PHP Warning: Use of undefined constant VBA_SCRIPT - assumed 'VBA_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in ..../includes/functions_navigation.php(802) : eval()'d code on line 1 barratta's creek
Just after some info on barratta's creek. went for a look today and am heading out tomorrow for a fish. willl be in a boat. just woundering if anyone could give us some info. will be putting the boat in at Jerona. i understand no one wants to give out there x spots but some general areas and even direction from the ramp would be great.
Troy I've fished it once from a boat.....huge system with some very shallow passages though the various islands. Been a while since I went down there but I got lost...took me the best part of an hour to find my way back to the ramp at the end of the day.
Some good numbers of black jew can be caught along with grunter in the many deep (upto 10m in some places) holes. just a matter of sounding and finding the holed up fish and setting some live baits.
G'day mate,
Bit late I know but maybe some info for next time...If you head to the right from the boat ramp, you come across a junction that splits 5 ways (also called 5 ways!) Keep going with the boat ramp at your back and cross over into the main creek. You will find deep holes and snags around the bend and a heap of tall black mangroves, this is usually worth a fish. There are heaps of snags/creek junctions to fish from here on...it's a matter of how far you want to travel really.
Heading left from the boat ramp is out towards the mouth but you need a bit of water to get around, say half tide. The beauty about the place is that it has heaps of other creeks to go to both up and down the coast. Try fishing the mouth of either the east or west channel on an incoming tide and work your way upstream. Bait is relatively easy to get out the mouth on the miriad of sand bars on a making tide.
thanks for all the tips went out yesterday with not much luck. had a good day looking around and learning the area.
got a heap of under sized mud crabs, and also pretty sure someone out there was checking pots as my bait was destroyed but no crabs to be seen.
will have to keep with it and learn the system and come up with a few good spots.