Hope Timiboy has read the last few posts, sounds like that $550 might may in the bag.
Good to see a repeatable result too![]()
Hope Timiboy has read the last few posts, sounds like that $550 might may in the bag.
Good to see a repeatable result too![]()
Timiboy sold it
seems I bought it
so far it has let me down once, had to be Murphy's law as it was on xmas eve with a total blockage and not cooling at all, I had 4 kg of prawns and 3doz oysters to go in itgave it the upside down treatment??? for a couple of hours, turned back correct way, left it overnight before turning back on and it worked fine again the next day
will see how it plays long term and how often it plays up before spending the big money on repair
cheers Murf
I'm glad I didn't see you write "yep, $2 part fixed it, good as new..."
I got 4.5 years out of it. $550 quote to repair was just total hogwash. I won't be going through the exercise again for a while, no need!
Glad you like it Murph - I still have some moonshine left, but now I am having a "white January" - no booze for a month...
Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.
I have 2 Engel's, the 40l has sat on the back of my ute for 12years now, covered in dust many times and in the rain, never missed a beat, had to replace 2 power leads but that was my fault, it has had a very hard life and i could never part with the ol girl
My 80lt Engel combi is only a youngster at 3 years .........Its going well and I love it
Having the separate freezer section makes a hell of a difference.
i have a waeco 80l and love it , has been to the cape and back, no probs, use it everytime we go camping and when we need an extra fridge at home. have owned a old engle didnt like sold it owned a eva cool plastic esky types chewed too much power unreliable sold that also . now i got the waeco love it ! perfect.
mate of mine has the older model ARB one has had it back to the shop 4 tmes now, very noisy compressor!
I had a waeco few years ago, mates had waecos also, they are not made for too much rough roading, i dont care what others think they are just not up to it, one maybe two trips up the tip but no more than that, ask the auto leccy in Weipa (Sam) about them, they might be ok on the black stuff but there not made for long off road trips, and i can vouch for this
DF,
got to disagree with you there.
My old waeco80 has done a few rough roads..Simpson,canning stock route.mitchell plateau,great central road to name a few..
The most time i had trouble was before i hard wired a plug into the system..Have been told by trailblazer people about 80% of trouble comes from bad supply of power.sh#tty plugs into cig lighter plug holes.And i agree totally..
My fridge sat at the back of the ute and copped plenty(broken jars/eggs etc)
It is one of the first made(80l) Last trip i made brackets and bolted it to the floor!!!
I had to get a new drier/filter and fan at kunnunnurra half way thru last trip (6 months) other than that it is faultless.
PS. a wire fell off the fan as i got home..resoldered it.. problem solved
I have had my waeco for 6 years now and its been nothin but trouble. I should Have dumped it the first time it gave me trouble it would have saved me a lot of hassle, now its showing that the temp is 68 degrees so its on the blink again...
Its definatly on its way to the dump now!
ARB for mine...use em for work and dont treat em kindly.........they all kick on well with no return of eny of em as yet............
Rate em very high...
Have been through the lot............and this is certainly my pick
Did alot of research into fridges a few years back, For my weeks on end at cape york.
By a long margin the trailblazer is The best fridge/freezer you can buy.
Its the only freezer the Army has a stock code number for, Also the testing they do is extreme to say the least. They are one of the few manufacturers to put coils in the floor aswell as sides.
Also there isnt any plastic or crap quality gear on em and no protruding copper coils(aka weaco) to get damaged by a tinny)
Also if you go remote they will zippy tie spare parts inside the housing and tell you how to fix should anything break down.
reason you dont hear about em much, is they are so busy they dont bother advertising much, the woman who runs it told me they cat keep up as it is
Re
Had a Weako cf50 for 8 years now and not real impressed. Been in for repair twice in the 5year warranty period. On it's 3rd lid and 3rd basket... sick or replacing them so i just live with it now with screws holding the lid together.
I'd go Engle, if i had my time again.
Can someone, anyone please like my facebook page?I need at least 30 likes.... Please
http://www.facebook.com/suncoastcivilwater
Just goes to show its how you treat them. Got a waeco 80 and 50. In 7 years never had a problem at all. The 50 gets used every day and lives in the truck. Never had any problem with the lid or basket. What are you doing to them that stuffs the lid and or basket?
I had an engel that failed. Spoilt ALL my food on a fraser trip. Although they are good, thats enough for me to walk away.