PHP Warning: Use of undefined constant VBA_SCRIPT - assumed 'VBA_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in ..../includes/functions_navigation.php(802) : eval()'d code on line 1 nannie in the bay
went out for an arvo fish today to take a mate out to blow the dust of his reel and while collecting livies got some weight that wasn`t normal so played it for a while thinking it was a schoolie and it would snap the hook of my bait jig any minute but up bobs this little ripper. went 38cm but even if it went fifty it was always going back. we then ventured to curtain and got monster-ed for an hour and donated plenty of leader and leads to the arty but had heaps of fun.we got about 8 to 9 good hookups each with them all eventually punishing us but hey , no complaints here except the 60lb & 80lb outfits will be coming next time.
and the whales put on a show in the distance getting some great air near the M9 just on sunset.
Cheers Andrew
Last edited by Fish_gutz; 04-10-2010 at 10:17 PM.
Reason: added
There must be a school of them about at the moment. I took the kids and the missus accross to Morton 3 weekends ago and got a good show on the sounder so had to stop to see what they were and it was a big school of small squire. 1 after the other but then the wie got onto something that pulled that little bit harder and what do you know a nanni. Couldn't beleive it and have never caught one before in the bay let alone outside in the SE corner.
yeah goona I was wrapt to see one close to home as I`ve pulled them way up north before(cardwell) and have pulled a little cousin of theirs at curtain ages ago (little red emperor) but have also heard from reliable sources that they do get caught in the bay here and there over the years but personally never got one. great to see and glad it was miles and miles away from any green zone!!!!!!!!
Hey andrew i was out there about 4 to 6 weeks ago with pike on dusk and i got monstred on 30 pound and almost got 1 to the boat but bit me off. I reckon they were big snapp after the runs but they say cobia same run but i felt big 8 to 0 kilo reds on the line until they ran me in. Fun but good to see at leas 1 of those bigguns eh. Well done DD
Hey ddobson , would have been nice to get a look at one but I`m pretty confident they were big YTK`s they kept heading in the same direction once hooked and you knew as soon as the line went to that side of the boat it was only seconds away from bust off. not saying there isn`t big snapps down there as I remember years ago when I used to dive it the amount of good fish down there looking at the baits of fisho`s lines ! also lots of spare anchors down there also back then and i`m sure they`re still there along with plenty of new ones. cheers Andrew
personally I think they are kings as I have caught a heap in the past and the few I hooked up to a week or so ago were 100% kings. Straight to the bottom
Hey Leelee, not much room for error and the minute you get a meter they take six or seven and smoke you.it`s just not cricket...... great fun though. my mate was not used to this kind of fishing and couldn`t beleive it.
thanks bigjimg, yours looks like it had a bit of size about it.