SOMEONE ELSES BLOOD. I HAVE NO PROBLEM GOING OUT THE SAME WAY.
    NEWBY T.G.

Ahh, the good old prize scenario. The best get the big money, and thats the way it should be. IF you dont do it that way, then it never encourages improvement.

However, things like encourangement awards are probably the best prize you can give. IE, one guy who cant afford to to buy the fancy boat can still fish of the rock and catch several mack's, may not be the biggest, but he may have tried the hardest. That awarded effort may score him a trip as a deckie the next year. Being a deckie may well be worth more to him than a prize. In my opinion, these are the best prizes. Hard to score, but well worth the effort.

I encourage the same at the yacht club. The big guys with the money always win, but I put a lot of effort into encouranging the younger and not so well off, as they may be the guys that are wining the races in the end. When I was growing up, I never had the money, neither did my parents. I only got the opportunity to sail and go boating through interest and persistance, and when I see this now I rate it more highly than the the rich guy with the fancy gear winning all the races.

You're right there Andy especially with sailing. Sometimes its just a joke but then you can have a wind shift and last can become first.

The same good things can happen with a fishing comp and has before. That last fish in the last hour. Thats what everyone dreams of happening and why a lot go in comps. Although the rich may have some advantages you just never know your luck.

Good luck with it Newby, well done for having a go.

Quote Originally Posted by NEWBY View Post
    How about fuel?
    Like a fuel card or similar?
    Like first prize in Biggest Mack is a $500 fuel card?
    Whats your thoughts on on that type of prize?
    Top idea matey, make my fuel card to read "X-Bottles of Plumari " .

Quote Originally Posted by stonecold View Post
    Went through this scenario as a competitor not long back. Managed to scrape up the winning jew at a comp. Cash prize for biggest of species was great I could spend it on what I wanted. I did receive a rod as a nightly prize for biggest of species on that day. Fantastic, but i will never use the rod that was allocated as the nightly prize....can i swap it for something I will use? "No, do you know how many people ask if they can swap their rod for something they will use?" Apparently heaps. Yes I can see the problem for the sponsors and event organisers, long and the short of it is easily redeamable vouchers in my opinion are best although they dont look as good on display up on the stage.

Stonecold,
    Was the rod you won a 8 foot live fibre o/head at the Moreton Classic? If so, I bought it off a mate at work (Lenny) and it has got heaviest jew written on it. Nice rod and thanks if it was you that sold it to me!
    I have never entered a comp but the accommodation voucher or gift vouchers ( for local retailers) sounds like a good idea to me. Good luck with it Newby. If I update my boat by then I might come up and have a crack!! Don't panic other contestants, I doubt I would bother the scorers to much!!

Cheers....Terry.....
    Last edited by therapy; 07-10-2010 at 04:09 AM. Reason: spelling

Quote Originally Posted by Volvo View Post
    Top idea matey, make my fuel card to read "X-Bottles of Plumari " .
    SO ya gonna have a crack at the comp Pete?
    And when ya comin in for a coffee?
    I CAME INTO THIS WORLD KICKING, SCREAMING AND COVERED IN SOMEONE ELSES BLOOD. I HAVE NO PROBLEM GOING OUT THE SAME WAY.
    NEWBY T.G.

Hey Newby...g'day...
    Firstly On The Question Of "donated" Prizes From Companies...many,many Moons Ago I Worked For 2 "major" Fishing Companies In The Reel Repair And Servicing Areas.
    I Had A Lot To Do With Representing Those Companies At Comps.(no I Didnt Get Paid For It. Was On My Weekends) But A Hella Of A Way To Go Fishing On Some Really Expensive Boats.

Anyhow I Digress...what I Was Getting At Is......

Most Companies In Those Days Donated "excess Or Outdated" Stock To Comp Organisers. How They Were Distributed Was Up To The Organisers Of The Comp.
    The One Exception Was, One Time I Represented At A Big Game Comp Outa Sydney And The Company Provided A Large,new Product Game Reel For The Occasion.
    This Was Dedicated To A Specific Catagory (tagging Thank God).
    I Had To Get Up And Present It,yak About The Company Etc...they Wanted Their Pound Of Flesh Also!

The Point Of All This Is It May Explain To Some People Why You Get "whiting Rods For A Snapper Capture".

On The Question Of Prizes......mabye Some Way Of Recompensing People Their Expenses..ie Traveel,food, Accom,fuel Etc. Their Outlays For Actually Going To Ure Comp.

Id Like To See Squillions Of Prizes For The Kids...one Way To Dispose Of That "outdated Stock"

Yearly Subscriptions To Some Good Fishing Mags And Or Websites (ausfish You Listening?)

Mobile Phone Credit (you Listening Optus Or Telstra)

Internet Credit.

Dvds On Fishing Techniques, Depth Sounder Usage, Bar Crossing, Fish Handling Etc.

Rum...i Like Rum.

Beer..like That Also.

Things You Can Use...perishables Like Soft Plastics, An Eperb, Good Quality Line Etc.

Personally I Would Be Stoked To Get A Few Good T-shirts Of The Event!

I Hope This Is Of Help To You.
    Or As Clear As Mud!

Have A Good One!!!

Regards Chris.

Hey Newby If Ure Looking For A Deckie????

Quote Originally Posted by baithaven View Post
    Hey Newby If Ure Looking For A Deckie????
    I will let ya know mate.
    Thanks fro the ideas. I too like having lots and lots for the kids in prizes. I will only be offering companies exposure if they agree to Vouchers etc to the value of etc etc. They can promote what they like but with vouchers, the punter (fisher-person) gets what the NEED instead of a garage dust collector.
    I hadnt given too much thought to an alcohol sponsor as yet.
    Once again, like the idea.
    Years supply of RUM maybe????
    Pallet of beer??? I dunno yet.
    You can be assured that it will be substantial whatever it is.
    I dont do anything by halves.
    NEWBY T.G.

Club Im with runs between 2 and 3 comps a year on the west coast.
    We usually give away around 20g of prizes plus a dinghy for our main local one. Prizes suit the species and the dinghy is the door prize.
    Smaller barra comp is only around 5g prizes and away Gamefishing comp is sitting around $15g but it has very limited categories and prizes are all Tiagras, Internationals etc.

G'day Newby,
    So far it sounds like a great initiative. What I'm wondering is...Why do people enter comps?
    Is it for the social aspect?
    Is it to 'show off' the rig?
    Is it to get a skin full of rum at night time? (my favourite!)
    Is it for the prizes?
    Other?

How many people who enter comps actually expect to win a prize? Are they disappointed if they don't? Is that the measuring stick for the comp?

I know here in Townsville it always seems to blow 25 knots whenever a comp is held, so I usually plan to do the mowing those weekends. I think that's the reason I've never actually been to a comp. I have however bought a ticket to the Bowen fishing comp in the past because I had a chance of winning the boat. Better odds than the pokies or the lotto.
    If I knew that there were a ton of lucky weight prizes then I would more seriously consider actually fishing in a comp in the future.
    Cheers, Ben.

Ausfish Platinum Member Camhawk88's Avatar

Perhaps rathr than rods and reels- all of which have limitations, some things that everyone can use for most styles of fishing.
    Being an Ecofishers sponsored event perhaps a tagging gun and kit, or a pair of Bogagrips or an Econet. Something that highlights the conservational side of fishing.
    Good quality sunnies are always welcome regardless of what your fishing style is- I know Mako sponsored a heap of them to the Predators comp up here (not sure if thats still the case)
    Shirts are good and should be offered for sale as merchandise- a good way of building funds, with a few extras printed up as prizes.

Eskies are gold- I dont think Ive ever seen a second hand esky for sale much less one with the words- unwanted prize.

As for trophies- I think the appeal of having a memory or something to stick in the pool room for a good catch is a great idea although I reckon medals look a bit better and dont break as easy. Having said that you cant skoll shampoo/rum/beer from a medal.

There are heaps of options I guess it all depends on who is interested insponsoring your event.

Ausfish Platinum Member Camhawk88's Avatar

Just had another idea that I dont think ive seen in a comp before.

A few years ago our footy club had a presentation night and those guys that got awards for B&F or whatever, recieved a framed photograph of them after winning the premiership. They went down a treat and are a great reminder of that special day- sure better than a block of wood with a golden plastic footy player atop.
    Perhaps a photographer could be hired (or offer services as a sponsor) for the weigh in and each competitor with a decent fish to weigh in is photographed with their catch. The winner of each category is awarded a framed photo (probably a week or so later) while you could also sell the other photos to anyone who wanted one- again adding to the Ecofishers fund.
    I think this would go down well and be quite cost effective.
    While "1st Prize- Framed Photo", will not bring them pouring through the entry gates, it can be awarded in conjunction with other prizes and it would be an opportunity to do something different and Im sure it would be really well recieved.
    Just a thought.

I am no gun fisho, have fished about 10 comps over my life almost across the full spectrum of fishing types.

Discounting all the ones when i was a child and fished with my father/family on club outings (still have one of the tackle boxs I won when I was well under 10yo). As an adult I know that first and formost outside of the act f fishing, the lucky dip side of the prize pool was the next biggest come in spinner for me and the lack of these prizes could make for a deal breaker.

i dont understand the full scope of this comp but if it is aimed in any way at the typical fisho then the luck of these prizes matter.

Organisers could have on the application form a simple ticky box next to the lucky dip grade of prize contestants would rather be included in the draw for. Can think of problems as a result of this but I think not one that couldn't be hurdled.

Ausfish Platinum Member ifishcq1's Avatar

Newby
    a real fishing comp is a great thing and prizes such as your fuel voucher are bloody good
    I like the idea of kids prizes
    but the majority of kids that win comps frontup with mum or dads fish just for the prize and that doesn't teach them anything posative at all
    (one exeption to the rule is JTs little girl she actually catches more than her share)
    one request is to make sure it doesn't clash with the Tightlines comp here and you can count on support from this end
    good luck

IFISHCQ2