Well I can answer most questions with one word. NO.
No I havent been fishing.
No I havent tuned the Berty up. In fact I havent seen the Berty or even the Marina since 3rd January.
If its called a "purple patch" when you have a good run, what is a bad run's colour? Have to be brown I reckon. The colour of shite.....
Newby's Brown run....
Fixed ops manager (parts and service overseer and service manager) leaves, Parts manager resigns, new parts manager blows himself up with petrol 3 days later. 2nd degree burns to 40% of his body. Mainly the whole front. (Some of you know Big Trev as he worked for me for 6 years. Big fella and always ready to help anyone at anytime...) so the incoming service manager goes to look after parts while trev has an extended holiday in Brissy Royal Burns Unit. 4 weeks later after 4 operations and extensive physio, he gets out of bed to take a dump and at the ripe old age of 32, collapses and dies right there in the $h!tter. A blood clot in his leg moved to his lung. Forgetting the huge hole that left at work, it also devastated our family. So then the incoming service manager has a fruity and doesnt show for the 4 days after easter including the Friday of Big Trevs Funeral. He had also been sending his resume out from 3 days after he arrived. 9 jobs in total he applied for. Fancy doing it on a computer that I can get my hands on.....Silly boy....Apparently, someone else also sent letters out on his behalf to all the same companies telling them them he had heard they were a bunch of "ladies we things" to work for and to disregard his application...![]()
![]()
F*** HIM...
So presently I do not have a service manager, a parts manager or any f****** hope of getting near the Bertram. But I have reduced my hours from 125ish a week to about 115-110. I am getting old. Slowing up a bit.
It has been a start to a year that you would not wish on your worst enemy.
April saw us tip 70k into the dunny and flush it away.
And to top it off, I find out April that my business manager had been letting cars go without the proper paperwork being done so I had about 30k outstanding and one "lady" from Agnes had been driving MY car around 4 4 1/2 months without paying for it. You can imagine that went down well. He had convinced my Financial Controller NOT to tell me cause he had it under control and no need to add any stress to my day. I did however find that plasterboard walls are quite solid if you throw a person at one and they hit one of the studs. It leaves a bit of a dent but no major damage. That took me a week or so to get sorted. I now have payment for the car.
And we dont have a single person left in the dealership that can pick parts or do quotes up. New parts manageress starts on Monday.
The biggest loss though was our mate Big Trev.
And through it all did I get stressed????? NOOOOOOOO...Truly.....I have remained fairly calm (accept for the man through a wall incident)
But I miss the water and I miss the Berty. I need a break..... I need some bloody workers too.
So if things ease up a bit, the Berty will once again be back in the pi$$ with Newby on the flybridge barking orders at the deckies.
GET ME A JACKS....
GET ME SOME FOOD....
GET OFF THAT....
GET ON THIS.....
and the one we all LOVE......
FISH ON.....CLEAR THE DECK...DO THIS AND THAT...GET OUT OF THE F****** WAY YA D*** HEAD...![]()
![]()
![]()
Then, and only then, will you know that
NEWBY's BACK