Formosa centre cab - Page 2

Thread: Formosa centre cab

Re: Formosa centre cab

hi
    we got ours through Coastal but they don't do it now.
    aust marine centre-- but I am sure they wil fit a suzi-- cost extra of course.

ron

i bought a formosa half cab early this year brand new with a 115hp 4st yamaha on the back.
    just be careful when purchasing from the springwood store. it was a battle for the dealer to understand i wanted to buy a boat. - wearing dirty clothes or thongs doesn't mean you don't have the cash!!!

eventually they agreed to put a yamaha on the back.

excellent boat though. but a word of warning about fitout. incorrect fuel line sizes for the fittings. The primer bulb was sitting above the battery box... yep you guessed it. on our first trip out my wife smells fuel. i sniff around and find petrol dripping onto the battery box
    i replaced all fuel lines myself with quality stuff the right size!!

but apart from a list a mile long about the dealer, the boat is excellent. just throw a set of trim tabs on her.

Ric

Quote Originally Posted by bluefin59 View Post
    They are rated up to 140hp which would have me favouring a suzi but the bris dealer only does etec [out of the question] or yamaha who only do 115&150 hp motors . I am also going to look at a custom plate center cab in this size as i would probably go without the paint this time round . So if anyone who has the center cab formosa can give me some info on ride ,stability and finish it would be much appreciated ...Thanks in advance Matt
    Mate i sent you a PM.

Ric

Gary i will check out the honda as i like them also ,i will check the web site for info and thanks again for your imput ...matt

To the guys that sent the P.Ms thanks for the heads up i appreciate the warnings and the other info that has so far been supplied ,i have sent replys back and appreciate the info . This purchase wont be happening until after xmas for ny own reasons but i am going to get what i want thats for sure as i wont be taking anything less than great service such as i recieved when i bought the fin from Theo who used to own Mr Ts tinnies that was a trouble free purchase and i got exactly what i wanted in that boat and it has given us some great fishing and boating experiences . So thanks again guys i will go and have a look at one on monday and see if its the style we are after Thanks again ...matt

Any other imput is appreciated ...
    A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......

Matt. I have sent a pm

Ausfish Platinum Member Fishbait's Avatar

Check this website - has the 4 stroke honda's and pretty reasonable prices.
    http://www.boats-watercraft-nq.com.au/tomahawk.htm
    Have been twinking my eye at these Tomahawk series also.
    Good luck with your new purchase.

I have 5.5m centre cab classic...Love it! But thats just me. I wanted a trailcraft 6.1m centre cab but couldn't afford the boat. I only have a holden ute to tow it so the trail craft was pushing the limit.

To answer your questions. Its fine at anchor, as stable if not more stable than any other platform I have been in. The donk, yeah good question. I have a 135hp Honda, and I believe ita about 30kg to heavy. Porpoises a little, so trim it down a bit. The economy is great. Prefer n Etec or Honda. Thinking about puting my eski in the cab to distribute weight. Bangs and crashes a bit in the chop but i was expecting that with an ally boat. I have been stuck in open water in 27knots for over an hour and it handled the conditions well. The walk around option s sensational. Makes it so easy to pull the anchor and no problems when a fish gives you the run around. You can put someone up the front when fishing too.

The bad points...is a bit tricky to sleep in but it can be done comfortabley if your buddy brings a swag. The deck is wooden. I don't like that. i've cut extra holes with caps i remove when stowed to increase air circulaton...live in the tropics. I have had a piece of the ply in fresh water for about 4 months and it hasn't shown any signs of rottng yet. I had the dash welded across and a lip put on so you can actually use it. Found the kill tank useless, to small...but i guess thats a good thing! The dealer was disorganised, no names but I got what I aske for in the end.

In short mate i like the boat and probably wouldn't get another outfit for the price range I had. Send me a PM if you want to chat. Cheers

Formosa Tomahawk
    Based on the strength qualities of the Classic series, the Tomahawk series is the latest evolution to the Formosa Plate boat design. In addition to the Classic series the Tomahawk series offer the following features
    High Tensile 5083 Grade Hull
    With 4mm side sheeting, plus the extra weight and rigidity offered by aluminium flooring, you will be impressed by the solid underfoot feel and ride the Tomahawk offers in any kind of conditions. Extra wide longitudinal structure and the close spacing of welded rib structure, will ensure that this hull will stand up to any conditions, without excessive weight or cost. If however you want to “beef it up” even more, your Tomahawk can be built with 5083 grade 5mm bottoms.

this was straight from their site and took 5 seconds to find out

Their standard series boats do not use 5083 plate.

Their Tomahawk does as Yakka states.

Formosa seem to do a great boat for the money you pay. I like their niche in the market. But their decks are not fully welded/sealed. They tack it down and then fill in the gaps. So IMO not 100% true self draining. Nonetheless I would happily own one, as you get alot of boat for what you pay for. They wont be the fastest offshore but a good fishing boat IMO

Quote Originally Posted by Taylor2 View Post
    I have a 135hp Honda, and I believe ita about 30kg to heavy. Porpoises a little, so trim it down a bit. Thinking about puting my eski in the cab to distribute weight. Bangs and crashes a bit in the chop but i was expecting that with an ally boat.
    add a set of trim tabs. it will solve all your issues. guaranteed.

Ric

I spoke to duncan at formosa today and he was more than helpful with my questions and what i want in a Tomahawk Centre Cab theyseem to tick a few boxs ,he also has a new dealer in hervey bay that does suzukis called Barneys marine .I didnt go down to springwood today to have a look as the weather was to good when i got up so i took the fin for a run in the bay and caught a few ...matt
    A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......