Offshore in a Tinny - Page 3
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Offshore in a Tinny

Re: Offshore in a Tinny

fair dinkum some of you blokes are total maniacs, the brisbane river has a pretty wild bar on it and when a tug goes thru i put the life jacket on, few more yrs ill be ready to tackle the bay.

SE changes and westerlies are not to be laughed at 30-40k out in a small boat, the amount of spray your eyes cop is almost blinding, i heard wrap around sunnies or goggles is a good safety device, you will be hanging on so hard you wont get time to wipe the spray out of ya eyes and need to rely on your wave judgement not being impaired when the shit comes up.

Ausfish Platinum Member marto78's Avatar

Hey Brisbane Boy,
    it could be something to do with that skirt your wearing

Hey Brisbane Boy,

What about surfing open tinnies in the tube on bars - Know anything about that.

I used to take my 4.2m tinny offshore from Carnarvon WA and go out fair way some times up to 10-12 mile just trolling around. That was until I got caught out one day when the Indian Ocean changed its mind and turned nasty. After running like hell for shore bailing all the way, Not to mention all the blokes at the boat ramp laughing their heads of as I came in half swamped. I decided I needed a bigger boat, something with a front on it. Can be exciting being dumb.

Daisy

I downsized to a tinny..4.5m. My theory is..use the tinny for estuary fishing etc...go on several charters a year for the offshore fishing..cheaper and easier.

Gotta pick the right days, know what the weather is likely to do, know how to drive to the conditions, have a plan B, and total confidence in your motor and hull. Bar crossings add yet another element of risk.
    Depends what you reckon a fish is worth compared to being there for your loved ones too, I guess.
    Yep, each to their own.......

this has been an interesting thread and man i have a mind changing experience of taking my 420 tinnie 40 yame tiller out side of protected waters ever again

about 18 months ago a friend and i left the pumastone passage for a look out the front of bribie. the weather forecast was for a great day and the conditions were perfect so we continued out to one of the beacons than decided to explore over near moreton island and planed the whole way there. feeling king of the world we decided to follow the beach towards cape moreton and picked up a 41cm snapper and 60cm flathead having lunch together about .5km off the rocks and both on yabbies. there was a bit more swell but we still planed along happily

the wind picked up a little so we decided to head back well heading back along moreton was great but once we entered the bay it was a different story and the whole bay conditions had changed in a matter of 1.5hrs and we fought our whole way back for 3hrs taking turns on the tiller. about 1/2 way back both moreton and bribie were a haze in the distance but we just headed to where we thought was right because we didnt have a gps or vhf. some sections of the bay the waves came from different directions and stood up alot more then we expected and man we were totally hammered by the end. luckily we had food water and 2 rum cans each which we chewed on on our way back (rum cans that is) figured if we were going to die we were going to die a little happier. when we got back to my mates place at sandstone point the wemen and kids clucked around while we just stood there shook our heads at each other and poured in another rumcan. my mate 1/2 up the fish with 2 chops of a meat cleaver but i didnt care

since looking into building a bigger boat i now know how lucky we really were and some of the safety gear we didnt have. since i have seen tinnies heading out for the night with no nav lighting and wonder how many tinnie owners feel king of the world without realising the risks they face. would i do it again no ffffflamin way

cheers rod

I have been outside in my 12' tinny with 9.9 merc, have hand held VHF and all the gear, and also take it across to moreton regularly from manly.

How many of you with open boats have bilge pumps on board? I do.

Quote Originally Posted by Blackened View Post

I have been outside in my 12' tinny with 9.9 merc, have hand held VHF and all the gear, and also take it across to moreton regularly from manly.

How many of you with open boats have bilge pumps on board? I do.

I got two 1000gph bilge pumps in the 4.2m on two separate switches I like to get water out fast
    I am not an Angler I am an Athlete of the sea.............<><

I travelled all over QLD in my 4.5m tinny from cape york down to Brisbane and offshore many times up to 50-60kms. But being young and naive I probably wouldnt go as far these days.All it takes is one storm and your scared for life...

Once North of Mackay I was lot more confident going offshore due to the lack of potential swell.
    I went overnight from Gladtsone my 21f striper a while ago and the unprotected swell in 30knot winds is very scary compared to far north qld in 30 knots in a tinny. I'd hate to be in a tinny in that situation.

Also another thing I always consider when heading offshore if how often can you Island hop? Its nice to be 40km offshore and have an island only 50-10km away for shelter.

Whether your in a tinny or a big 8m boat, its not exactly how far you can go, but its how long you are willing to travel in slop to fish. Average bloke has a max or about 2 hours travel time I find(fuel considerations aside)

Most people go out in 5-15knots. A tinny can travel at about 15 knots in a slight chop where a larger boat can travel at 30knots in the same conditions so can head further out.

SO it depends on the conditions of the day and how long your willing to plow through the crap.

I've seen plenty of guys take 4m tinny's to the reef in good weather but f##k being in it with them comin home when she blows up

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    I downsized to a tinny..4.5m. My theory is..use the tinny for estuary fishing etc...go on several charters a year for the offshore fishing..cheaper and easier.
    Same here.
    I went from a 4m to a 6m and back to a 4.5m. The smaller boat was easier to launch and tow and more fun. The few times I go offshore is now covered by charters, paid from the savings of having a smaller boat.

I used to take my 4.3m c/c out about 10km regularly with no issues... my theory (aside from the be safe principal) is that I can probably only swim a couple of k's at best so anything further than that is much of a muchness!

Quote Originally Posted by Bear001 View Post
    I take my 400 hornet with 40etec off Coffs solo - I havent ventured very far - only to the lighthouse.

Just back from a trip to South End up near Gladstone - spent the week out and about in a 4.4m hornet with 60yam.

Have all the safety gear required.

Our style of boat is very low and doesnt really lend itself to the conditions - but we got outside everyday at Gladstone 15-18knot winds - thats about the max.

Went out to Rock Cod Shoals, should have been more organsied and gone out to Masthead but would have packed a 20L extra fuel onboard. We were going about 40klm offshore.

That sounds like fun in a Hornet. I used to make my old Stacer 15ft c/c out to Rock Cod Shoals and thought that was getting close to too small. Anything can do it on the good days but get a bit of chop and it gets wet and uncomfortable real quick..

Interesting to read how some skippers (with passengers) go to sea with limited or no safety communication gear and those who have the equipment consider it's ok to put themselves in a situation that they believe "I'll be alright Jack, I have safety gear". Surely the idea of having to use distress equipment including flares, radio and EPIRB is for a last resort action.

Marine Rescue groups along the coast just shake their heads in wonderment..

"should have been more prepared" - "can only probably swim a couple of k's"

what ever happen about the slogan "You're the Skipper - You're Responsible"!

Just a stark reminder of what can happen!

engage, educate, encourage